Middle-class lifestyle

How would you define a middle-class lifestyle where you live? Describe it in terms of size of home, cars, savings, lifestyle (vacations, personal expenses, charity).

How much do you need to earn to support such a lifestyle?

Re: Middle-class lifestyle

In UK, middle class is divided into three categories...upper, middle and lower middle class and then there's working class.

If we are talking about middle middle class people then they're the ones who send their kids to good schools (if not private), read books, go to theater and prefer watching documentaries over reality shows.

"prefer watching documentaries over reality shows."

where did this come from?

It's not necessarily the money that determines your class status, your mentality is more important in this regard.

That reminds me of my millionaire gujjar neighbors in Lahore, they were loaded but didn't have any manners and hobbies.

While that's true, I'm looking at financial terms as a measure to see how differently people define middle-class lifestyle where they live.

Middle class in the U.S is very different across the states.

In Pennsylvania: House is usually about 3 bedrooms, with a 1 or 2 car garage. Usually have 2 cars. Kids go to public schools. Have savings to pay for half or quarter of their kids college, rest is normally loans. Have one vacation a year.

Now if you go to NYC it would be completely different.

Alright, in that term anyone earning 65k per year, in UK that is.

In Pakistan Middle class is: Jin ke ghar hafte main do dafa Murghi, ek dafa chota gosht pakta ho and jinko 3 waqt ka khana aasani se muyassar ho... That can afford traveling in Auto Riksha more than once a week (to avoid dhakkam pail in buses).

PPP ke Roti, Kapda aur makaan ki to...............

i consider myself from middle class. yes, we do enjoy vacation, and have moderate lifestyle. everyone has own car, and room. religious affair are not imposed and everyone can practice according to capacity.

^ That's sort of what I'm aiming for. What do we need to think we have enough for an comfortable lifestyle and how do we define comfortable lifestyle.

Obviously US, Canada, Pakistan, India, UAE, KSA - the lifestyles are VASTLY different - but I want to look at those differences and compare to see how much is considered enough to be content and comfortable.

I would say that in Pakistan there's extremes of class.

Nobody wants to be called middle class now. There's a class below poverty line and then there's a upper rich class (businessmen, industrialists, bureaucrats). Then there's a professional working upper middle class who try to stick in the elitists circle with their lifestyle in terms of housing, cars and sending their kids off to the best private schools.

Class that is always trying to get out of their class is middle class. Upper and lower classes dont bother.

Middle class in a desi home in the US:
1. Most like single income family, household income $60-70K
2. Own a home, 4 bed-2.5 bath-2 car garage, decent neighborhood in a fairly good school district
3. Own 2 cars
4. Savings usually less than $10K
5. Vacations: once a year, usually stay with family/friends, driveable distance
6. Charity: usually donate at place of worship

I have to agree with Hareem, in the UK class is not just defined by financial status but the way you live; what kind of school your children go to, what you spend your time doing (listening to BBC radio 4 is traditionally a very middle class activity), what kind of shops you shop at.

It actually depends on how divorces you can afford. If you can afford 1 - Middle Class. 2 - Upper Middle Class. More than 2 - you lucky ....

:rolleyes:

this must be one of the most presumptuous threads on GS

CM yeh to starry baat kar di aapne...

Yaar what can I do. I post words in Dari and this is what comes out. hell i don't understand it.

LMAO Enigmatic you do realize those were just stars right? No curse words at all?

Goes to show you moderators will just edit my posts for no reason.