Re: Denmak in a sorry state
That’s offensive. But the folks have just found out they’ve got the right to offend.
Re: Denmak in a sorry state
That’s offensive. But the folks have just found out they’ve got the right to offend.
Re: Danish Freedom Of Speech??
Bundook ji, these are Danes speaking. These are Danes saying this. They are saying that Muslims are intolerant, that Muslims do not want to abide by the freedoms Danes enjoy. They are saying that Muslims are fabricating things so they can force their restrictions on the Danes.
Take a look at this: http://counterterror.typepad.com/the_counterterrorism_blog/files/danish_letter.pdf
That is the letter the Mullah sent to the Islamic world.
This is the same Mullah that said Van Gogh had it coming, that 9/11 was deserved, that every Muslims must kill and be killed for the Palestinians. Pray tell sir, did he have an ulterior motive.
So mr nonamenofacts kookar you are no different than the scaremongering that the Idiot George Bush propogates at every given opportunity al CIAda is here AL CIAda is there they are under your beds they are in your schools they are in your supermarkets next thing you will tell me you have seen UFOs and the aliens have taken over!
Janab, this is not hate mongering. This is not fabrication. This is not george Bush talking. This is not talk of a spectre. This is the Danes talking. These are the same people who hate Bush, who hate America, who hate American policies, who think American foreign policy is simiplistic, who think that Bush = bin Laden. This is them saying all of this. They are saying that police states like Syria and Iran do not allow things to happen unless the dictators allow it. They are saying that a Mullah that thinks that Van Gogh had it coming is making things up, and they have proof. These are not UFOs. These are people who felt sympathy for Muslims, who now see Muslims as extremists, intolerant, and prone to violence.
yeah denmark has muslim population of just 2% keep watching them UFOs ok!
Sir, it took only one Mullah to cause this. One mullah, armed with lies. Pray tell, why did he lie? Why did he include cartoons that were not printed by anyone? Don't you think it odd?
NameInUse, I looked into the three additional cartoons. I am of the opinion that they were not fabricated, but rather sent to the mullah privately later, based on this NYT article.
“The group put together a 43-page dossier, including the offending cartoons and three more shocking images that had been sent to Danish Muslims who had spoken out against the Jyllands-Posten cartoons.
Mr. Akkari denied that the three other offending images had contributed to the violent reaction, saying the images, received in the mail by Muslims who had complained about the cartoons, were included to show the response that Muslims got when they spoke out in Denmark.”
http://www.nytimes.com/2006/02/09/international/middleeast/09cartoon.html?hp&ex=1139547600&en=578cb46567d732ae&ei=5094&partner=homepage
The real point to all of this is that over the past few years we have had rumors and allegations of Quran burnings, Urination on Qurans, and now Images of the Prophet. Each of these instances has had violent outbursts, demands on a free society, no matter how small the minority population in a country. This Islamo-centric view of the world ignores the wishes, mores, and history of the cultures they are effecting. Today a minority Islamist party cancelled a popular song show in Algeria, no doubt through threats and intimidation. The Danes have simply seen through the threats and have chosen to make a stand. The PM, according to the Times article above had declined a number of requests to meet with the local Islamists. My guess is that he judged them to be intollerant, obnoxious, demanding and they decided that international protest was more effective intimidation, since the Muslim population of Denmark is so small.
As Islamic demands grow, so will the spine of other leaders who will not bend to threats and intimidation from a vocal and violent minority. Whats more, I fully expect mass deportations to begin in Europe, as well as a freeze on immigration. The Clash of Civilizations continues…
I don’t think you even know what your talking about yourself!
thats right
i am with u
I am talking about, Sir, is what the Danes are talking about. That Muslims want the Danes to conform to their religion. That they are willing to lie to get Muslims around the world stoked. That Muslims will turn violent if you don't bow to their demands. That if the Muslim population increases, riots like in Paris will start to happen.
Envoy’s Advert Fails to Impress Many
Javid Hassan, Arab News
http://www.arabnews.com/images/pixel.gif
http://www.arabnews.com/2006/02/car9_.jpg
A Saudi youth displays a banner on his car’s rear window that reads: “Boycott Danish goods in defense of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).” (AN photo by Ahmad Fathi)
RIYADH, 9 February 2006 — Abdul Wahid Al-Humaid, deputy labor minister for planning, has questioned the claim of Danish Ambassador to the Kingdom Hans Klingenberg that Danish Prime Minister Anders Fogh Rasmussen has “condemned all such statements and … expressions of opinion that are aimed at disfiguring the picture of a group of people based on their religious or ethnic association.”
In advertisements released in some Arabic newspapers, the ambassador said the government of Denmark respects Islam. Referring to the advertisement, the deputy labor minister said it does not necessarily mean that the Danish people respect Islam. He cited public opinion polls that showed that about 80 percent of the people covered by the survey were opposed to tendering any apology.
Reports appearing in the Danish press said Rasmussen would consider sending a delegation to Saudi Arabia to discuss how the consumer boycott could be called off.
“We welcome all constructive proposals,” the prime minister told reporters, adding that Copenhagen was reviewing various options.
Meanwhile, Atta Al-Mannan, the OIC spokesman, said the organization would raise the matter in the United Nations. The thrust of the OIC initiative would be to ensure that any caricature or insulting reference to prophets is declared a punishable offense.
Abdullah Al-Ashi of the Muslim World League told Arab News that the MWL would also seek the intervention of the UN in preventing such scurrilous attacks.
In a related development, officials in Japan, Turkey and Spain have expressed concern over the situation arising from the publication of caricatures of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) in newspapers and magazines published in Denmark, other European countries, Jordan, and online publications based in the United States.
A statement released by the Japanese Embassy said its government officials fully understand the distress felt by the Muslims at the publication of the caricatures. However, violence and vandalism are not acceptable for any reason.
“We urge all parties concerned to reduce tension and to refrain from any action or statement that might aggravate the situation,” the statement said.
In a press release issued by the Turkish Embassy here, an article entitled “A call for Respect and Calm” authored jointly by Prime Ministers Recep Tayyip Erdogan of Turkey and Jose Luis Zapatero of Spain has expressed concern over the rioting sparked by the blasphemous caricatures.
“Freedom of expression is one of the cornerstones of our democratic systems and we shall never relinquish it,” the article read. “But there are no rights without responsibility and respect for different sensibilities. The publication of these caricatures may be perfectly legal, but it is not morally correct and thus ought to be rejected.”
Meanwhile, the call for boycotting Danish products in the Kingdom has gone from supermarkets and pharmacies to the streets of the capital and the Kingdom’s other major cities.
Citizens furious about the blasphemous cartoons have started to display large banners on their rear car windows calling for Muslims to unite in the stance against such insults to Islam’s most important Prophet.
One banner read: “I would sacrifice my own mother and father for you, Oh Prophet of God.”
Another one read: “Anything but the mockery of Prophet Muhammad.”
A young man in his early 20s who studies in King Saud University hung a banner on the back of his Toyota Camry which read: “Boycott Danish protects to support Prophet Muhammad.”
The young man said that his reasoning was to spread the message in the streets of Riyadh in a peaceful and civilized way to tell Muslims all over the Kingdom that they should take a united stand against what has been published in the Danish newspaper, followed by several other dailies in Europe, including papers in France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Norway and Switzerland.
“By boycotting Danish products we are showing our resentment as Saudis and as Muslims to the mockery of the Prophet,” the young man, who preferred to remain anonymous, said.
“I will do whatever is in my power to get people to join me. I personally have stopped buying Danish products since I learned about the cartoons. I will not stop until the government of Denmark apologizes for what has been published,” he said.
He said that he has not been stopped by any police officer for displaying the banner that covers his entire rear view window.
“I’m not concerned about the police as long as I believe in what I am doing is a rightful thing. I have the support of many of my friends and acquaintances,” he added.
Another Saudi citizen, Ahmed Al-Bishr, said that displaying such banners on rear car windows was a civilized and peaceful way to get the message across.
— With input from Raid Qusti
http://www.arabnews.com/?page=1§ion=0&article=77512&d=9&m=2&y=2006
Re: Envoy’s Advert Fails to Impress Many
If indeed it is the image of the prophet that is forbidden and not simply being depicted as a terrorist, will Muslims call for the removal of all depictions of him? Shias in Iran have posters of him. The Supreme Court of the US has a statue of him holding a Koran in one hand and a sword in another hand. Should these be removed as well?
SO 13000 posts are sign of your intellect… ![]()
Hey find some better reason to discuss with people… ![]()
This is a good thread going on with both point of views articulated well… Don’t increase your blood pressure… Just respond logicall, as best you understand it… ![]()
so for people like you its okay to hurt someone’s religious belief/personalities? how did you feel when Buddha statues were attacked in Afghanistan?
Re: Russian President Putin Urges Denmark To Apologize To Muslims
They will be very sorry.
you know what i think the Ku Klux Klan have just found a new recruit! Yup thats right muslims are the reason for crime, breakdown in law and order they are responsible for it raining they responsible for your soccer team losing, etc etc!
British magazine pulls cartoon after police warning
Some people are getting the message, especially since their own police won’t protect them from their stupid intentions/actions.
**Political magazine pulls cartoon after police warning **
Politics magazine the Liberal has followed the Spectator in publishing then hastily withdrawing from its website one of the controversial Danish cartoons featuring the prophet Muhammad.
The independent title, which played a prominent role in the campaign to oust former Liberal Democrat leader Charles Kennedy by organising a petition, yesterday published a cartoon on its website alongside an editorial calling for free speech.
Senior police officers at Scotland Yard warned the magazine its staff could not be guaranteed protection from possible protests, after which the cartoon was pulled from the Liberal’s website and replaced by a large white square with the word “censored” placed over it.
Captain Sahib, when the Buddah were destroyed, it was a loss to the entire world. But remember, the Taliban justified it in terms of their religion. They did it because they said their religion mandated that no images be allowed. You did not see Pakistani embassies go up in flames, you did not see Muslim diplomats taken hostage.
In Denmark, it is ok to hurt anyones religious sentiments. Wether it should be done or not is another matter.
Janab, there is no KKK in Denmark. There is no KKK in France. There is no KKK in Italy. There is no KKK in Norway. These are not states in America. These are countries that have sympathy for the Muslim plight. There were Muslim riots in these countries. Their embassies are being burned. There are Muslim clerics making up stories about these places so Arabs will react. These are Danes saying that Muslims are extremists, prone to violence, duplicitous.
Re: British magazine pulls cartoon after police warning
Pahlavi ji, what does this say? That Muslims will almost certainly turn violent!