Mera Sohna Shahr Lahore ni!

ok

I hear ya… Lahore is beautiful.

Did you eat Lahori food till your belly felt like exploding? and did you visit the food street? Which places did u visited? and which places would u recommend?

The place rocks bells

I can’t wait to see it again. Might be going early next year, touch wood.

Meenoun dus haan sheher lahore undur
kinney bovey tey kinniyan bariyan ney

Teenu dassan mein, sheher Lahore undur
Lakhan bowey tey lakhan bariyan ney

Meenoun dus khaan ethey diyaan khoiaan
kiniyan mithian tey kinniyan khariyan ney

Jinna khoiaan tou bharun mashook paani
ohon mithiyan tey bakki khariyan ney

Meenoun dus khaan ethey diyaan thanwan
kiniyan holiyaan tey kiniyaan pariyaan ney

Jinnhan thanwan tey ishq dhamal pai
ohon holiyan tey bakki pariyan ney

Yea I absolutely love Lahore, everything (well almost everything) about it is just so adorable. :) God bless my wonderful city forever and ever.

cant wait to get back there…I miss everything about it…if boston is a historic city..then i d have to say lahore is history itself

• Uniform ideas originating among entire peoples unknown to each other
    must have a common ground of truth..*

sigh

lahore lahore hi aye…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Ny post some pics

NYA, lets hear some of your eloquent recollections of this trip. You must tell us some of you infamous descriptions of any interesting characters that you might have run into..

I might be going end of december too, (touch wood knock on xtreme's head ) so recommend a few places to visit that normally people wouldn't know about.. besdies Hira Mandi of course...

ok

ok

Yara Ahmadi,
Visited Pak. a dozen times but didnt had the time nor a reason to visit Lahore. Would love to visit the place under one single condition, a good company. You owe me...
Details can be filled in some other place, some other time, under some other atmosphere.

pathwari, tooN tay aveiN waada ee karda raina aiN. Kaddi palla naee pharaanda.

PS-
I owe you a long call for a long time now. I'm sharminda beyond imagination.

ok

pathwari, tooN tay aveiN waada ee karda raina aiN. Kaddi palla naee pharaanda.

Roman maRRa veer,
me koi taraissee (83) varee puch rehan vaan, koi hes dunya nee Jagga dass te uthe assan paunch jassan. Ek varee naara te maar.
Assan te gabban tak tak ke maR gey-yaan. (ohhhh i'm sorry, gabban = Sapne)

PS-
I owe you a long call for a long time now. >I'm sharminda beyond imagination.

Puttar, tooN milleyan te taRRa vee sooter kar kinsan.

I believe that I can make a darn good Tour Guide. I will give you a good discount.

You will give me a good discount huh? Now, thats what we call a contradiction. You want me to type all the first lessons of punjabi and english here?

Yaara..all you have to do it to just ask. I am game for any time, any where.

What the .... did you i think i was doin?

I will show you Lahore that no one knows about.
Thats the only Lahore i'm interested in.

[This message has been edited by pathwari (edited August 07, 2002).]

Sarah,

I’m not a Lahori, and unlike fickle fakers like NYA I would never claim to be either. I’m from a pind in Punjab where you get woken by a steroid-enhanced kukkar at 3 am every morning. Inshallah the kukkar is dead by now.

Lahore’s my favourite city in Pakistan though. It’s just so chilled out and beautiful (and ugly) it couldn’t be better if it was designed. In fact cities like Islamabad which WERE designed can’t hold a candle to it.

Check these out:

Now why wouldn’t you want to see a place like this?

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/shalimarday.jpg

Here’s a nice aerial shot of the old city:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Lhrview.jpg

And this is a pic of the late Princess Di dressing up in her finest shalwar kameez while chatting to me in a chai shop in Anarkali bazaar:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Di.jpg

Imran Khan was sitting to her left but she didn’t pay him much attention on the day. Maybe she just wanted to talk about fish 'n chips.

And here’s the type of billboard you might see advertising the latest Crummy film from Lollywood. As you can see they couldn’t even spell Bobby right.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/movie%20painting%20lahore.jpg

I sure hope those billboards are still there…

That first pic is of Shalimar Gardens btw, a leftover from the Moghul era by most accounts.

Here’s the same place at night:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/Shlmrnt.jpg

Does that look nice or what?