Re: Wedding Food
Gushtaba=meatballs...or koftas...but very deliciously spiced...
yeah we have a pan-wala and kashmiri-chai stall too..Inshallah it'll be organized i'm going 3 months before the wedding..ample time!
Amen! I am sure now it will be gr8 cuz u seem like a very creative and focused person:biggthumb
Thank yew Maham! =)
oo chanda i LOVE kashmiri chai. my dad makes it at home and its delicious. it sucks because in NY, there isnt ONE single place that makes authentic KC. They dump so much ilaichi in it it begins to taste yucky and put pink food coloring it in. how fake! are u getting married this year? im down for ur wedding girlie =)
aawww thanks pinklove!! yeah....kashmiri chai requires a llllottt of patience...!!
my nikah is already done...so i am 'married' :) but i havent been sent away yet...as in 'ruksati'...which is in december inshallah!!
oh i've made authentic rogan josh two times before. The first time I made it, it turned out awesome and so delicious. Second time...don't ask how it turned out but anyway, i'm going to get the exact recipe like b4 and make it again :)
Wedding Menu
Assalam O Alekum
dear friends plz share with us what were yr mehndi/mayun, wedding n Valima Menu? :)
I'll also share mine after my wedding Insha Allah:) hahaha
Re: Wedding Menu
unfortunetly i ate none.. :(
mehndi/mayoun dinner:
Barat
in pakistan... isn't it a one dish thing going on right now.
yeah rabia. i've heard the same but i've also heard that "sukhti" is only in lahore. other cities such as multan and karachi don't know nythign bout one dish rule as my sis lives in multan and other acquaintance lives in karachi n getting married in 09 as well. they said theres' no such rule. so only in lahore i think.
Thats just great :( ...my wedding will be in lahore.
therez no such thing as one dish in khi ...it was 3 yrs back but ppl used to serve food some how
on my enagegement we had fresh juices,milk shakes ...then chat ,salam bakra , prawns, bar be que,qorma ,biryani,pulao, kachoori ,chicken karahi sort of thing n a few things more i guess,gulab jamun ,triffle , ice cream,qulfi bla bla bla ...out of which i just had biryani that my sister forcely herself made me eat on the stage ...
n now on my shaadi all the arrangements r done by my bro in law n hez not letting me know wats th menu for my shaadi um gona tell u all after 21st dec
i wonder if the rates r significantly different for 1 dish menu to more than 1 dish menu. i did my research in lahore n halls charging 700RS+ or 1000+RS doesn't make me think there's a pricing diference. sighhh
actually, i was in lahore this past march for my eng. and one dish at that time was starting at 550-700 rps, and now its around 800-1200. and i think they will just get higher n higher.
Menus & More! - What to serve?
We all know desi weddings are all about the food. We do have dishes that are occasion staples but I am really tired of eating the same old stuff at each and every wedding esp. at the mehndi!
Here are a few Mehndi / Mayun menus that are usually served at the events:
Menu 1:
- Seekh Kabab
- Aaloo Chana Bhujia
- Puri
- Fresh Green Salads
- Chautni
- Halwa Suji
- Kashmiri Tea
Menu 2:
Menu 3:
Menu 4:
Did you have anything similar at your own event?
Does any particular menu appeal to you more than the other?
Do you think of any other innovative desi dish that can be added to the menu to spruce it up a bit? I would really like to do away with the Aaloo / Kachori thing.
Re: Menus & More! - What to serve?
papri chaat
dahi barray
samosay
frensh jalebis
ginger chicken boti
fried fish
chicken broast
gol guppay (that would make me happy lol)
wht abt hyderabadi dishes--yumm....dosa..sambar...other snacks....
i like menu 3 and 4 but i love them all really since over here in ireland i NEVER get to eat any of these things…and even in pak we have to be careful wot we eat as to not get an upset stomach! haha…
id love some gol gappay where i dnt get told i will get sick, dahi palley, samosey (the BIG crispy pastry ones not the ****ty ones we get here) and a falooda stand with different flavours, paan stand, halwa poori, dosey sambar (mom wud be happy), garlic chicken pakora, gola kebab(its a chicken mince kebab with cheese, soooo good)…the list is endless!!!
but there is no point having all this food if i cant eat it…all hygenical and properly made!
id add a few non desi items, but they wudnt be executed the same in pakistan im not sure how well they can make mexican food?
if i could id make fajita and taco stands, enchiladas, and lots of nacho’s with guacamole, salsa and sour cream dip YUM!!! ![]()
but that stuff is sooooo boring since we have it everyday bt for the local guests i guess it wud be different… ![]()
i’d love to attend a fancy posh wedding with a really simple but comforting menu. i’d bet you people would rave about it for ages if they could have daal chawal, timatar ki chutney, qeema, and raita. mmm… sooo good. or what about good ole aloo gosht? i don’t think wedding food needs to be hoity-toity to be delicious and frankly, i am SO tired of eating biryani at each and every wedding i attend. its sooo boring… unless my mom starts catering, cos you know, she makes the best biryani ![]()
i also think we need to think about presentation more… the usual buffet chafing dish on a long table is just unimaginative and needs a re-do. one of the weddings i recently attended had these amazing sauteed veggies that were served out of a giant wok. sounds weird, but it looked great. (no, really, it did haha)
we should really see more of this gorgeousness in desi weddings, methinks