Menus & More! - What to serve? How to serve?

Re: wedding: menu

So when are we going to see the pics :hmmm:

abhi thero na abhi to maine scan bhi nahin ki

:mad2:
Jaldi karo na :naraz:

So whr did u get ready frm ? wht venue? wht photographers? dress designer?

Wedding Food

So I don't know how many of you live in a small city where their aren't any pakistani food caterers. I ran in to that problem for my reception so we are getting a caterer from detroit who is going to bring the food for my shaadi? Am I wrong to think that pakistani shaadi should have pakistani khana or many people suggested to have chinese food? What do you guys think?

Re: Wedding Food

i think its entirely up to you and how you think your guests will respond :)

for my mehendi, we did a traditional pakistani menu, with biryani and the rest of it.

for my shaadi, we started off with this amazing summer berry salad, then we had a chef bbq'ing steaks (which were SUCH a big hit!- this worked cos we had a summer wedding in a tent and the buffet tent was set up separately from where the guests were), we had ratatouille for the vegetarians, also stuffed portobello mushrooms, a spicy chicken dish that was gravy-based which matched the naan, and a couple of other things, but it was mainly a "gora" menu for lack of a better word.

then again, i married a gora, so we were trying to compromise and make sure our guests enjoyed both cultures equally.

that aside, i think it might be a really nice, refreshing change though, to have a different cuisine served... aren't people tired of eating the same khana at a shaadi that they probably eat at home a lot of the times too?
you could get the hakka chinese style of food if you don't want to go authentic chinese, and you can vary the spice level in everything to make sure it pleases the crowd.

the main reason i prefer pakistani foood is b/c no one here does it ( i wanna eat it!)!!! they def do desi food but its NOT pakisatni shaadi ka khana, im working on getting kabaabking to do my wedding insahllah, they do destination weddings!! and their prices are wayyyyyyyyy reasonable!check ou their website!

I personally don't want pakistani food all three days of my wedding, people will get sick of it..I'LL get sick of it..i'll be the bride but i'll still be eating :-P

how about persian food? or afghan? we are doing afghan food the shaadi day

:) strictly kashmiri food for us :) mommy dearest will be the head chef...!!

^ Seriously???

yeah...we take food very seriously!! :D

she wont be doing the work...but basically overlooking ALLL the details....from the finest garnish to the deepest tasting masala..

wow! that is what i call committed! inshallah everything will turn out the way you want!

LOL thank God, i thot u meant she'll be cooking!!
Waisey i joked wiht my mom that i want her to cook for my wedding...forget jahez and stuff, just cook at y shadi... :@:

whichever you decide... make sure you have tasted it from beforehand... yeh na ho ke u order chinese but the taste is just blah and the look is unappealing!

my cousins did that for a couple of weel before they finalised what they'd wanted! but i guess it was easier for them as they were in pakistan.

kahaani khatam karo... unho me kya kaha/ kiya :D

lol... she never took me seriously :(

hahaha......since most of the guests are kashmiri.....it didnt seem right to feed them baked salmon or stuffed chicken....

yeah i want her to take the day off...but thats just not going to happen..i am going to try to hire as much help..to make things easier for her......

Inshallah!! thanks pinks...!!

Yeah, taht's a wise decision, to consider the guests... :)

welcome :)

lol… yeah Mum’s know when to ignore us at the right times :cb: