Menu on Iftar dawats ..

Re: Menu on Iftar dawats ..

Hi Decent , I know , thats what we do usually … coz our iftar is about 9:15pm that leaves us no time what so ever …

But then its a little get together … so variety is important … hence I tried to create a choice :hmmm: But I am also scared that they will fill themselves up with all the iftar goodies and then not eat dinner as good …

I’d serve fruit with iftaar, some people like to have fruit straight after opening a fast, plus it will be refreshing.

Drinks - I personally would keep one milk drink, as again a lot of people prefer that, but serve it in small glasses, and fruit juices and of course plenty of water.

I have some sherbet recipes at home, so will post those for you later.

I do think that after eating all the iftaari people may not want to eat that much at dinner. I’d probably only do one curry and not do the chicken karhai, as you already have a chicken biyrani. I’d also consider dropping the aloo kebabs, or dropping one of the pakora types. BTW what are Chinese Pakoray?

My personal preference for iftaari and dinner is:

Yogurt item i.e. Dhai Bahray
Fruit item i.e. mixed berry fruit salad, fruit platter, mango chunks
Pakoray
Pastry item, so either patees or samosas
Rice dish, usually lamb pulao
Curry, usually a chicken dish
Veg
Kebab/grilled item

Drinks, I’d serve a milk sherbet or shake, fruit juice and the usual soft drinks, plus plenty of tea.

I’d serve khajoor, sherbet and juice before namaaz, then serve iftaari and dinner together.

hmmm .. thanks so much Tiger for a detailed response ... Please can you give me some recipes for sorbet drinks ... I know the families i am inviting arent very keen on milk based drinks ...

I like the idea of dropping one dish off the menu ... will think about it .

Chinese pakoray are more of less vegies stir fried and ajinomoto, viengar, soya sauce , chilli sauce, mixed with selfraising flour and shredded potatoes ... I will write up the detailed recipe in the recipe thread ...

CB, I think you should drop one of the pakoras, because besan makes ur stomach full. so with the dahi baras and chinese and normal pakoras it will be too filling.

And I think fruit should be part of the iftari as well.

As for drinks, how about a fruit punch? My favourite recipe for making punch is taking a can or frozen juice, like the Frutopia Mango or mixed berries, or McCain frozen fruit punch. Mix this with 1 bottle of Sprite. Add lots of ice and even a few berries and slices of oranges.

It looks beautiful and tastes amazing! Use a 1:1 juice to Sprite ratio :)

Thats exactly what happens. Lot of food get wasted. So in current situation I say, either do a proper iftar items and single dish in dinner (may be biryani or Nihari) or do single item iftar and do full flash dinner.

How do you make chinese pakoray CB?

Wow , thanks so much for the punch idea .. its sorted my problem out , i think it will go really well with the rest of the iftar menu ...
I think you are right ... I will keep only the normal pakora's and drop the chinese ones ..

Hmmm not a bad idea Decent , I will have a think about it ... Infact I am going to the iftar party of one of the families this saturday i will see what they choose for the menu and then plan mine accordingly ... Waise I normally make just about enough food to last for the dawat .. mashallah i have a good andaza ... its usually one or two servings left mostly after the dawats..

Hadeel i will write up the recipe tomorrow in the recipe thread .. theek? :@:

u get a chineese from somewhere, make tikka boti of him and fry in coating of gram flour.

Thanks. =) I'll be waiting!

Kindly tell me the list of masalay too. Shukria :@:

ok so im hosting an iftar dawat on sat or sunday,depending on guests availablity…which is a long story …:disgust:
so my menu will be
IFTAR

dahi bhallay/channa chat
samosay
chicken veggie rolls
pakoras
chicken tikka boneless
dates
drinks rooh afza,sprite,oj,water ,diet pepsi
DINNER

koftay
chicken boneless karahi or whole chicken karahi
mutton pulao
naan
salad
raita

DESSERT

triffle
ice cream

n tea afterwards

Hey Rosetta, The chicken tikka sounds like a good item on the enu. Could you post the recipe for the marinade? Have you ever made them on skewers on BBQ?

Hi Rosetta,

I like your menu .. the only thing is that you have 5 dishes for iftar and then again 3 for dinner … perhaps you wanna reduce the iftar dishes to 3 or Maximum 4 :hmmm: .. the rest is perfect …

how many people are you inviting ?

Guys when you post any recipes , please can you post them in the Recipe thread .. many thanks :@:

Hi Hadeel,

I have posted the chinese pakora recipe in the recipe thread ... Enjoy ..

glad i can help :) let me know how it turns out!

So the iftar party that I was invited to was so much fun mashallah ... not just the food, but the guests were really awesome, we did Maghrib together , taraweeh's as well and then shared our religious knowledge , it was very fulfilling mashallah ..

It was catered for .. with the following menu:

Iftar:
Pakoras
Dates
Keema Samosa's
Drinks

Dinner:
Seekh kabab
Tandoori Chicken
Lamb pilao
Kari pakora
Lamb korma
Naan

Dessert:
Kheer
Chocolate Cake

Sounds like you had a lot of fun CB..:)

The one I went to on Saturday was so so.

Iftari was:dahi phulki,fruit chaat,chana chaat and chicken pattis.Plus my chicken and wedges.

she kept saying 'khana bhi hai,pulao banaaya hai'.....ok,that's good.

Dinner:matar pulao.

Charmed , see thats why i always keep variety of food when i host a dinner dawat... Food definitely becomes more enjoyable when eaten in a company and more variety sort of makes us happy as well ...

I think she kept too much stuff for iftar and had a bad choice for dinner :(

Yeah,I agree.In the end I had the left over dahi phulkis with matar chawal because it a bit dry on its own.

I went to one locally this weekend, the menu was:

Iftaaru (homemade):

Dhai phulki
Fruit chaat
Keema Patees
Pakoray
Rooh afza
Dinner (catered):
Lamb Biryani
Chicken curry
Seekh kebabs
Aloo sabzi
Naan
Salad
Raita

Desserts:
Rasmalai

But I also took - Shakar Para, and other guests brought, Cake, Baklava and Ritter chocolate cubes in a platter (the presentation was good!), Halwa

Ok so i had an iftar party yesterday and Alhamdulilah it went great. Thankyou for everyone for suggestions. The final menu was:

Iftar:
Dahi bhalay
Fruit Chaat
Chicken Patties (the puff pastry ones)
Dates (with almonds rolled in crushed coconut :yummy: )
Fruit Juices
Imli Chutney, Cilantro Chutney

**Dinner:
**Pea Pulao
Dhuwaan Chicken
Seekh kabab
Haleem
Naan
Fresh salad
Chutney
Cold Drinks

Dessert: