first of all…if anyboyd doesn’t like this question, then i am sorry and please don’t bother to reply.
is menstrual cycle (period) something girls should be ashamed of? and another question: why do girls hesitate to tell this to GUYS when they are menstrating. i don’t mean to say that it’s any of guys’ business but if they need to tell it to guys, would they feel comfortable? why or why not? opinions only please.
its not bad and its natural.girls avoid telling guys cause they fear they may make fun of them or they will know their personal condition. well for that they maynot feel comfortable to share this.
Once in college, I had a girl tell me that she was menstruating and it was after I asked if she was o.k. (she kinda looked out of it so I just asked). I was a bit surprised that she would tell me this cause she could have just told me that she's not feeling well without getting into the details of it (afterall, I asked a general question). To me, it would be a "girl-talk" and something that a guy is not-need-to-know-basis. It would be different with your "significant other" but sharing this with someone you're just (close) friends with is rather unnecessary.
Needless to say, I stopped asking this question after that incident...
I think it's a perfectly normal thing, but it doesn't mean that girls should be telling everyone about it. Because not all the normal things are talked about. If you are talking about Pakistanis... I think it's a little shameful for them, I mean that's the way we are, it's part of our heritage to by shy. But I think it applies to family the most, I mean females are not that shamed to talk about it among their same sex friends, their doctor, their mother... that's the way things, and I think they should remain that way... thats our way.
[If someone want to contradict my statement, go ahead. I'm not a girl, and no expert on them either!]
thanx everyone.......but i was just curious. now some of my female friends tell me when they are in their cycle. since this is a normal thing and it happens to EVERY female, i don't think anyone should make fun of it. people who make fun of them because of this or link this to their mood, i think those are jahil people. an educated person would have positive thoughts about it. what do you all think?
sharm o haya bhee eik cheez hoti hai.. besides i dont think girls want to parade around telling everyone if they in that condition or not. not that u r ashamed of it.. but its more like ... i am a girl ..yes, it happens to me.. but its my business and no one needs to know about it if i dont want to tell them.. simple !
i know it’s none of guys’ business but i saw some girls who was really embarrassed about it when somehow someone found out about it. i was just confused what’s there to be embarrassed about? this is totally natural. she didn’t do it intentionally to get attention, it had to happen and happened. there’s nothing to be embarrassed about. i am not saying that as soon as it happens, they should beat drums and tell all guys
I think that it's perfectly natural to share this info. with someone who is, at some level, a friend, regardless of gender. American women are more open and tend not to care too much in sharing that they are menstruating if they feel pretty comfy with the person who this info. is being shared with. Menstruation is nothing for a girl to be embarrassed about at all! It is a natural female reproductive process, for heaven's sake!!! If men have a problem with that, too bad...PERIOD :o ummm...no pun intended.
I just tell pple, where its appropriate (I mean I don’t tell my dad or my jeeju, or my brother, I just say paait main dard hai) Not everyone wants or needs to know your bleeding.
But friends and other pple (like cousins or guy friends, or other pple that would be comfortable with it) I am pretty comfortable with telling them if I am on my periods or not. Its not like I go around telling everyone that the reason I am being a bitch today is PMS. Its just that if someone insists then I do tell, to shut them off.
Like today I am not fasting and my cousin saw my eating my lunch, he was just being a jerk. He asked me over and over why I wasn’t fasting so I had to tell him…aur phir woh khudi sharminda hogiya…
PS: The only I time I really hate men is when I’m on my periods, its not fair!
That's the icky side of girls men like to pretend doesn't exist....
... I once went to a Tampax factory on a business trip and 2 of my male colleagues were absolutey freaked out when someone took a tampon off the conveyor belt and tried to let them hold it - it was as though the 2 guys thought it was diseased or something!
i agree with moona. this is something that’s natural and men should not be making fun of it. whoever is, he’s a jerk! (lol…i am a boy too but i don’t make fun of it :))
LM. “The only I time I really hate men is when I’m on my periods, its not fair!” i didn’t understand what you were tying to say do you mean to say you don’t hate men in normal days but you hate them during your cycle if that’s what you are trying to say, then why do you hate them only on those days, it’s not their fault that they turned the period on:(
and someone said that men say girls are bitchy because of their cycle, i don’t think that’s true. i think it has nothing to do with menstrual cycle. periods are just like other pains, headache, stomach-ache, and stuff, right? so if girls don’t get bitchy during those aches, then they shouldn’t be bitchy during their cycle, right? again, you girls know better than me
Okay well I mean that, see we have to go through them very month which I think is hell. The pain, the discomfort and all that bullshait. I think its just not fair to us. Bacha bhi humi paida karain aur har maheenay iss problem ko bhi humi face karain. They have nothing of this sort. I just totally hate them because they get to have fun while we are sitting home with cramps in stomach, legs, chest, back and uff pata nahi kahan kahan…errrrrrrrrrrr gosh ima kill someone today…I got my periods this morning and I am just totally …
nope, should not be discussed with your male friends. It's too personal and private to be discussed with a member of the opposite sex. But if it's your husband, then it's a different matter.
why the hell would you feel the need to tell a male friend aur relative that you are on your period, except your husband? I mean it's in unnecessary, like he cares..
yes, it's natural and all but do we really need to share this info?? it's not embarrassing for us but we don't go into details because we don't have to...just a simple 'I'm not feeling well' is enough I guess!!
oh give her break shikra, she is going through the phase when she htes men.. let her hate em, she will be normal in few days
and ya this is too personal and no need to be discussed with others, unless offcourse if u arent praying or fasting someone asks u why not, and u should straight forward tell them cuz u are having periods.. i am a guy but i would have done just that if i were a gal..