I had to create this thread in Cafe cuz it would just disappear in the more appropriate, Household and Cuisine thread.
The inspiration for this thread came when I washing the dishes a few minutes ago. Me mamma chided,.. “Acha nahi lagta agar Papa bartan dhoyen to…” I wanted to say, “Oh so it’s okay if he likes to cook every other day, but not if he washes a dish?” But that would earn me this……in it’s verbal equivalent, so I refrained.
So while soapin’ up the bowls, my mind began to wander to some of the Guppies… …and I wondered how many of them can actually cook something? Not that it would have any bearing on my life whatsoever, but I am on winter break and so you can expect such silly threads from me…
Here goes:
How many of you can cook something substantial? If so, what is your best dish?
How many of you are nill-paandays when it comes to cooking? Don’t worry; this is a safe place and you can lie. Nobody will ever know.
Yeah! My dad would cook a three course meal, sweep the floor and dig out trash from every corner of the house. But just when he reaches the dishes, my mom tells me to hustle and make him stop. I’d rather not know what her reasoning is other than the fact that 1. she doesn’t trust his dishwashing skills, 2. just can’t bear the sight of me sitting around farig, and 3. wants to deprive him the credit of having done everything.
I cook pretty well, if I must praise myself. Most compliments come from bengan ka bharta and lasagna. I prefer baking over cooking though.
nalaik paanda…but my mom is to blame for it…whenever i wanted to learn..she wouldn’t teach me…or say ‘‘yeh or yeh or yeh daal k pakaa lo…aur uski kuch deir pakao’’ i am like…please tell me exact quantities and sequency and times ..and she would say ‘tu rehn de’…
My youngest brother makes stuff like lasagne and it’s variations, steak and different kinds of casseroles. Internet pe jo recipe achi lagey he’ll try . Most of his recipes contain beshamel, cheese,lots of butter and meat. He also helps me in cleaning if I ask him to. He’d even help me wash dishes when I ask him to, but that’s a rare occurrence.
The other brother can make beans, noodles, egg and soup.
Oh, my mum won’t let my dad cook.
I was nil paanda for a looooooong time. But last few years have been doing the basics. Still a long way to go and its in my list. Slowly progressing.
Although thats another thing that I cannot distinguish HARA DHANIYA everytime I do grocery from desi store. The one I get it from is huge and badly labelled so every single time I’ve to ask a passing by aunty/lady to tell me which one is “hara dhandya”. And they must have to chuckle first, like every..single..time!
I had to learn cooking the hard way after moving away from home. Got lessons similar to those mentioned by @NomiCA . After lots of ruined dishes, now it takes me around 8 hours in kitchen for making average biryani, haleem, or fried rice. And then I get super tired.
I`ve been doing small car repair, plumbing, home improvement and household electrical tasks since teenage years and can now do them fairly well within reasonable time.
It`s kind of thing that the more you do, the better and more efficient you get at it.
I can cook pretty much most things I think, but I’m still learning. I actually like cooking and making food exactly how I want it to be and the satisfaction you get from eating something you’ve taken time to make is just as pleasing.
We should do a GS challenge. Who can make the best looking food, maybe pizza or anything you want and people can vote when everyone has submitted their picture. If anyone is interested in doing that, signup below.
Thanks to the Butt roommates that I lived with in the US, Ive learned to cook a few dishes like andaa and chai besides mutton karahi, certain vegetable curries, and biryani(w/o aaloo of course). One of things that I love to eat and could not learn to nake is Paaye. May Allah bless my Butt roomies who fed me well :rubbin tbe tidd:
I started properly cooking just a month or two ago. Trying my hand at new dishes for the first time. Luckily, they tend to turn out decent. I was fond of cooking since college but my mother always said, “Either focus on cooking or studying”. Then I started working after studies & never had the chance learning except simple rice & chicken. Now in the new house, there is a ready kitchen attached directly to my room. That was amazing & is turning out to be a great opportunity for me to not only learn this new skill but also spend my time more constructively that gives me inner satisfaction excercising my creativity. I love it when my father praises taste of any dish which I have cooked for the first time. Offcourse my mother is a great cook so she is not much impressed by what I make. But I’m hoping to climb & reach her standard soon. I was delighted today when my mother said she liked the ‘Hareesa’ I made (for the first time). That’s a huge compliment coming from her. Her just saying she ‘liked’ it is huge as she never ever compliments so I was obviously delighted. I love baking too but still have to set up an 0ven. I found an old model lying at home in a brand new packing just a few days ago & intend to try my first baking. I intend to make buns. I love the smell of freshly baked breads, buns. Would love to bake baguette & garlic bread. Can’t wait. Soon. Can’t say what I’m best at yet. More experienced chefs may find my cooking to be basic.
My dear women folk friend Adrianne, tall, beautiful and also a chef by profession used to introduce me as a God in Kitchen, after marriage I don’t do international cuisine anymore, I stopped cooking western when they started drenching French Cuisine in hot sauce, I think some people don’t have any taste buds left. Sana went to Ruth’s Steak House and asked for hot sauce and everyone gave her a look.
I personally like meat to taste like meat but if you are talking gamyness of bakkra than soak the meat in very salty water, salt draws out blood that has game smell, then rinse, you can parboil just slightly also and throw the water out. If you buy bakkras in their mating season they will be more gamy, neutered bakkras don’t have the game smell.