Oh I know Hareem, trust me, I know. You need to become bulletproof. Just keep repeating your strengths to yourself. Be aware of what you are capable of (your good points) and don't allow anybody to beat you down emotionally when the time comes.
Why cant they ever just freakin apologize? instead of giving long winded explanations or blame it all on the wife for doing thsi thing wrong 3 months ago or or or or or
you know that’s easier said than done :hinna:
offering shoulder, covered with tissue to catch the runny nose
Okay, okay I get the point ... but I'm not a woman and I do not really understand how good advice is best given such that it will be accepted, and I do not consider myself not wanting of advice as well ... I need to get it as much as I give it.
“Hareem, jaan, I have been noticing that you aren’t taking care of yourself honey. Did I do something? I’m sorry. You take so much time and effort to feed us all but you sacrifice so much and leave nothing for yourself. From today, i will not eat without you. Do it for me…”
i can totally relate, my hubby has a bit of a temper, early on in the marriage i was unaccustomed to it and used to be caught off-guard because he would set off suddenly at very very small things and after 15 mins he'd be like back to normal as if nothing happened, go figure! it was so unsettling that i started walking on eggshells around him, avoiding all the hot button issues, things...which of course built a lot of pent up frustration inside.
so one day i just exploded, it was right after our first baby, i was very hormonal and his flare up was the last straw! i let him have it and this time he was caught off-guard and scared for his life! haha the expression on his face, he is good man, he just didn't realize that his jekyll and hyde mood swings were taking a toll on me since i never talked about it.
moral of the story is there are always constructive ways of getting our points and displeasure across, it does not have to turn into a personal attack because that's just venting and hurtful.
Boy I think I need to dress like Begum Nawazish Ali for a while … on seconds thoughts that won’t make me think like a woman either …
This advice is diamond, goldmine Niksik … I would never have thought of doing it this way … In fact sounds like something our prophet Muhammad (SAW) would have done.
I wouldnt be surprised if some men and not all men do this. Perhaps these men have developed bi-polar disorder after years of dealing with confused desi women here in the west.
Tum phir agaye apni tooti phooti advice jharney? Baaz ajao!
Anybody (goes for both genders) only have the powers you allow them to have:
they have the power to make you feel good ... if you are incapable of making yourself feel good;
they have the power to make you feel like crap ... only if you actually believe what they are saying
Don't ever allow anybody else's opinions to define who you are.
Oh yeah
Oh I know Hareem, trust me, I know. You need to become bulletproof. Just keep repeating your strengths to yourself. Be aware of what you are capable of (your good points) and don't allow anybody to beat you down emotionally when the time comes.
Another oh yeah
See for some reason, no matter what anyone says to me...I dont feel bad. I dont have those moments of "why did he say that, it made me feel like crap". In some ways, its a good thing because you care so much about this guy that things he says affect you. In some ways its a bad thing if you let it affect your self-esteem and take it too far.
I think people get frustrated with me because nothing people say affects me to the point of tears or sadness.
Just a quick observation and I know you all might hate me for saying this ... but being bulletproof implies that you don't let anything affect you ... then how will you allow yourself to be affected when it is the right thing to be doing?
I mean should we not all take good constructive advice on board and let our emotions come to terms with the fact that we have struggled to improve?
Just a quick observation and I know you all might hate me for saying this ... but being bulletproof implies that you don't let anything affect you ... then how will you allow yourself to be affected when it is the right thing to be doing?
I mean should we not all take good constructive advice on board and let our emotions come to terms with the fact that we have struggled to improve?
Of course, we should take good constructive advice and use it to improve!
However, letting comments affect you to the point where you start to think less of yourself...this is bad.
If he doesnt compliment me, I dont get upset. I check my lipstick and go.
If he doesnt like my hair, I dont take it personally. What does he know about fashion? Its my hair and it looks cute!
If he thinks my cooking is bad - this never is the case - I would fix a little on the side for him the way he likes it and its over! I cook the way I was taught and love it!
If I started getting upset and emotional over everything, phir to hogaya kaam!
Zindagi bohot choti hai bhai...haso khelo aur aish karo!