Men shortage

Is there a shortage of men? I see so many women waiting to get married? Where are all the men? whats the deal or are women just being picky?

Re: Men shortage

In my family at least there’s an imbalance of guys choosing their own wives and girls not choosing their own husbands. The easy availability the previous generations had was suddenly snapped away. The girls still get married but the circle now has be wider which the parents did not forsee. I would not be surprised if the girls who had trouble are going to encourage their daughters to find their own husbands in the future.

Because in most matrimonial ads, the demand for male height starts at 5’10". Yes there is shortage of men, most of the guys I see are 5’6" to 5’8"!

Frankly I blame it on heels (those pump heels these days). Ladies, flat shoes not only save your feet from pain but also increase the pool of potential rishtas!

Ok, on the topic!

People (includes both girls and guys) ready for marriage (emotionally and financially) should be proactive to find a good life partner for themselves. Our parents need to realize this (future parents will encourage this, in my view) that there is no harm in letting their children make this decision.

Now the people (wanting to marry) need to have realistic expectations from their potential life partners. Not every guy can get a barbie and not every girl can find someone earning as much as Malik Riaz. Be realist and learn to accept your partners with their faults and shortcomings. There is no total package in this life for sure!

If things go wrong and marriage fails, no big deal. Tackle it like any other failure in the life and find next best solution/opportunity!

There are as many guys and face as many complexities about finding spouse as girls.
Only difference is girls have a narrow time window - and they whine too much about their problems.

I agree with @ekumunng .

There are too many single or single-but-hopeful girls out there. Sometimes I wonder do I have the capacity to marry 2,3 or 4. Even if I did, would I really WANT TO?

I can commentate from the British Pakistani point of view - it’s a buyers market as far as guys are concerned, especially the guys educated at the top Universities who are financially independent with a balanced outlook in relation to Islam and a Western mindset. These guys are getting married later then in previous generations. The women on the other hand are now very educated with good careers too. In my experience these women specifically, are trying to be the men in the relationship when going through the whole rishta process - maybe they are testing the men to see if they are beta or alpha, who knows. But me specifically, I’m 29, I feel I have all the time in the world as there are more eligible women in and around my age bracket then there are eligible guys.

Everyone is just very busy keerey nikaling each other, no shortage of any sort.

In the US, Saudi-wahabbi style mullahism in many circles has led to early marriages. Desis all want their daughters to become docs or masters minimum, phd’s, some sort of healthcare or law or engineering professional etc. This all takes time and then you realize that all the good guys were nabbed at 25 by girls who were worthless in their studies and their parents arranged these hookups when the girls were 18-22.

We had a small crowd of girls here who even went to college. Most married out of high school and the rat race to catch a groom got so bad that some families were arranging rishtas of their girls at 16 to men much older. If confronted about it they say “parh likh kar kya karna hai”. So anyone who went to grad school and didn’t find someone along the way, their options are pretty much zero around here. I actually don’t know of any single guys left. I’ve come across two profiles online of dudes. One is divorced and shakal se he looks like a jerk and the other is divorced with a 5 yr old daughter.

And around where I grew up we actually lost a lot of the sensible normal guys to marriages outside the faith. Some girls converted I suppose but these guys felt they couldn’t connect with the majority of girls who were being raised with this paindoo village thinking of “who goes to college?”

Nice title.

And it’s not a few guys. Practically every family has one such guy. Very common to see gori girls out of place at the picnics.

There aren’t enough eligible guys here in the UK - most are uneducated pandoo’s or still behaving like their in school. On the extreme opposite end you have the goody goody boys who whilst educated and successful are beta through and through. So for educated successful reformed bad boys like me, it’s a buyers market!:hoonh:

Men shortage

Well the topic says it all.. Men('s)-short-age that’s it! So ladies stop giving Guyz tough time so that they can live longer and marry girls to make the equation even.

So OP, problem resolved. Next question?? :chai:

And it’s the ladies who’re barely over 5ft themselves who have these kinda demands :confused:.

so do you guys think that maybe the older generation had too many daughters while they were trying to get that ONE son who could take care of them in their golden years?
I see so many sisters with one brother proposals all the time for my friends, whats the deal? why do people have 4 daughters and one son? maybe just maybe there IS a men shortage?

There is no true shortage. The below applies primarily to the ristha process. I’m so envious of people who find their significant other during school or training. Some of this is tongue in cheek and exaggerated so no need to get offended.

Women want the >5’10" good looking, fit, intelligent men who dont have receding hairlines and aren’t balding, are settled professionals (doctors, lawyers, engineers, business, etc), who dont smoke or drink alcohol yet aren’t too conservative, are mature yet romantic laid back alpha males with a good sense of humor with sizzling chemistry who aren’t demanding or needy and never get mad or raise their voice but will love her faithfully and unconditionally so that she doesnt have to adjust too much after marriage and he will just adore her and put up with all her nakhrey and high maintenance, he wont ask her to sacrifice or compromise, and will let her continue to act like she was when she was single and allow her the freedom to do whatever she wishes to do, all while expecting him to sacrifice and live close to her parents after marriage. Along with everything above, the more money he makes the better. This virtually rules out >99% of desi men.

Men, despite their own numerous shortcomings, want the decent, shareef, innocent yet stunningly beautiful and light-skinned fit angel with no past who has a cute and playful yet nurturing personality, is a classy lady in public, she never nags and isnt too clingy but will put him on a pedestal, will always defer to him since he is man of the house, is amazingly loyal like the girls portrayed in the classic blockbuster Bollywood love stories of the 90s, will sacrifirice for him and make him the center of her world and love him like his own mother did, all while treating her in laws like her own parents while happily leaving behind her own. Knowing how to cook chicken biryani and chicken kadhai are a must. Education is optional but a plus. However, the more independent and fiercly feminist-centric she is the more he is turned off. This virtually rules out >99% of desi women these days. Btw, if there is a girl like this reading this contact me, I’m single. Kidding…I think.. :slight_smile:

It’s easier for guys to find girls out of their league (more common to find an average looking guy with a beautiful girl than finding a good looking guy with a strictly average or below average girl)..so yeah its a bit more difficult for the girls to get the already very rare dreamy guys they want. However, I do think girls have it easier overall because even the average looking girls tend to receive much more attention from the opposite sex than the average male. Girls these days, and especially the good looking ones, often have several beta guys lined up who are ready to put them on a pedestal but these otherwise nice decent shareef guys tend to be a bit more bland in their personality (nerdy, uncool, or strictly average), needy (crave attention and time from the girl) and/or aren’t as good looking so they are friend zoned (or worse bhai-zoned) and only truly considered during desperate times. These beta guys are readily available and often used by these girls to chat as time pass and/or self-esteem boosters while the beta lingers in her life, just hoping and wishing he will win her over eventually by his decency and niceness. And rest assured, he will go out of his way for her and constantly make his niceness known to the girl. Unfortunately, doesn’t always work out for these guys in their pursuit for these girls who are looking for someone more exciting and/or better looking.

As we go through the ristha process and see reality (and sometimes come to the realization that we are inflating our own self-worth), the above criteria do often dwindle down. We have just become extremely picky these days because we always wonder if we can find someone better which is made so much easier today due to technology, people don’t want to have the feeling that they’re potentially missing out on something better and just settling. The 99% want the 1%.

Excellent post! I often wonder why people have such a hard time finding someone worthy of their love. Maybe because I found my husband in my late teen years. While my husband is 6’2" and I am gori chitti, neither of us meets other requirements.

People have indeed become too picky. You are never going to find someone perfect who checks off everything on your list. My life is far from perfect but I can’t imagine being with anyone else either. We can work on our career and education but we are not as willing to work on building a relationship with someone who doesn’t check off all the boxes. Sad.

:lajawab:

People on the rishta market should read this again and again. Too much truth!