Men at work !

Re: Men at work !

Wendy , we are about to get our first recipe here , Muqawwee ka alo anda recipe :lifey:

:rotfl: If I were you, I asked how many other *barsies *of her nana/nani/dadi in queue. and advise her to celebrate barsi each month. :hehe:

CB: any dish of chicken.

but ladies, do you know that your hubby can cut aaloo piyaz… I remember, when I started living with my cousin (bachelors) during college days, he asked me to kaato a piyaz for pakoRas and it took me half an hour to cut the piyaz… He was like :emmy: tum logon se kuch nahin hota! I said to him 'hum yahan paRhne aye hain.. piyaz katne nahin :naraz:

uska bhi hal hai. keep your piyaz/onions in fridge for two to three hours before cooking. it will never make you teary. :hehe:

Its not about teary. Men of the house , who are kept away from kitchen, don’t know how to hold churri while kaating sabzi. I remember, in those days when I went to my town, my phuppi asked ‘suna hai baRi cooking aa gai hai?’ I said ‘ji bus guzara hai’. she was kaating sabzi ( her favourite aaloo… unke ghar her din aaloo zaroor kat’te hain :hehe: ). I offered my expertise and said ‘mujhe den main aaloo kaat doon’. she gave that to me. When I peel aaloo, she said ’ hai, hai… chilka kat’te huwe, itna aaloo zaya kar dia… Maa sadqe.. mere bache kis tarah rehte hain :naak:

lol. over the years I learned many techniques. one of them is peeler. :@: aloo 30 sec main chil chila kar mazeed katnay kay liye ready hojata hia. :chai:

http://www.organization-store.com/images/swivel-peeler.jpg

ye peeler hai ya maskara :snooty:

i’ve one easy recipe:

KKF’S Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry. [this is my own recipe!] :slight_smile:

• 1 pound of small chicken strips
  • 1 average size head of broccoli [small chunks]
  • 1 cup of soyaa sauce
  • 1/2 lb baby carrots [thinly sliced]
  • 1 medium size red pepper [diced]
  • 1 small size of onion [coarsely sliced]
  • about 25 snow peas [cut up]
  • 1/2 lb green peas
  • 1/2 lb sliced water chestnuts
  • 1 can of Campbell cream of chicken
  • 1/2 bottle of V&S [or any other brand] Teriyaki [or whatever you prefer] stir-fry sauce
  • 1-2 cups [as the need may be depending on the consistency] chicken broth
  • salt to the taste
  • 1 teaspoon of ginger/garlic [50-50] paste OR 1 clove of garlic and 1 small piece of giner…finely chopped or crushed

Method:

brown chicken in 2 table-spoons of vegetable oil in a skillet with garlic/ginger paste, add salt to taste…don’t over cook! set it aside. don’t discard the chicken juice.

saute the veggies in chicken juice left after frying chicken, add 1 table-spoon of oil…take it off the stove while it’s still crisp!

now add browned chicken, cream of chicken, Teriyaki sauce, chicken broth…bring it to almost boil and add green peas and then add as much soyaa sauce as you may desire…cover and let it simmer for 3 minutes in order to cook the tenderize the peas.

voila! it’s ready. let it settle for 10-15 minutes…eat with Uncle Ben’s Rice cooked in butter :slight_smile:

My husband thinks he’s some kind of 5 star chef. He’ll figure it out :hehe:

KKF, you rock :lifey: that looks like an awesome recipe .. I am gonna try it myself and then get husband to do it too :cb: Thanks so much for sharing it ..

Lol , I couldnt have figured out how difficult chopping onion and potatos was until I read the conversation between STA and Muqawwee above :omg:

STA , you are a smartie , well done with that peeler thingy :lifey:

Muqawwee, I remember a cousin of mine had come to the UK to study and one day I got a call at around midday , asking aapi how do i make khana.. I was at work that time and told him the easiest thing ever , make channay cans walay .. apparently he burnt them and then the fire alarms went off in his building due to the smoke and he was home alone , room mates had gone out .. he didnt even know what to do … until neighbours helped him out ! Bichara got so scared didnt want to cook for another 6 months !

Pehlee bar app kisi Ki barsi pe khush Howe hogen :frowning: :smiley:

thankoo thankoo thankoo! :slight_smile:

i don’t rock because i’m sitting “between a rock N a hard place” [shaadii ko le kar! :D]! lol

my advice: you don’t make yourself…ask hubby to do it or else he’ll say that you make better than him so you make it…

**Don’t cook N stay safe! **:slight_smile:

don’t underestimate your guy - he may already cook better than you do, but not show it around you for fear of being drafted on kitchen duty often. that said, there are men who don’t know if a piece of aalu is cooked or not until they bite and chew on it for a minute and no recipe will help them.

How has this thread gone on so long without the mention of pasta. Men + cooking should usually equal pasta.

Secondly, I mean, you can just youtube whatever you want to eat and then make it.

Lastly, the Muqa can cook :O. Damn, my crush just grew.

KKF and queer have shared some really wise advise , I am definitely taking that one :cb:

Queer, I know mine can cook really well .. he cooked for 10 years and loves his food more then he loves anything else in life ! and its been three years since I have been asking him to cook for me but he never does.. yet, amidst all this , out of love, i am trying to get some easy recipes for him so the poor dude wont have to do too much after coming from a hectic day at work .. thats us womankind for you ! sigh

If i hadnt opened thsi thread, I would have never known that the GS men are such good cooks .. and you would never have known Muqa’s hidden talent :cb:

My husband made this once:

Chicken Tenders (just chicken breast cut into strips) - season with salt and pepper (you can use other spices as well, if you want it spicier or with a particular flavour)
Put in an oven safe dish (he just used a glass baking dish), and cover the chicken with a can of mushroom soup
Bake until the chicken is cooked through

You can serve this with pasta or with rice. And it is actually really good!

^Oh I make something really similiar. My dad loves it and whenever he goes anywhere and has a chance to cook he makes it. Instead of chicken I use fish.

Heat a can of mushroom soup with some milk.

Place fish in buttered or non-stick sprayed dish, add cream of mushroom soup mixture on top evenly, top with buttered bread crumbs and some cheese. Bake 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until fish is done. Very easy and yummy!

I don’t peel the potatoes, cause I love the peels. The problem is no one else in the house loves them, so I’m not allowed to make them for anyone but me. Hai bolied potatoes. Love the carbs.

No way he can cook anything, he can however follow recipe card for cooking. But he is doctor and problem is his duties which are way too tiring. And he would compromise on his hunger to take rest. All he would be eating the month i be away would be tuna fish sandwich. He is so careless in his diet. I have started cooking, hope i can make enough so he can have ample food