Meethi Churi

How do you handle a meethi churi?

I just bust out with a hammer-approach, and clobber the person to death, which works in their favor because they’re all innocent and say “well what did I ever do?”.

screams brings out a hammer

Re: Meethi Churi

You take the churi, put mirchain on it and return :@:

^ I think most people find "meethi churis" to be infuriating because they'd rather you express your negative emotions directly as opposed to being sweelty condescending.

I do a variety of things. Sometimes I choose to be the bigger person and ignore them.....persist in being happy and unaffected.....because I KNOW that will piss the person off even more. Other times, I stab them back with a meethi churi of my own.

You can also just smile at them. Don't understimate the power of a smile. When a meethi churi is hurled at you...........simply look the hellion up and down.......then look them in the eye...........and SMILE in the most condescening and amused fashion. SMILE at the person as if he/she is a BLUNDERING **child who has just said something very very foolish. Follow that up with a smirk......a slight visible laugh......which you cover with your mouth. Then **SIGH........and shake your head in disapproval.......with a look of pity in your eyes...........................and then walk away. You don't have to come up with a clever retort on the spot. It's all body language :)

^ thats what i do and trust me it works lol and the meethi churi reveals their true colors

what is it even

A "churi" is a knife. It's purpose is to cut. "Meethi" means sweet. So, the word "meetchi churi" refers to one who makes cutting remarks in a sweet tone of voice....maybe with even a smile. One who insults you sweetly. That's my understanding of it.

i do that to my older brother..it makes him SO mad :D

hmm this thread is exactly wat i needed,
i have the exact same problem and i dont want to stoop to her level and be *****y
but aghhhhhhhhhhhh its so annoying.
maybe il try redvelvets way :hmmm:

veru true :omg:..mere sath bhi koi aesa karta hai to dil chahta hai samne waloo ko shoot kar doo :omg:

RV....wish i could manage responding in just one of the ways u've written... I was recently put in a similar situtation courtesy my nand. I live with my in-laws n we had relatives for dinner (Eid-3rd Day) . My nand was also invited for the dinner. She kept hitting on me indirectly when i was alone with mil and didn't for once look into my eye throughout the dinner. She kept talking to the guests (her cousin)....picked subjects i had nothing to talk about like the greatness of their own relatives. I was forced to keep shut; not that she held my tongue but coz i felt completely left-out... I was deeply hurt and remained silent all along. To top it all, she kissed me on my cheek in front of all the guests before she left for her home....I was hurt, disguisted by her show in front of everyone and her cheap blows while i was alone.

I went to my room and cried to sleep. Hubby tried to comfort me, but i was full of hatred for her. It is outrageous how people have special skills to qualify for a "meethi churi". She is 5 years older to me, has been married for 10 years, and i happen to be her only and eldest brother's bhabhi.....

I feel so bad even now, n i have to meet her today at dinner.

HAHAHA I call my best friend meethi churri! :omg:

You either smirk and give them a look which means you know her cheap tactics OR you stab her with the same 'churri' only a couple of more times.

my personal experience meethi churi ppl sumtyms came out as very dangerus n cunning ... n u cant help it figuring out r dey really bad or nt...dey left u deeply hurted.... kese aata hai logon ko ye art ? :@

I don't know how to deal with such people :(
I usually end up confused. I think I'm just slow at reactions/comebacks..... oh well!!

Interestingly enough, it’s always the other person who is a meethi churri…who is infuriating and we are always mazloom. :hehe:

i really dont know how ppl can act in this way...id feel ashamed if i acted like this at all..if u have a problem say it...dont hide behind ur smile...!! my aunty (maami) is like this.!! she never compliments the way we dress...but she doesnt give a second thought wen saying things like 'fat people shouldnt wear lehngas'..i mean im not fat...im a size 12 and my tummy could do with a a bit of a tone..but u can tell we its directed towards u!! all i can say is rise above these ppl

Fairywings, I have to agree with you on one point, one should rise above the level of such people. If we give them the same treatment or behave in a condescending manner, in fact we are stooping to their level. That makes us like the person that we hate and we are adopting the same behaviour which we find so despicable in others!!

Well this CHURI is better than other CHURIES I know :aq:

Definately..and we all know we're better than that...we dont have to make others feel BAD about themselves in order to feel GOOD about ourselves

^Exactly!