med school in Pak

Re: med school in Pak

Hi,

Im a med student in Pk. Dont have the time to go thru this thread at the moment but would help if needed.

You can msg me if u have any questions.

A follow up from the original article, including comments on postgrad med students:
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/cowas.htm

** Hazards to public health **

REACTIONS from members of the medical profession to my column last week on the sorry state of the medical education scenario in Pakistan and the worries of the British General Medical Council about Pakistani doctors employed in the UK were, with one exception, totally in agreement with the assessment presented.

The ‘exception,’ however, did agree that a proper reply must be sent to the GMC. But who can write what?

According to one doctor e-mailer, Pakistan produces far too many mediocre doctors. His calculation is that of the 10,000 doctors sent out from our medical colleges each year, some 100 are excellent, some 500 are good, and around 1,000 average. The rest are, he suggests, a hazard to public health.

His reading of why the United Kingdom has a problem with Pakistani doctors is that it gets what he terms the ‘leftovers’, as most young doctors try to get to the US. Those who are unable to go there, accept jobs in the UK and Ireland doing ‘scut’ work in some mediocre hospitals where training is unstructured and delivered in dribs and drabs.

*This may be so, but it is certainly no justification for the state of our medical institutions and for the ineptitude and corruption of many who run them. *

-----------------

It is not only the medical authorities of the United Kingdom and Ireland who have worries and concern about Pakistani graduate doctors obtaining employment in their countries. Feedback has it that Malaysia has found that post-graduate students have been shown up to be inadequately trained, and in Australia medical authorities treat Pakistanis with the utmost suspicion, given their known proclivity for mischief when it comes to their CVs and such matters. One Pakistani doctor, who is trying to get on with his life in Ireland, has decided to identify himself as an Indian for employment purposes

U can get into Med. Colleges in Pakistan *without giving the MCAT *(entry test), if ur a foreigner. There is one other way, unless its a private college.

all of u seem to be non professionals as far as medicine is concerned.forget abt the cheaters.most r not cheaters.ill tell u 1 fact only.

in agha khan u cant even touch a simple pimple on a patient with acne.
in dmc or smc (civil n jinnah respectively) u see thousands of pateients in a matter of months,u perform operations,its a civil hospital,people who work seriously r better than those who have put equal amount of time or more in usa or uk.the patient turnover is absolutely amazing.u get cases to do independently of which u can just dream about in agha khan or abroad.thats where the true advantage lies.
Intl NGOs pounce at people who have worked in 3rd world countries,in some its a pre requisite to work in a 3rd world country for 2 years .

totally agree ^^

KK partially correct..I know of paramedics in Pak..and even fresh nurses who can outperform Doctors in the clinical arena..mass clinical exposure doesn't make you a good doctor per se...a combination of both good clinical exposure and structured training programmes does...

Cowasjees article..is accurate..but whoever wrote that letter is incorrect in how he implies this is somehow restricted to Pak Doctors. The problem is that there is a lack of discretion by Pak Doctors..where other Doctors do it and keep their mouths shut..Pakistanis advertise!

I wenta round in Pakistan last time I went, frm the info I got, it seems the non-private colleges only consider your science courses, and when they convert for equivalancy, they take maximum 10% off AP courses instead of the usual max. 20% . And after converting only do they check if you made the merit. Thats correct right? Also, do any of you know what the cumilative average should be in order to make the merit for medicine in Pakistan, like in percentage (In the U.S.)

100 percent agree.in each n evry single ward i found someone who wanted to teach me something,they were only waiting for someone to ask,i even did PV n delivered babies which is a rarity for male housejobbers,but didnt do me no good coz i quit,hehe.

Yes, that is correct. But I've never heard of 20%. The figure isn't fixed. Most N.Americans I've known got around 0-8% off. Don't know about others.
The min. avg is different in different colleges.

Private colleges are not worth it Waqi with the exception of AKU

ok another question (esp interested in replies from med school bound students frm lahore)

can u tell us more about the atmosphere...i.e is it strict-military style, or is it a party school, are dorms (hostels) around the block or in the campus. how is the security there? are there any rules like : you can't leave the building after mughrib?? etc.

thanks in advance.

:rolleyes: gives the impression that u wanna break out of prison.preparing a sneak-out plan in advance eh?

ill secure the blue prints n mechanics of the alarms.

:cb:

I have to consider these things before making a final decision… n also have to assure my rents about the safety issues… 6:00 pm curfew is one of the many things i’ve heard. sounds quite absurd b/c i have a family over there and i would like to have freedom to visit them whenever i want.

i get ya.u seem well prepared.deatiled n meticulous planning.fake family wala idea tu mujhay aaya hi nahin.

i am trying to obtain info abt the geology of the area.maybe we can dig a tunnel.no worries,m on it.:k:

are you asking about the atmosphere of hostels or the college itself ?
Security is not an issue here, aisi koi problem nahi hey. You’d be very secure . In any case you can keep a gun with u ..j/k
as far as KEMC and FJMC are concerned, the hostels are near the campus not exactly IN the campus while AIMC has got its hostels ( both girls n boys ) inside the college campus.
I was in AIMC so I only know about my college in detail. The curfew for girls is 8 pm but there are ways around it :wink: There is sorta chill mahool in aimc. Kemc mein theeta mahool ( bookworms everywhere) and FJ,well since its an all girls college, so I dont’ have much info about it.
KEMC has got the biggest hospital ( Mayo Hosp )
AIMC has got the best campus
and FJMC…there must be something nice about it but can’t think of any at the moment:cb:

we’ve got the latest security system. Its something better than laser sensors n heat detectors. its called Cha Cha. So this Cha Cha ji is present on the gate of girls hostel and monitor all the traffic. Nothing can get past him unnoticed

I’m not responsible for your screwd up mind… her ek ko apni tarah samja hua hai? and im not your mother, wife, daughter or a sister so watch it before you open your ugly mouth b/c not everyone will tolerate that behavior… jahil!

:D shanti

I was talking about the atmosphere of the college in general…and how safe is it for girls to live on campus? i.e security… but yeah im more concerned about the college’s atmosphere…(their reputation and mahool..) i have a choice to live with my uncle but im thinking of dorm…

and do you know anything about de mont dentistry school? thanks for your help..i really appriciate it!

hainn? u were in aimc? r u still there?