Meaning of this verse

Re: Meaning of this verse

I won't stop you from translating Iqbal, but let me strongly advise you to refrain from translating anything from the Quran since you neither know the history nor understand the messages that it contains. Do not get yourself in any trouble. There are lots of other things to translate.

Advice from a wise man again. Thank you, Amal.

really?
and how, i might ask, can you know that?

is it really necessary to put somone else down just to prove one's own scholorship? the person who opened the thread wanted to know if somone else understood the couplet he din't. Everybody tried to explain it in their own way including Omar. Now wot right does anyone have to ridicule his interpretation? You might not like it, and you might not agree with it and thats fine. But if you read the last page, you'll see that his interpretation was not only challanged but ridiculed and then he was challenged to translate other poems as if this was a compitition goin on. I did not read the unedited version of his post but it seems to me that the provocation wasn't one sided.

I don't know if wots goin on here is customary in this forum caz i hardly ever post down here. anyways my two cents.

Ghalib sahaab!

you already admitted to the problem by saying " i hardly ever post down here" ...

Can you read all of Omar's posts ... and try a search on username "rkopra" (ravi kopra) as well... read every single thing... Also try to find out the back ground and inspiration of "his" works posted here....

Chacha_Ghalib, thanks for trying to be fair.

Some expert on poetry in general and on Iqbal's poetry in particular has taken upon himself the task of making disparaging and derogatory remarks day in and day out to elevate himself to a status of Poet Laureate of God knows what. I generally ignore him but he's unrelenting in his attempts to create an atmosphere of disgust and hatred here.

Well, it seems to be his nature and I wish him well. I will not go into the details of what despicable stuff he's has recently vomited out. I listen to Amal but sometimes wonder if his efforts to maintain civility are only one sided as the guy never stops to change his behaviour.

I would not stoop down to the level of the so called Poet Laureate. Let him have his day and sit on his laurels.

Thanks once again to be fair.

Kind regards, Omar

PS: Amal, if you decide to delete this comment for whatever reasons, would you please do so after Chacha_Ghalib has the opportunity to read it. For that matter, would you please be kind enough to send a copy of it to him before deleting my comment. Thanks.

O choro Yaar, aap log waisay hee lar rahay ho. DOnt we have enough reason to argue that now we are doing it over the meaning of Tarjumaan.

Waisay AQ bahi although Tarjumaan means Spoke person/Represantor but it does also means Interprator, right?

Omar :slight_smile:
Anyone with a brain can see for themselves…
Here are my two threads in which I did not demean any one

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=209331

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=211384

but it was YOU who had a knack of getting personal and launching an attack… such an act warrants a BAN here but I was kind enough to “ignore” you and did not ask any mod or Admin to go about it… Here is your gem of a poem:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=263283

and when I asked you how can you translate Tarjumaan into “Interpretor” and “Translator”, you did not have any answer but to post this:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=263533

Do you want me to go over your filthy attempt using nick of rkopra after which you were banned… or will this suffice? :slight_smile:

oh and then you were also after aliyish too..

and I would not be surprised if you will come up with another dregetory and cheap poem against me after reading all this… :slight_smile:

It does but not in the context he is using

Omar Faraz, I think you should be the one working on your English here , nipper . If according to you we convert some thing from Complex Urdu to easy Urdu , we should be we calling it metamorphosis or conversion rather then translation.

By the way , the second line asked Anu bahi to convert in urdu is already in Urdu . And for your kind information , Tarjuman , could be an entity , either a creature or action , carrying your message .

Reference :

Mayra Majlisi Taaba.sum , mayra Tarjumaan nahi hai

My apologies , the above mentioned misra was in Urdu , which seems all Greek to you .

Leave it Anu bahi , zabaannay Ghaair say appni zaa’baan begaar.tee hai !