Meaning of this verse

Re: Meaning of this verse

which means, aap kee bolti band ho gayi hai :)

As far as I am able to understand Iqbal(Human Being) is Addressing Allah and saying Muhammad Bhi Taira (The Messenger through whom Allah revealed Quran for mankind), Jibril Bhee (The Angle who enacted as medium between Allah and his Prophet for Quran), Quran Bhee Taira (Finally the message itself i.e. the Quran)

Iqbal simply says, the Messenger is of Allah, the Angle who brougth Quran is of Allah and Quran itself is of Allah then what is stated within Quran (Harf e Sheeren) is representation of yours (Allah’s) or mine (Human being)

Good explanation.

Basically, as understood, Iqbal seems to be saying that if Quran is a representation (Tarjumaan) of Allah (as it is implied that Iqbal is saying in each verse that everything belongs to ALLAH) then, obviously whatever (bad) is happening in this world, Allah is watching and knows about it... and if anything causes bad for His Deen, then, we are nothing but His creations and everything eventually belongs to Him anyway.

i am no expert on Iqbal's poems, but, Iconoclast, the topic of this poem seems to me to be the clear indication that Allah swt is the ultimate owner of everything, yet the onus is on the mankind to make the best of what is given as bounty to it - the message of God, and the noble Messenger Muhammed (saw) as well as the mediator Arch Angel Gabriel. the letter of God is the a guide to the mankind. and yet, the demise of the mankind is not attributable to Satan only. as with all the might that is granted to the mankind, it still can err.
Of course, all is by God's grand scheme, in the end.
& but, that is the dual diabolical challenge to everyone.
the protagonist is Satan.
maybe i am wrong.
best,

Dushwari

Thank u AQ:)

Thank You everyone for response.

I will beg to differ from my learned friends, i don't feel "Harf-e-ShireeN" means "whole package" (possible) or it means the meanings of Quran, for Quran has already been mentioned in the first verse.

Does Harf-e-shireeN mean Iqbal's poetry/ghazal?

Does he want to say that is my poetry my own desire or a expression of your word?

Iconoclast bhai.. read every couplet again and you will notice, that the second misra of each sher is actually talking about thing mentioned in the first :)
which means, harf-e-shireen refers to Quran.

Only some mullah will interpret "Magar Ye harf-e-ShireeN turjumaan teera hai Ya meera" as follows:

"obviously whatever (bad) is happening in this world, Allah is watching and knows about it... and if anything causes bad for His Deen, then, we are nothing but His creations and everything eventually belongs to Him anyway."

Is Iqbal not asking a question in the second line?

obviously you can not read urdu... otherwise you would not have ridiculed your ownself by posting this.... you make me laugh buddy. I posted that interpretation based on the "WHOLE" poem and not just one shair...

The first line is clear to everyone. Why does the most learned man of poetry of Iqbal not translate the second line in Urdu or English?

Translate in urdu :omg:

man, you never fail to amuse me :slight_smile:

bechaaray ko yeh nahin patta k mushkil urdu ki baat ko aasan urdu main badalnay ko bhi translation kehtay hain. usay kuch pehlay angrezi parnay/samajhnay ki zaroorat hai. Apni hi ignorance main hansta mara ja raha hai. Vo sahi baat kehta hai: Ignorance is a bliss.

Since you ran away from answering post number 19, I am not obliged to any of your whinning.... useless that is for you do not even know the difference between "sawaal" in the poetry Vs "Istafsaariya jawaab" .... :)

Larai Larai Maaf Karo.. Allah Ka Ghar Saaf Karo :)

I agree that in other couplets the second refers to first but in this couplet the word "Magar" means something other than the three mentioned in the first verse.

If you think that the use of word "magar" in not to maintain the 'wazan' but because he wanted to change his "asloob" in just one shair, then, there is not much left to prove otherwise:p

You are very logical.

Here is the correct interpretation and translation:

Iqbal is addressing Allah by saying that HE made Mohammad (PBUH) as a special messenger of him, Jibiril as a middle guy to take HIS message to Mohammad (PBUH) who wrote down Quran as HE dictated. So Mohammad, Jibiril and Quran, all three are his representations that are specail and apart from humankind.

Iqbal furhter says that Quran is full of sweet words that most of the human kind who do not speak Arabic do not understand and is interpretted by the translators, let us call them mullahs. So a mullah stands between Allah's words and human kind. Here is the question that Iqbal asks God: "God tell me, is a mullah a special being like Mohammad and Jibril that belong to you - are yours - or he's an ordinary person like us - mine.

Iqbal asks a question about the status of a mullah (or any interpreter of Quran) who explains Quran. So the translation will be somewhat along the lines I made earlier in this thread.

**Allah, Mohammad is yours
So is Jibril, so is Quran
All yours

But an interpreter of
Sweet words of Quran,
What is he?
Is he mine or yours?**

Note: By "Is he mine or yours?" Iqbal implies whether a mullah is a special representaitve of Allah, like Mohammad and Jibiril but not as great as them, but someone go in between or he's an ordinary person like Iqbal himself.

You are also a (self-appointed) translator, so you are also a mullah?

Apart from the totally off interpretation by any logical view about the poetry, it is mind bogling to keep seeing the meaning of Tarjumaan as "Interpreter." quite hilarious I must say.

Any way, Omar, can you also care to explain post number 19 :D:D

I am hugely honored by you to be bestowed upon a title of mullah - who is considered to be the most revered and holy person among muslims, spreading the words of Allah. Thank you, Amal.

So being a mullah now, I will be posting translations of holy Quran and poems of Iqbal as I please - not by requests of scholars of poetry of Iqbal. I hope your readers will have an enjoyable experience.

Note: By the way you are a great moderator. I appreciate your editing my last post, #37 by stating that there's "No reason to flare up things unnecessarily." Thanks again.