I know that American business schools require applicants to their MBA program to have ATLEAST 2-3 years of work experience. Is this true for all MBA concentrations and all good business schools?
And is this much work experience absolutely necessary? What kind of experience should that work experience be? I guess it has to be related to the MBA concentration one is applying for? Does it have to be one of a managerial post? And what is the minimum duration of that work experience that is required? Is that work experience counted till the date that you are going to join the program? Like, if I am applying to MBA programs for fall (Aug/Sep) of 2006, then my work experience duration will be counted till that time? Or will it be counted till Dec 2005 (which is when the MBA admission application will be submiited)?
Will applying further on after gathering more work experience be a better idea? I mean if you are more experienced it does increase your chances of admission right?
My work experience is in Pakistan. Will the experience in a local Pakistani firm count as much as that in a multinational firm?
Please also share some general advice/tips etc abt applying to MBA programs and also please let me know which programs are the best ones in different concentrations. I can check the rankings too, but please tell me your personal opinions as well.
Also, please tell me which concentration areas are good/in/hot/interesting and which are dry/out/not-so-much-in-demand in the US/Euro/Int’l market.
Chalo khair, like a bin-bulaya mehmaan but an MBA myself, and being a Lecturer at a Business School, I’ll intercede anyways – waisey janaab Canada has some of the world’s best Business Schools too, so my opinion aint any lesser :o .
Re: Work Experience… yes, good schools require at least 3 years of work experience, but they do accept candidates who have between 2 to 3 as well. The work experience DOES NOT have to be related to the MBA concentration you’re interested in, but it makes more sense to focus on something that is related to your current career track and can open up more prospects. In case you’re opting for a totally different concentration, you may still very well get into the program but you will have to make a good case in your personal statement as to why you are selecting that concentration.
From my personal experience, it does not make sense to do an MBA without the 2 to 3 years experience. To put it simply… you will feel out of place! a lot of executive level professionals will be attending the program and you will not be able to contribute and participate in the program to their level.
Lastly, as far as suggestions for various concentrations, there’s no saying what’s hot and what’s not – just stick to what your aptitude intimates… you will do yourself a disfavor by getting into something if you’re doing so based purely on market conditions. Having said that, a lot of programs allow you to take up a minor as well, and may be if you’re interested in a peripheral business domain but not sure about it, you can embrace it as a secondary pursuit. If you like it enough, you can better your credentials through industry endorsed qualifications later on.
Umar thanks :k:
and i asked for American opinions coz I’ll be applying to American schools, but since the Canadian system is very similar, your advice is totally applicable as well
thanks a lot
right now i’m just collecting information but I might be bugging you later with more questions
btw do you know if the work experience is counted till the date you start your MBA studies or till the date you send in your app (which is abt 6 months earlier)
i’m not worried abt the out of place thing too much. i mean that isn’t a big worry.
and u’re right abt the concentration/minor thing as well.
btw what r the top 3 MBA programs in Canada Umar? i might as well try my luck there as well.
also, do ppl mostly pay from their pocket or can they get finaid? do MBA track students get RA/TA’ships?
(sorry if some of these questions seem like the zillionth time i’m asking them )
aur, how’s the reading going?
desibanda i wanna do it from the USA not LUMS ji meri marzi Amreeki MBA is considered cooler and all that :halo:
oh Umar one more thing, is the work experience counted cumulative? I mean, do internships or work experience during summers/shool semesters DURING undergrad count towards the total work experience years as well?
and Umar (i hope i'm not getting on your nerves now :D ) please answer this one as well:
My work experience is in Pakistan. Will the experience in a local Pakistani firm count as much as that in a multinational firm?
Thing is, I have to change jobs soon, and the next job that I get might either be in a Pakistani or a multinational firm. I am leaning towards the Pakistani firm but I'm thinking if its better for my MBA app to go for work in a multinational?
Your welcome… atleast you didn’t discount moi opinions :o
Accha jee… here are my replies to your questions/comments - one at a time
Trust me on this one Irem… IT CAN BE A BIG WORRY… others who have gone through their MBA will reinforce this… it has more to do with being in the same mindset and its hard for someone with little or no work experience to be in the same mindeset as a general manager of a fortune 500 with ten years of experience. I’ve seen a lot of people make a fool out of themselves trying to BS their way. I’ve gone through an MBA and now I teach MBA courses so I know this for a fact. Its different than other Masters programs where it may not really matter. Please give thought to this… 3 years is a minimum before you apply to a good business school.
Well in Canada, the rankings vary from year to year. I will list the best schools in Canada and you will consistently find these ranked in the top 5 on any given day. I’m indicating with an asterisk, those schools that have significant clout in the U.S. and maybe that will help you narrow down your choices.
*Richard Ivey School of Business, University of Western Ontario.
*Queen’s University
*Rotman School of Business, University of Toronto.
*McGill University
Schulich School of Business, York University.
Wilfrid Laurier University.
Most MBAs are considered to be a “taught” masters program as opposed to a “research” masters program. The program is additionally almost always classified as a Professional program and is self-funded in most cases. University based Graduate student support such as TA/RA does not apply to most programs. That being said, it really is upto the profs who need the TAs and RAs. If you talk to them, they can make a case for hiring you. I had one TA and one RA assignment myself. Also, there may be quite a few scholarships and bursaries that are offered as financial aid, so you should look into those.
Some schools will count your internships and work terms as long as they were full-time paid positions. Some schools don’t count these. Its really specific admission policies. Also, most schools consider the work experience until the date of your application, and not the date that you start school.
Did I miss any of your questions? Good Luck and lemme know if you need any more generic info Re: MBA or info regarding any Canadian Schools.
oyeeeee Umar now u r really gona kill me :D but u dint answer this one :o ye kind of ehem saval hae mere lyay :o
Thing is, I have to change jobs soon, and the next job that I get might either be in a Pakistani or a multinational firm. I am leaning towards the Pakistani firm but I'm thinking if its better for my MBA app to go for work in a multinational?
^ sorry Irem... didn't read that question - but I have a feeling you kind of know the answer already :)
The MNC would indeed be the “safer” option.
Relating this to the no. of years issue, most admission committees look for “professional maturity” and they evaluate work experience not on the basis of the no. of years of work but the applicants’ contributions to his/her work environment, their responsibilities and overall progression for the duration that they have worked. So as long as you are moving up and doing better things… as long as your new job adds to your credentials and your professional diversity, you will be all set inshaAllah.
its not just the work or # of years but what were u doing there..how will it help you make a case. MBA RA positions are not easy to come by so what will make you stand out.
Programs may look at someone with 3 years experience leading a team of social workers on some aid mission more favorably than some back office operation monkey who has been doing some mundane task for 7 years.
I don't think you can Irem. American Business education requires individual and team oriented studies...it is very cut throat (atleast at the top schools) and all about posturing. I don;t htink you have it. Sorry...just my opinion reading your posting here for a while now. You will be miserable. It takes someone who doesn't have this mindset
"Faisal bhai u r right, pakistanis will also be selling their stuff in india...cool...hmmm...but can u imagine going to ur neighborhood shop in clifton and seeing "indian" products on the shelves with pics of bhagwaan and hindu writing on them sigh is this the kind of stuff our kids will see growing up???"
With a mindset like that you are probably wasting your parents money on studying business. Just an observation.