Matrimonial Websites

Why do they get such a bad rap when looking for a rishta? Are they any worse then going through a middle person?

Is it any weirder than cooking huge amount food, and doing the trolley drama for random strangers/acquaintance and then not seeing them again because for example you’re not the right height/colour or wealthy enough etc.

Why go through all that several time over and damage your self esteem, when you can establish all this with one look at their profile online.

I see many people, girls in particular in their 30s going through all this, still hoping for a decent rishta to turn up.

And yet they turn their nose up at the suggestion of looking online. Theres plenty of genuine decent people looking online…so why is it so looked down up in our community?

Imo It should a a first line rather than a last resort.

Re: Matrimonial Websites

I don't think alot of girls would use it as a first option because of several reasons.

The attitude:The attitude these aunties posses when a girls parents approach tehm is that "something must be wrong" regardless of the facts. They spend no time in telling the girl in what her short commings are which are plenty from too educated, too rich ,to not rich ,too dark ,caste and list is never ending. They then tell them they must be willing to compromise on their demands which is okay a reasonable suggestion but their whole attitude like they are doing the girl a favour is off putting.

Trust:A lot of these marriage beaureas are not very trustworthy. Extended Family used one such reputable place and the girl had schizophrenia which was only disclosed once extreme problems arose in the marriage.She had priorly been taken abroad for treatment but was was unable to be cured and this wasn't disclosed to the family.
Again what these "aunties" might do if you have a tiff with them since they have your personal details. Usually it's their first weapon of choice.

Society : Judges .Judges.Judges. and as much as I'd love tos ay brush it off and it's about your future etc, it's hard to do in desi communities which are close knit and specially if it's a family situation mums are reluctant undestably of making their daughters a target of more gossip/town talk.

Desperation :'So you couldn't find anyone from all the relatives & extended family you have?! Or from all the family friends you have?! What about your own circle of friends , can't they set u up. I mean it's a pretty big chunk of society we are talking about'.

Thinking & comments like these make the girl feel shes **desperate or worse make her look desperate **when all she's doing is using all the avenues possible.

Dont know about others but in Pakistan there are is enough family & friends match making (un asked for) without going through this rishta process.

As I have more experience with this than anyone else around here, I’ll reserve my thoughts for the end, after which upon you all I will bestow wisdom of the highest design.

:snooty:

why not just look on GS. it is full of amazing people. shardmanny etc..

A friend ended up talking to and getting involved with a Nigerian 419 scammer from a rishta website. So glad my hubby figured the signs out and warned her before she suffered financial loss!

what'a 419 scammer?

They typically have a story that someone has died, and that person had a lot of money but the person who is communicating with you is unable to access it for some reason and needs your help and offers to split the money (millions of dollars) with you in return. The help they're asking you for will involve sending them a certain some of money ($1000s). Once you send that to them, then they run off with it. If you check your spam folder, you'll probably find many of those types of emails in there.

As for the topic at hand, I know of several people who have used online matrimonials. The majority of them are happy with what they have.

Good idea :biggthumb: So i should start looking one for me :wink:

There are good catches on some of these websites. I have met young nice professionals, despite all my horror stories - those are just the more crazy ones. But there are normal young guys.

If you are looking for someone who has cover over from pakistan within the last 10 years, keeps his head down, works like a racehorse to survive in the States, I can tell you there are MANY of those guys out there - these rishtas suit some women perfectly - like girls who have recently come over themselves or girls who are not anti-FOB marrying.

As for the US Born doctor or lawyer or accountant, there are plenty of those too. It’s just that…

you have to pay for a membership, I’ve found. I have yet to cough up money for some, but i know there are about 250 guys on my list that on paper and by pic are good catches, I just don’t have any way of initiating contact and as they’re just as cheap and cynical as me, they don’t either.

Yep, I should prolly pitch in the 30 or 40 bucks and meet those 200 guys, yeah? :rolleyes: But hey-soos, the phone doesn’t stop - I have at least like 2-3 guys calling a month out of the ones that do pay that I select out from all the other silly interests.

It’s easy in the sense that you don’t like the guy - easy click to reject the guy. There is no family drama. There is no emotional stress for either party. You can initiate interests, and of those, a LOT of guys are actually very open and forthcoming. In fact, most nice guys I have met say they dont have time to even look for the rishta profiles, cuz as soon as they log on, there is a list of interests they have been sent.

There is a LONG LINE of girls in the medical field especially or women who have higher education and are now still waiting for proposals. Lots of masters, lots of phd type women. I look up women in my area on these sites, and MOST, are well-kept, seem nice and confident at least by face, and have a decent education. So the guys have an ENDLESS supply of nice girls to choose from.

In fact, I tell guys all the time - put yourself on the internet, and if you’re a reasonable catch, you should have more offers than you can deal with.

Just to put it in perspective, the cop that I talked to → so he’s an obvious jerk when you talk to him, or so I feel he is too rough, but with a profile where he writes 2 lines, has written that he’s got a job with the police department, and has NO picture up, the boy says he opened his profile and within the first week had 100 requests, about half of the women were girls in the med field. I was like, no. He said YES! The only reason why he talked to me was because I saw he as online day 1 or 2 of his subscription, I messaged him, and he decided to say hi online, otherwise, he was so overwhelmed with the requests that he literally says “I don’t have time to go through this, I’ll just go back to hitting on the girls at work”.

:rolleyes:

So, I think if you’re a guy → online can be quite the jackpot. If you’re a girl → online OR real life, it’s slim pickings ladies.

We made our bed, we’re the ones that raised these guys to be spoilt and accepted mediocrity from them, so now we’re sleeping in that bed. It’s clear as day when you talk to rishta aunties, marriage agencies, and these online sites - there are MANY MORE qualified girls than there are guys.

Been there..yeah and done that!!
The girls i met there either they want money because their "mother is very ill, and money have to come through Western union" otherwise they will not accept it.
Guys .. just be careful ...when they ask money tell um that your bro can deliver it, they will run. I'm sure there are stories like these on either gender.

Thousands of guys and girls find good matches in their social circles, via family introductions and via web sites.
We have GS couples, and we have couples who met online before matrimonial sites, Friendster, MySpace, orkut, Naseeb, Facebook etc.

It ain't all bad, depends on the individual, and who they attract and connect with.

Matrimonial Websites

Majesty; some good points; however i am talking specifically about these websites, rather than aunties. No one needs to know you used them as an initial source of contact. Neither rishta aunty nor society...hence no attitude, no judgement.

As for the website; that is probably one sad story out of many happy ones. As far as i know, 'normal' people use it too... So its not just for desperate/weirdos out there. The idea is you get to know the person properly..if they are not suitable simply move on to the next profile. Its as simple as that really. Pretty much hassle free.

Raania and falto: they need to find better websites. Anyone asking for money, or with a sob story; is a red flag right there. You simply move on to the next profile, and not sit there chatting to them.

The good ones usually have a strong verification system, and a good eye for fraud; they also require some payment, which helps weed out the time wasters. And a small investment for a matter of a life time; is definitely worth it!

X2: you are right; many people find someone through friends/ family/ themselves, but i am specially talking about those girls/ guys who have waited for a decade now in finding a partner that way, but have simply not come across someone suitable.

The situation i see there are many girls approaching or well into their 30s, and still going through this demeaning rishta process.. with any joe blog; When if they could be a little proactive and use these websites; they could easily surf out their interests; in a discreet and respectable way, and themselves a lot of time and hassle. But they dont because its not a respectable way apparently! And you only get the riff raffs on there.. Which is simply not the case.

Queer: GS may be an amazing place to find someone, but its not set out to do that specifically. So would not recommend anyone looking, to come here as such. Although, GS could ideally set up their own matrimonial website; and im sure it would be hugely popular! The potential ( of members) is already there; and It would be another great service to the community.

Pcg; thanks for your insight. You are right, you do get highly educated professionals there, and its definitely worth paying for.

However the websites ive seen; require only the men to pay for membership, simply because girls are generally reluctant to join, hence outnumbered.
And because they obv cannot function without them, they've had to waive the fees for female membership.

I have used these sites for others; and yes it can be tedious going through all the profiles; however the search function allows you to narrow it down to very specific criteria, in terms of age, education, nationality, occupation, background etc. So you only end up with those you would most likely be interested in in the first place. It simply does all the hard work for you!

Which ones are worth using?

The guy my friend got involved with posed as a consultant who had to go overseas on some business and got her emotionally involved meanwhile, talked on the phone, chatted with her heck even I talked to him once. He kinda proposed to her too, planned to visit her, got his paycheque delivered to her via FedEx, then faked getting in an accident and having his money stolen abroad and requested her to send money to him for his ticket to visit her where he would get his paycheque cashed and repay her. This was shaadi.com

I found GS is THE site of this purpose . As it works like a community .

Oh queer :rotfl:

Mehndi.com has a lot of traffic, I mean twice as much as some others, but as with traffic the fraud is up as well.

oh mehndi is full of BS.

The thing is when you make reports of abuse, do these websites do anything about it?

Man, if only he applied THAT MUCH hard work into a real career.

I agree its not the case that you only find riff raffs there. I was commenting that you are bound to run into, or attract regular peeps as well as riff raffs regardless of the medium.

on a related note, its not just the two extremes of some demeaning rishta process involving chai parades, and meeting someone through the sites, people who can meet people through websites can also meet people through community and social circle.

In the end there are a few basic components of how easy someone finds a match

1) requirements- what are your expectations
2) options- where do you live, how many people are there, how involved and connected you are in the community
3) self- who are you- how would you satisfy others requirements and expectations

people cant keep focusing on #2 only..people..guys and girls alike..need to think about #1 and #3 as well. otherwise no matter what medium they will have a tough time. when you mention guys and girls in 30s who have not yet found someone...I only ask people to think about why is it that their friends, neighbors, cousins, and even siblings found decent matches.