Can somebody explain this to me? I used to see guys hitting themselves and singing ‘Ya Ali’ when I was a kid.
What is the basis for this?
Jazakallah
P.s. no disrespect intended.
Can somebody explain this to me? I used to see guys hitting themselves and singing ‘Ya Ali’ when I was a kid.
What is the basis for this?
Jazakallah
P.s. no disrespect intended.
You might wanna check this site out: It really explains this barbaric practice.
http://www.salaf.indiaaccess.com/shiites/matam.htm
Take it easy…
V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**
----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----
hey I just read this - and Watcher how can you call this a barbaric practice - for those of who practice it - believe in it strongly...
any shia's - can tell us what importance and sgnificance the matam has..
Thanks.
Imam Hussains sister Bibi Zainab did matam for her brother on His Chehlum..this has started then and its happening till today and always will happen..dont try to tell me any of u here knows more about religion then Bibi Zainab..watcher no one is asking u to do matam so u shouldnt have a problem with that ok buddy
anyone has a question still?
yeah, an unrelated one,why was that thread on abu huraira closed?
also…sheraaz would you be kind enuf to go into depth about matam?..for example, if bibi zainab did it for her brother, why are the muslims doing it today?..so, if the Prophet slept on a brick (as a pillow) we should all sleep on a brick…? i dont get it…(best intentions…dont want gfq gettin at me again
)
aaaalo?>(desi accent) aaaneeey won thea?
x communist i love my parents more then anything in this world..
aur mere maa baap mere Imam per Qurban..u just cant imagine the love we have for Ahle-bait..i bet u dont know the history of Karbala..6 month old baby, thirsty for water for days..Imam Hussain takes him to these so called muslims and ask for some water..instead my Ali Asghar gets an arrow which was so powerful that they used to kill wild animal with it..Hazrat Qasim the son of Imam Hassan, only 13 yrs of age..goes to fight aur mere Imam Hussain unko ek gothri main wapis laatay hain..unkil laash ghoro say iss tarah paamaal ho gayee thi..i can go on and on..but there is no use..aap logo ko kabhi samajh nahi aye gi
x-communist...........
matam and crying over the Masayeb of ahlulbait is natural. think with a very open heart, when somebody looses someone very close they feel sad and depending upon the circumstances the person lost his/her life the level of sorrow changes. e.g in palestine you see on tv everyday mothers crying over the janaza of their young siblings. Try loving Ahlulbait in your heart the way they should be loved and BY GOD YOU WILL CRY TOO when you hear all the masayab of Karbala. as far as matam is concerned when you are in deep sorrow you show your sadness in different ways and matam is one way. By God I have seen sunni person crying and doing matam when he got rid of all the hatred.
As far as Hazoor(PBUH) example you gave that he used to use a brick as a pillow,Bhai Hazoor's(PBUH) every action was an example for us. if he used brick as a pillow, he was probably teaching us the SADGI and PURHASEGARI. Yes you should see in his(PBUH) every action and try to learn what he is teaching us.
Wassalam
Matam is and should be for only 3 days, not for centuries. Plus, hitting your self with sharp objects and causeing harm to ones-self is something that ALlah prohibits!!!
Mem Sahib, we call our selves Muslims, don't you think we should try to act like one? We call our selves Muslims, don't you think, we should go by QURAN and control our desires?
Take it easy.
*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*
Matam is and should be for only 3 days, not for centuries. Plus, hitting your self with sharp objects and causeing harm to ones-self is something that ALlah prohibits!!!
Mem Sahib, we call our selves Muslims, don't you think we should try to act like one? We call our selves Muslims, don't you think, we should go by QURAN and control our desires?
Moreover, where in quran does it say you should hurt your self until blood gushes out and you should cry over a dead person who has been dead for many centuries???
Take it easy.
*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*
watcher bhai, is that all we should do for somebody's great sacrifice for islam? just three days of mourning? and then forget about it for centuries? In this civilised world even non muslims remember the people who sacrificed their lives for their country every year in the form of memorial days or defence day etc... here we are talking about a family who saved Islam. Yazid who was the Khalifatul muslameen at that time was doing every possible Haram thing and was changing Shariat of Rasool(PBUH). Imam Husain(A.S) revealed yazid's doings and showed the world that true islam is not what yazid is doing. today these long text you are posting about islam quoting Quran is all SADQA of Imam Husain's sacrifices. yazid was changing islam. considering above you can atleast sit down and think about what Imam Husain did for us, what his family went through, believe me if you have any heart you will not be able to control your tears.
as far as matam is concerned, leave it to the people who are doing it. as long as you know why they are doing it you should not strain your brain.
wassalam
Pizza, shaheed is a shaheed, millions of Muslims fought in the way of Allah. Many mothers lost their sons, many sons gave their lives for Allah and for Islam. Does that mean we sit around and cry and hurt our selves?
Allah asks us not to follow our desires, Surah 28(al-qasas) verse # 50.
Everything that happens on matam is prohibited by allah. No where does ALlah say you can hit your self while mouring for someone who is dead.
Prophets Mohammad(pbh) own sons died, after short time they were born, he never cried [not matam] never asked us to hurt our selves when someone dies…and never asked us to cry all year long and bring my sons above the levels.
I have a great deal of respect for family of prophet[ali, his family and others] and other sahabas, Feeling sad is one thing but hurting your self, out of love or whatever is just wrong and not even quran alows it.
Do you understand what I am trying to say?
Take it easy..
V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**
[This message has been edited by The Watcher (edited November 21, 2000).]
I ask you here three notes from books by Sunni scholars...
PLease try and answer the associated questions...
1.Mouta Imam Malik, Translated by Allama Waheed-u-Zama,
Page No. 147
Hadith No. 603
The Prophet (P.B.U.H.) is quoted saying,
"A Sahaabi (R.A.) came beating his chest and pulling his hair..."
Question: Now if beating your chest was a GHUNAAH, why didn't the Prophet (P.B.U.H.) ask the Sahaabi (R.A.) to stop?
2.Sheikh Abdul Mohdis Dehlvi
Kitaab Madarij-u-Nabouwa, Volume-2
Page No. 544
"Hazrat Bilal-e-Habshi (R.A.) beating his head and requesting came into Masjid-e-Nabvi."
Question: What FATVAA would you suggest for the person without who's call the sun wouldn't come out?
3.Masnad-e-Imam Hanbal (R.A.)
Matbua Misr, Volume-6
"On the Wisaal of the Holy Prophet (P.B.U.H) , Bibi Aisha (R.A.) performed matam and beat her face..."
Question: Would you like to comment on this BARBARIC PRACTICE of the Um-ul-Momineen?
Now if you still think that Matam is just another crazy thing Shia's do, live with we, I won't mind that... especially when I know that some of you EVEN believe we have a longer Quran... talk about misleading Mullahs........!
[And btw, I haven't pasted this off the web, I've translated from an Urdu handout I recently got from a friend.]
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
[This message has been edited by pakistan99 (edited November 21, 2000).]
Jazakallah for all your replies.
Did our Beloved Prophet ever do Matam? He was the best example for mankind.. so did he do matam?
Lets keep this post clean
If the Karbala had occured during the earthly period of the Holy Prophet (P.B.U.H.)... I am telling you, He would have performed Matam.
(And I have no doubt in it.)
Originally posted by Sherazz:
**Imam Hussains sister Bibi Zainab did matam for her brother on His Chehlum..this has started then and its happening till today and always will happen..dont try to tell me any of u here knows more about religion then Bibi Zainab..watcher no one is asking u to do matam so u shouldnt have a problem with that ok buddy
anyone has a question still?**
there was a chehlum in THOSE days ????
What the hell is it anyway??? I mean the significance of the 40th day
and besides are we asking or pushing sunnis to do matam? matam kertay hum hain aur takleef hoti hai aap logo ko..u really do love us alot huh
yes sheraaz, i love my shia bros and siss.....
watcher, where'd you get the 3 days???
pak.99, when did the sahabas perform matam??? (during the life of the prophet)
everyone else, if shi'as perform matam for the dearly loved lost ones, shouldnt everyone do it for the prophet also????(he was ill when he died)
think clearly!
sheraaz, your abbu can be qurban on the IMAM, my abbu is qurban for the religion itself....not specifics....plus, i dont think family needs to interfere with "matam" or post regarding shia/sunni issues....
laterz.
i was just trying to show u somthing..Prophet didnt die the way Imam Hussain and his family did..matam ki waja hai the way they died..so any idea how Imam Hussain died exactly? lets just see how much u know
no need trying to test my knowledge....i've not admitted to being a scholar....since you seem to be the practicing shia' around here, why dont you give us a breif summary (not detailed plz) at teh moment to provide us with the whys and how's of matam....
thanks.