Marrying your cousin

Would you consider marrying your cousin who you grew up calling “bhai” or “baji”? How do you feel about it?
Or someone who you grew up with in the same joint family house, like your taia or chacha’s son / daughter?
How do you go from calling someone your chacha or khala to FIL MIL?
I find cousin marriages weird and creepy since there is no record of any in my extended family. What do you think?

Re: Marrying your cousin

I think** most** cousin marriages happen where the cousins weren't raised in the same household/country, so thus they weren't too close growing up.

I wouldn’t consider marrying any of my cousins :bummer:

I have been able to get rid of 3 cousin proposals, still have to work to avoid the last one :bummer:. I used to call two of them bhai and I still do :D. I am lucky that my parents have always been with me in this and they also never wanted cousin marriage for me (since none of these cousins have been well-educated and settled).

Yes, girls do get married to their cousins whom they previously used to call bhai.

I don't like cousins marriages even though in my family i have number of cousins of my age who are well educated and well settled in their life. But i am totally against this idea. All my cousins are just like my brothers. And Alhamdulillah my father is also against of this idea. :D

I don't think you should marry within family to begin with as there are plenty of nice people out there, secondly I think it would be awkward marrying someone that you considered a brother or a sister from as long as you can remember, and then to be the husband or wife of that person. However if you have cousins that you hardly ever meet then it maybe ok.

I think that would be highly awkward.

I wouldn't do it but in principle I don't have any problem with it..

Me personally I'd just feel a bit 'trapped' in my family.. there's a whole world of guys out there..

**it's one's choice who he/she marries but as a Muslim one must NOT make it sort of Haraam upon themselves because Allah has made this rishta Halaal. in Qur'aan, we have been warned NOT to make HALAAL things HARAAM and Haraam things Halaal because Allah has already decided it for you.

i'm saying this because i've heard many people say i can't marry my cousin, he is LIKE brother to me. well, he is NOT a brother!**

If marrying a person who you used to call baji or bhai was such a big deal, I'm sure Allah swt would've made it haraam.

Very well said and its very common in our society and have some advantages too. You know the family, environment (that is very much like yours) and adjustment issues are less than in marriages outside family. You know 'Apna maaray ga bhi to chaon main rake ga'!

No.
It seems quite incestuous to me, then again I've always been very brotherly/sisterly to my cousins even though we all live so far away.
I'm not judging people that do but I've always found it quite 'ew'.

I am not agreed here because apna mary tu ziyada takleef hoti hai....... gheroon main tu insan souchta hai k chalo gheir hi thy.

Well i don’t know about marrying my cousin, i never had to give it a thought as most of them are very elder to me. However i am sure it probably does feel weird but i don’t buy this reason that oh i use to call him bhai how can i marry him blah blah. I almost call everyone i see bhai, does that mean i am never gonna get married :bummer:.

Allah didn't want us to be close or living with our cousins in the first place..

I don't have a problem with it, as it's quite a common thing to happen here within friends/family.
Although, it does help if you have lived far away for most of your lives and haven't had a brotherly-sisterly type connection.

And generally speaking, problems can arise whether you get married within the family or outside so neither guarantee a happy marriage.

errr...no.

it happens quite often n i think ppl get used to it and adjust in new relationship ,a few of my friends ended up gettig married with their cousins n they were v happy coz of same relatives ,frankness and traditions.

*thank you Muqawwee saaHib :) aapne ba-jaa farmaayaa...Allah ke har Hukm meN Hikmat hotii hai jise ham aksar samajh nahiiN paate. *

I don't find it gross or see it as morally wrong or anything, but I wouldn't do it myself.