how much of a health risk is this (as in for your kids, post marrying into the same blood) .. since this is not forbidden in islam, how many times should this cycle be repeated until it’s halted…
like ur parents are first cousins… u marry ur first cousin.. n then ur kids marry into their first cousins… what are your views?
Re: marrying your cousin when your parents are first cousins..
just gross and wrong.
why would you want to recycle your DNA? because that's what essentially it is. cousin marriage is allowed, but only when there is no other option. the more you do it, the more you're going to mess up the DNA. I know a family like that. grand parents cousins, aunty and uncle cousins, now a few of the wives/husbands for the kids are cousins. the 3rd generation is already weird...in terms of physical features and quirks...quirks that are cute when you are a kid, but when they are weird, and when they stay, even weirder. who knows what will happen to the kids.
Islamically, you are encouraged to marry out of your "tribe". There's a reason for it. Since marrying a cousin is no ABSOLUTE determinant of genetic abnormalities, Islam doesn't prohibit those marriages. But, the risks do increase after cycles.
how much of a health risk is this (as in for your kids, post marrying into the same blood) .. since this is not forbidden in islam, how many times should this cycle be repeated until it's halted... like ur parents are first cousins... u marry ur first cousin.. n then ur kids marry into their first cousins.... what are your views?
There's nothing wrong with it. I know certain families where their parents are first cousins and they themselves are married to their first cousins. Alhamdulillah everything is fine with them.
how much of a health risk is this (as in for your kids, post marrying into the same blood) .. since this is not forbidden in islam, how many times should this cycle be repeated until it's halted... like ur parents are first cousins... u marry ur first cousin.. n then ur kids marry into their first cousins.... what are your views?
big no no!!!
also you have to consider the future of the couple and thier kids! they will absolutely be tormented, mocked and made fun off! not everywhere ofcourse, but i suspect most of the world is following suit on the sentiment that marrying cousins is a "no no". Some places consider it incest, and in parts of the world is illegal!
so i guess ultimately it depends, where the couple envision they will live, if they intend to keep thier kids in that same geographical area....i dont know, if possible! steer away from teh situation!
right... but wat if ur cousin ws insanely in love with u... plus his parents also insanely adore u... wouldnt u feel guilty on refusing a 'ghar ka larka"... and what if ur husband turned out to be an ass... wouldnt ur khandan waale mock u back to the stoneages on having refused ur cousin..
just stating facts.. this situatoin's pretty common with paki's!!!
^ That should be the first priority, if his parents love you and he loves you (and they’re all decent ppl) then why turn down the rishta jsut coz he’s a cousin? If every other factor is working out, you hav the same goals/plans for the future, bas Allah ka naam lay kar go with the marriage.. :k:
It's disgusting and should be banned :D
You ABSOLUTELY shouldnt do it if there are some known genetic disorders in your family, for example Diabetes, etc. If both sides of the family have diabetes or any genetic disorder, inter-marrying will take away the little chance of the children not inherting the disorder.
but there is no guarantee that things will stay the same after marriage. i’ve seen many family problems, and before marriage things were hunky dory. so now there is an increased risk that the children will have genetic problems, those that have been hidden away will emerge now, and inter-familial problems.
Repitition can weaken the strain. Its best to avoid the cycle in second generation.
Why would anyone get married? : wierd:
but there is no guarantee that things will stay the same after marriage. i've seen many family problems, and before marriage things were hunky dory. so now there is an increased risk that the children will have genetic problems, those that have been hidden away will emerge now, and inter-familial problems.
There s never anything certain in life except death and taxes!
If you like him or you will start liking him in the near future you should consider it. But dont do anything because you feel sorry for them. Thats not a good reason to get married. I know I didnt help out at all :D but its a descision you will have to make for yourself eventually :)
Why would anyone get married? : wierd:
Why not?
i think marrying cousins can get very complicated. especially with first cousins... theres the whole genetic thing, etc. but also rishta-wise, theres such a thing as being too close for comfort.
i mean, if you have issues with your MIL and shes also your khala or your phoppo, mumani or chachi, what you gonna do? if you complain to your mom, she's gonna feel bad or your dad will and it'll end up causing more tension than if she was unrelated and you were discussing things with your parents.
i think its important to keep some distance between you and your inlaws. i dont mean dont love them or spend time with them or anything, but your susraal should be separate from your khandaan. i think it creates more peace of mind than anything else.
and i think that no matter how much people love you beforehand, i think when you become someone's bahu or son in law, they dont stop loving you but the relationship always changes... its a subtle change but its noticeable. its no longer, oh this is my niece- its more like, oh this is my bahu, you know? in our society, the rishta matters so much. i just don't see it going well.
is anyone here married to their cousin? any first hand experiences?
It’s like being stuck between a rock and a hard place. I can understand where your coming from. Unfortnately i can’t provide any solutions to such perdicaments.![]()
If you live in desi-land, there isnt much stigma attached to cousin marrying. Its different here in USA. So you may want to take that into consideration.
REcent studies have shown that there is a lesser risk than previously thought about marrying a cousin - HOWEVER, the more inter-marrying that has gone on, the more potential for problems. Thats definitely something to consider too. It makes sense, just google on "animal husbandry" and you can learn all about the negative effects of too much intermarriage. The small community of jewish followers called Ashkinazi I think have inter-married for so many generations that they are all but infertile now. And when they do have a live birth, the majority of them have problems. Consider what you would do and how you would handle having a child with a learning disability or handicap.
That said, you still never know. My first has some troubles and I married out of my family, out of my race and out of my religion. So there is much left to God/Allah as to what the road of life sets out for you.
i think its a numbers game, right... theres always the chance of your kid being born with disabilities... if you constantly intermarry, the chance is higher. do you want to take that chance? its a personal choice.
personally, theres a huge history of diabetes and heart disease on my mom's side of the family and all the complications associated with those two- when we were born, my mom and khala promised each other their kids wouldn't marry their first cousins- theres too strong a chance of passing on those diseases to our kids.
yaaaaaar
koi mujhe yeh baat bataaye, dunya mein cousns kay ilawah logon ko aur koi nazar naheen ata?
unfortunately when some jacque-asses make it some sort of expectations that there are guys in the family so they will marry girls in teh khandaa, it just puts pressures on the guys.
How much, you have to be in that position to know.
right... but wat if ur cousin ws insanely in love with u... plus his parents also insanely adore u... wouldnt u feel guilty on refusing a 'ghar ka larka"... and what if ur husband turned out to be an ass... wouldnt ur khandan waale mock u back to the stoneages on having refused ur cousin..
just stating facts.. this situatoin's pretty common with paki's!!!
with all due respect, if you are in a bad marriage, and your khandan mocks you about it, then they are a-class morons, who you should not even spit at.
Really. The lame childish crap that goes on in some desi khandans is just beyonf belief.
if his parents love you and he loves you (and they're all decent ppl) then why turn down the rishta jsut coz he's a cousin?
question then is, do you love him.