Marrying a Pakistani man ...

Re: Marrying a Pakistani man …

So instead of arguing my counter-points you come up with patronsing crap about ‘‘you’re confused’’ :halo:

Then I back my claims up using our religion and you call my views- ‘‘typical woman’’

Then I point out to you that there are traditions, but that does not mean you follow retard traditions, as there are traditions in Pakistan that justify women being traded in disputes, do you justify those too just because they’re traiditons? :halo: Or do you use your brain that Allah Mian has granted us all and say hey, ‘‘this thing goes against our religion and is outdated so lets think this through and change it’’

Clearly not.

:slight_smile:

Re: Marrying a Pakistani man ...

From personal preference, I meant personal preference of the family + girl/ guy. If the girl/ guy thinks its an opression, they should convince their elders by all means. Phadda kerna acha tau nahi hai na. But I guess it is very difficult to make our elders agree on this point. The next generation will be in a better position to try to change this misconception hopefully, since we would had been the well informed and well aware victims of this 'zulm'-filled tradition ;) and we would had known k humare saath zulm hoa hai which should not happen with any nikahfied husband and wife.

I regret that I married a guy with bunch of sisters too. He has brothers too but lots of sisters and believe me they are really important. His mother loves her grandaughters from his sisters more than she loves him. She actually spent more money on her grandaughter's wedding than she spent at her son's wedding. So yeah my advice never marry a guy with bunch of sisters.

my advice is,please dont end the relationship now.be patient and have courage.you just need to do the right things.
the problem is that your husband is also confused what to do which comes uot in form of anger.i am sure he loves you but he cant also ignore his family.so its your responsibilty to facilitate his situation.he cant always take your side.
-so a big No is: complaining about his mother and instead of this when he comes home,tell him good things and compliments about his mother.just tell him positiv things.
-avoid discussions.
-he loves his sister and mother,so try to get them on your side by giving them a lot of attention and talking to them(it may be difficult but you have to do it).
-instead of being in your room.spent time with them even if they dont want to.
-try to give them gifts,especially the sister
-cook for thhem,give them respect etc

they shouldnt have the feeling that their son chose the wrong one and regret his decision.they have to forget the other girl.

all this may seem to be impossible and weird.but a friend of mine had a similar situation.the MIL and BIL just hated her and nag everytime.this went on for 6 years,but she always tried to make them happy and did all the above metioned things.so give them a try and please please let me know.good luck

Re: Marrying a Pakistani man …

Bibi, you don’t know what you are saying, that is why i am not taking you seriously here!!!

dear OP, may u and ur partner be blessed amin

i understand what u r going through... how little thing like eating with him, or him coming out for a 5 min. to sit with you, have mattered a lot for you....

i hope things work out for u dear... just take care and pray !!

it was red flag when you knew his divorced sister. your parent should stop you for this marriage.
If you have no rukhsati, then there is no point to live with his family. as pakistani culture is still consider it big no no.

very true...IF she wants to stay in this marriage this would be the way to go

VERY true. Nikah while islamically correct and absolutely legal and all, does not allow people to live together without rukhsati in PAKISTAN. The culture and our society doesnt allow it. This is a HARD fact and those living in Pakistan would know this very well, and possibly Pakistanis abroad too. I didn't understand myself why her parents could allow this. Society does NOT allow it in Pakistan and the MIL has to consider society even if the girl's parents are not doing so, because if nothing else she has daughters to marry off and wants to be respectable (I am presuming this). Hannibal is correct in all these points.

You want to LIVE together, even for a while, then do *RUKHSATI. *

Shak, I agree with your points here, but it would not be allowed socially or culturally and that is a hard fact of Pakistan. Badnaami hoti hey, I dont like this hard fact myself and I resent it, but living in Pakistan I have to understand it.

VERY well said Ashy!

Just because you don't find it culturally acceptable doesn't mean everyone should feel they must do it that way.

In my family it's considered normal to act as a married couple** right after nikah. There have been 2 cases just within the last year where it has happened (my brother and cousin both spent the night with their wives straight after nikah and then were given the choice to move in together **if they wanted to).

I haven't read all the posts so I might be repeating some stuff, that's already been said...

I think it does have to do a little with him being a Pakistani.. along with you not being raised in Pakistan. Most of us pakistani girls are somewhat prepared for a controlling mother in law and almost all marriages over here take a lot of hard work and patience on part of the new woman in the house. My mother in law is equally controlling and my husband is as much a mama's boy as your's is. The only difference is I was my MiL's choice rather than my husband's so I guess she couldn't really tell him that someone else would be a better match for him.

I think the first wrong thing you did, being a Pakistani bahu, was staying at his place before the rukhsati. That still isn't 'acceptable' behaviour in most families and at a later point in life.. if you manage to reach that, you may get 'taanay' about that. It's not just about not being acceptable, also when you come at the rukhsati, atleast you have your own bedroom and your own private time with your husband. In your case, you couldn't really be alone with him, while you MiL and SiLs could be.
Most marriages over here are a sort of covert battle between the wife and the MiL/ SiLs. In most cases, the wife wins, but after several hard years :) The key is to not give up and be as patient as you can be.

I would advise you to not end the relationship yet. Just do not stay at thier place again till rukhsati. From the look of it, I am not sure if you'd be able to mend what's been destroyed already, but you can try. Try talking to your guy and if you still love him enough, I would even recomment an apology to your MiL even if you aren't wrong anywhere. That is only if you think it can save yoru relationship and if you want to save it. I know you are angry at her and won't want to apologize but it tilts the balance in your favor. In the 'covert battle" I mentioned earlier, the aim is to win the guy :) To win him over, you should appear better than his mom to him :)

You'll have ot put up with a lot of crap. I would say never ever answer anyone back. If they say crap about you, your family whatever just hear it.. NEVER EVER SAY ANYTHING. Though to win the battle your husband must know what's been said to you ;) . Never relate the incident to him in an accusing manner.. or when you are angry. Let him know after you have calmed down, and do let him know how hurt you were, but you didn't say anything, just coz you care for him and hurting his parents will hurt him. Win the guy over and defeat the evil MIL... :)

All the best :) :)

That was all azmooda advice :) Tried and tested but took 4 long yrs to actually work.. including 5 months of separation.

And one more thing.. don't forget to make a big deal of every tiny viny nice act that comes from his family. so he won't think you are always being negative about them :)

OP, do let us know what you finally decided with. This thread made me kinda' nervous.

^I think she's looking for a counsellor right now..

Oh, yes. I saw her thread.