Re: Marrying a hyderbadi
seriously? why do they exaggerate so much?
hmm women could be loud and they do run the show but should that be a deterrent for my friend?
So they question do you think its ok to marry into a hyderabadi family?
what are your experiences as non hyderabadi
Relax…it’s just a linguist quirk. I’m sure there are plenty of idiosyncrasies like this in punajbi, Sindhi etc.
Hyderabadis are not some alien life form that your friend needs to be scared of or that you are so worried about. This question you’ve posed is equally applicable to any cultural/ethnic subset. I’m a 100% Hyderabadi (albeit born in the US) as is my entire khandaan and I married into a Kutchi speaking family from Karachi. It happens. It’s all good. Everything about my inlaws, from their cooking to their rahen-sahen to their language (not Urdu!) was foreign to me and I survived…16 years later still going strong! My husband gets on fabulously with my big fat Hydro family and they love him to bits.
And no, it should not be a deterrent tho your friend that “women are loud and run the show”.
Well..my first eva Quran teacher in saudia was hyderabadi. And dad’s best friend who have worked him with for more than 15 years was hyderabadi. We got along very well with their kids. They cooked excellent food..lekin etneee mirchii wallay..kay Allah maaf karayy. Khanaa shro bhi nahi kiya..rona atta thaa. Very chilled people.
As far as marrying in hyderabadi..we wouldn’t. We just don’t marry into Indian..no disrespect.
No disrespect taken. Everyone has their own comfort level.
Hyderabadis typically do not marry into Punjabi families either. I grew up hearing from my Nana and Nani ke Punjaabion main beti nahin detainhain. There’s even a certain level of one upmanship between Hydros that stayed in India and those Hydros that migrated to Karachi after partition..I see it in my extended family a lot…“Achaa…unnay Pakistani hai..” There are plenty of pure Hyderabadi families that prefer not to marry their children or bring in a dil or sil from Pakistani background… Doesn’t make it right or wrong…it’s just is what it is.
The past few days there seem to be an influx of Hydro centric threads on GS, like Hyderabadis are so foreign or some sort science experiment…don’t understand what the deal is ![]()
Off topic
lived in Saudi? Which city?
I spent a whole week with my hubbys best friends family out in morroco when he got married and i found myself picking up hyderabadi urdu quicker then the arabic it was so cool!
When they speak fast it takes time to register what theyre saying though lol
do you feel alone when around so many hyderabadis?
well to be fair, my MIL grew up in Pak for 15 years (her parents moved to Pk from hydro) and then she moved to America. so they’re not SUPER hydro. Plus everyone was brought up here for the most part so they’re pretty westernized (still conservative). When I met everyone at my engagement, yeah it was different. My parents were a little caught off guard at how informal everything is with them. Punjabis tend to be really OTT sometimes with their mehmaan-nawazi and my in laws weren’t like that at all. Dont’ get me wrong, they’re very sweet and welcoming but the same stiff/formal social rules I grew up with for hosting guests doesn’t seem to exist with they hydros I’ve encountered. A lot of my friends are hydro and my family would ALWAYS say that they would never agree to a rishta in a hydro family because the mehman daari just isn’t there. And then, ta-da , I come home with a hydro boy.
Also, could be completely off (don’t kill me just my opinion) but I’ve noticed that hydros tend to be much more conservative/religious than a lot of the punjabi families I’ve interacted with. But it’s weird because all the hydro guys I know have pretty extensive histories with girls/partying; but it’s done way more on the DL. With the punjabis I know, it’s more out in the open–aka , they’re families are much more liberal and modren in that regard.
Hyderabadis typically do not marry into Punjabi families either. I grew up hearing from my Nana and Nani ke Punjaabion main beti nahin detainhain. There’s even a certain level of one upmanship between Hydros that stayed in India and those Hydros that migrated to Karachi after partition..I see it in my extended family a lot…“Achaa…unnay Pakistani hai..” There are plenty of pure Hyderabadi families that prefer not to marry their children or bring in a dil or sil from Pakistani background… Doesn’t make it right or wrong…it’s just is what it is.
The past few days there seem to be an influx of Hydro centric threads on GS, like Hyderabadis are so foreign or some sort science experiment…don’t understand what the deal is
hah really? My fiance’s nani told him to marry a punjabi girl because “they know how to take care of a house and can cook well” lol. for what it’s worth, I was always told not to marry into hydros because the guys are kinda wild and they’re “too simple”. Every culture or whatever has its quirks.
Like I said, I have awesome in-laws. Yeah, they’re simple and relaxed, but it’s a nice problem to have when I hear about inlaws making ridic demands about jehaz, wedding expectations, etc.
They cooked excellent food..lekin etneee mirchii wallay..kay Allah maaf karayy. .
I like that them hydros put imli in everything. I just love the stuff. ![]()
^haha..ya they do. Yar..imli serf pakoron kay sathh achey lagtey hai mujhay tu..
^I like it with everything..I’ll eat it with salan too. The Hydros just mix it in the salans which is convenient, lol. And I like it in the concentrate form as opposed to a super thinned down chutney. It’s a good thing we don’t buy it so often cuz I find it addictive…I think I loves it more than a preggo woman.
RV ka menu as follows:
Aloo gosht with imli
Chicken karhai with Imli
Keema Aloo with Imli
I don’t know where this friend of your lives and where this Hyderabadi guy has been brought up. If in a Western country then really it doesn’t matter much. Yes, they are more religious than most, I have noticed, so if your friend is not on the same page religiously, that might matter.
One if my very good friends is from Hyderabad, India and lives in the US. She is very nice and sweet and yes she does run the show in her household which I think would be something a woman would welcome ( when I say run the show, I mean the husband is happy to let her take care of it and not nit pick on finances ). She used to be not very religious but then she is now and a bit of a traditionalist.
Food etc is good. But those are secondary issues.
[quote="“rx988, post:49, topic:334397"”]
do you feel alone when around so many hyderabadis?
well to be fair, my MIL grew up in Pak for 15 years (her parents moved to Pk from hydro) and then she moved to America. so they’re not SUPER hydro. Plus everyone was brought up here for the most part so they’re pretty westernized (still conservative). When I met everyone at my engagement, yeah it was different. My parents were a little caught off guard at how informal everything is with them. Punjabis tend to be really OTT sometimes with their mehmaan-nawazi and my in laws weren’t like that at all. Dont’ get me wrong, they’re very sweet and welcoming but the same stiff/formal social rules I grew up with for hosting guests doesn’t seem to exist with they hydros I’ve encountered. A lot of my friends are hydro and my family would ALWAYS say that they would never agree to a rishta in a hydro family because the mehman daari just isn’t there. And then, ta-da , I come home with a hydro boy.
Also, could be completely off (don’t kill me just my opinion) but I’ve noticed that hydros tend to be much more conservative/religious than a lot of the punjabi families I’ve interacted with. But it’s weird because all the hydro guys I know have pretty extensive histories with girls/partying; but it’s done way more on the DL. With the punjabis I know, it’s more out in the open–aka , they’re families are much more liberal and modren in that regard.
[quote="“khattichic, post:20, topic:334323"”]
The past few days there seem to be an influx of Hydro centric threads on GS, like Hyderabadis are so foreign or some sort science experiment…don’t understand what the deal is ![]()
hah really? My fiance’s nani told him to marry a punjabi girl because “they know how to take care of a house and can cook well” lol. for what it’s worth, I was always told not to marry into hydros because the guys are kinda wild and they’re “too simple”. Every culture or whatever has its quirks.
Like I said, I have awesome in-laws. Yeah, they’re simple and relaxed, but it’s a nice problem to have when I hear about inlaws making ridic demands about jehaz, wedding expectations, etc.
Whaaa?? Hydros are known for their mehmandaari, rakh rakhao, saleeqa. Do you know that? They are known for their extensive menu, bharay dastarkhawn, delicious food. Did you know that? Punjanbis are little.more outgoing, fun loving than hydros but your views on hydros is completely wrong. It may be what your to be husband’s family is like, but generally hydros aren’t like that. Old school hydros don’t marry in Punjabis. Hydro girls are known for their saleeqa. Take a trip to Chicago please.. Lol.
Between I am hyderabadi married to a Punjabi.
They only thing I agree with is hyderabadis are conservative, religious than most Punjabis.. And that’s really generalizing.
^ I agree with Spiral here, Hyderabadis are known for their saleeqa and mehmandaari.
appreciate your advice and please feel free to be more honest. I have never even had hyderabadi biryani before
it was a joke.. i mean who marries for biryani?
on a serious note..I think hyderabadi guys are ok… but hyderabadi girls, not so sure… in our community 3 hyderabadi girls that were married to pakistanis filed for divorce and took them to cleaners…I don’t know the guys well enough.. maybe they were douchebags and deserved it… but makes me wary of hyderabadi girls
LOL…
Oh boy… Erm…
How do you measure which of the two groups is more or less religious?
The Hyderabadis that I knew …some of them wore hijab and others didn’t. I found the same difference among Punjabis. Some of them sported beards and others didn’t. I found the same among Punjabis. They valued namaz and and tried to adhere to these practices. I found the same among Punjabis. The Hydros I knew were conservative in that they did not approve of drinking and such. But I noticed the same values among the Punjabis in both my family and social circle…and I am a Punjabi. A couple Hyderabadis…I couldn’t trust and I found them to be very rude at times…and one of them was lacking in the renowned mehmaandari. But I know of a few Pubjabis and pakistanis of other ethnic groups that I had negative experiences with.
So, again…how is level of religiosity between the two groups being measured?
And Spiral…trust me Punjabis …overall know how to do mehmaan nawazi and khana really, really, really well too. We know how to do food and our menus for basic dawats and formal events can’t be called skimpy. One’s husband ki family or clan of in-laws don’r represent all Punjabis.