That’s the thing though RV…we all have different sensibilities. In my experience, I’ve noticed Punjabis are a bit brash…but that’s just me. They’re usually a bit louder, less takalluf and less formality. Does it offend me? No. Not really. I live in a city that is too diverse to be offended. Its just a type of marker showing how we treat situations differently. For some people though, these things are a big deal.
Good point.
To the OP:
Your friend seems to have no problem being desi and living in the West. But she has an issue with another type of desi?
I don’t know…it seems as if your friend is better off not marrying into this family. They will judge her and she will judge them. Why go there if you cannot approach a situation with an open mind and realize that in some part of the world…you’re the strange one with the odd habits? You don’t think the family you marry into will notice the hesitance in learning their culture and mingling with them? The superiority complex that seems to be peek-a-boo-ing in this thread? You don’t think that will cause offense?
It seems as if this thread was opened with the intention of making fun of hydros. If you’re thinking that some hydro will read these posts and think “oh wow, we’re really like that?”…you’re wrong. LOL. They will tell you what’s wrong with you. They will bring up a few things about Punjabis that are not so wonderful and that’s exactly what happened here.
Really, just don’t marry into a family if you’re that judgmental about them. Koi zabardasti nahin hai. I am sure they will find someone else who can manage things better. Har kisi ke bass ki baat nahin hoti hai shaadi.