Marrying a Bangladeshi

How many of you would be willing to marry a Muslim from another country? Personally, if I finally deicide to settle down I would not mind marrying one provided he lives in my country or a country other than his. I don’t want to move to any other Islamic country( now don’t question that).

Is there anyone who is married to a muslim of another ethinicity other than his/her own?

ahem tu woh Bengali hai kia? Bengali achhay log hotay heiN. Forun haaN bol dou. :nuch:

Two years back i considered marrying a Muslim from Jamaica... i think i mentioned it once in another thread, a while back. Inside and outside, he was a far better Muslim than most individuals i have met (myself included first and foremost). He had reverted to Islam; not only was he paanch waqt namaazi, but more importantly he had this love for Islam that i can't even express into words. It guided his interactions with the world around him. ALL the people @ uni looked up to him as a brother, as a role model. Until then, i had only read in books that Islam was about "self-surrender" - but he was a living example of manifesting that in his every thought/action/niyyat.

If the person is a "good Muslim" (not just outwardly but inwardly), then why not. He can be from Argentina/Peru/Timbuktu/Madagascar etc as far as i am concerned, but if he possesses that inexpressible manifestation of imaan inside and out, then that is extremely rare in this world today.

Just out of curiosty Nadia, why didn’t you marry him? You don’t have to answer.

I think I would. My first crush was on a bengali boy who lived down the street. :blush:

hey Mehnaz :flower1:

No of course i don’t mind. i’ll tell you over pm or e-mail.

marriage is not a play so make sure u r 'compatible'....
cultural differences can be difficult to overcome....

My wife's cousin is married to a very nice person from Bangladesh. While they both are happy and just had a princess little daughter a few months back ... I can feel that in family gatherings there are many awkward moments. Last time I was at one of such parties 'Bengali bhai' [as we all like to call him] was a bit frustrated as all uncles keep talking in Urdu/Punjabi.

In all such situations the ABCD cousins save the day, as they keep the conversation in English as much as possible.

Interesting thread. I would not marry a Bengali. I’m sticking to someone from Pakistan or westwards in terms of ethnicity. Personal choice.

:flower2:

Hmmm Minerva maybe it doesnt apply but I had an uncle who was married to a Filipino lady. Mashallah their marriage was great as in they genuinely cared for each other. They have two beautiful daughters. I think marrying someone outisde your nationality [which is a step farther than marrying someone outside your ethnicity] does cause a few hitches but then again even if you are married to your first cousin there could be problems. The point is if the two are committed to the marriage there should not be a problem.

I always used to think I'm never going to marry a non Pakistani. In fact a couple days ago I was thinking how weird it might be to even get married into a family thats Sindhi/Balochi/Pathan/Memon etc. I mean they'd all be speaking in that language and I'll be the odd one out. But I rethought about it and thought who knows aagay kismat mein kya likha hae, I don't know and so won't say anything and let the future unfold I guess :) Jab moqa ayay ga tab dekha jayay ga depending on the situation.

^ Heyyy, who said Bangladeshis are a separate nationality. They are Pakistanis through & through.

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
My wife's cousin is married to a very nice person from Bangladesh. While they both are happy and just had a princess little daughter a few months back ... I can feel that in family gatherings there are many awkward moments. Last time I was at one of such parties 'Bengali bhai' [as we all like to call him] was a bit frustrated as all uncles keep talking in Urdu/Punjabi.

In all such situations the ABCD cousins save the day, as they keep the conversation in English as much as possible.

aww

thats kinda funny too actually :D

waisae one would think that "bengali bhai" would have learnt urdu by now or atleast learnt to understand it? its not THAT difficult from bangla is it

i have a punjabi friend who learnt pushto after she got married to a pakhtoon

I have always had mixed rishtas. Meaning from different countries, although most were Pakistani.

I will not be surprised if I dont marry a Pakistani, but I wont be surprised if I do either. Allahu Alam.

I would marry a Bengali girl (given that she wants to marry me too) in a heartbeat. Those Bengali babes are so pretty and so gorgeous. AmaRa ko tu Bangla buht aachi lagay.

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
^ Heyyy, who said Bangladeshis are a separate nationality. They are Pakistanis through & through.

true ye baat bhee sahi hae

i have 2 uncles...one married a Japanese and one married a German.

dont know weather they muslim...wallah o alam, but atleast their children have muslim names..:)

Spreaking of Bangalis....there was a Bangali girl in my school.

Dammmmm...i would have married her on the spot...had she asked.

Sharaabi, your uncles only marry people from the nation that US defeated in the WW2? Jazakallah.

yes Madhanee....

it was easy...men died in war..all the women left to be taken. Not much effort required.

haha Sharaabi...let's go to Iraq.

lets go...earn some sawaab.

aage aage America ... peeche peeche hum.