Marrying a Bangladeshi

During he Bengal war a lot of women were left widows and Pakistani men did marry them and bring them over, some settled in well others had problems with the language, diet and customs, culture shock but eventually things worked out for most.

It’d be easier for people of different backgrounds to marry each other if they were both born and grew up in the same country.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
I would marry a Bengali girl (given that she wants to marry me too) in a heartbeat. Those Bengali babes are so pretty and so gorgeous. AmaRa ko tu Bangla buht aachi lagay.

Correction...

Ami bangla Bhalo pai.

Nadia_H,

Why didnt you marry him.Mujhe bhi PM karo na.

I love you all. Look at the twist given to my thread. Bhai sahab and mohtarmas its not just about Bangladeshi’s alone. I came across many, I chose to put Bangali so please stop posting about your fantasies and add to the discussion seriously. I mean Bengali was put up there to signify a muslim of another origin.
Ahmedjee, tell me about it. Punjabis apnay say agay ksis ko samjhatay hi naheen :frowning: but still they are very loving people, eh.

NAdia, yes I remember that post by you. I will post later what happened with one of my apt mates when she fell for this black american convert and her father in typical filmi style told her ’ over my deadbody’.

Armughal, so true. Its important that the two people are compatible. Its not easy being compatible with one of your own kind, imagine when the two are of different cultures.I would say it might be difficult but not impossible.
Irem thats interesting, eisay tow my dada jee’s ammi was African and my nana’s ammi was Turkish. BAqi manda uncles nay those who were from my fathers side also married Jews and christians and are I guess happy with their lives.

Roman :hehe: ab main kya boloon

FB, If I knew Bangla that well, do you think I will be sitting here? Ama Bhago Bangla fatafut. Although I don’t understand a word of it, I find Bangla to be the sweetest of languages. My Guruji is from Calcutta and when I visit his house, I can listen to him and his wife talk for hours. I have known many Bengalis in my life, and I have yet to meet an unpleasant Bengali. I can’t say the same for any other race or ethnicity.

Munawra... we only read the Title of your posts. Don't really have time to go into what is stated inside, because once you have seen one, you have seen them all. Jazakallah.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
FB, If I knew Bangla that well, do you think I will be sitting here? Ama Bhago Bangla fatafut. Although I don’t understand a word of it, I find Bangla to be the sweetest of languages. My Guruji is from Calcutta and when I visit his house, I can listen to him and his wife talk for hours. I have known many Bengalis in my life, and I have yet to meet an unpleasant Bengali. I can’t say the same for any other race or ethnicity.

very true. I grew up with Bengalis and still have lots of Bengali friends. They are one of the most progressive people in India. Very tolerant, they Love to eat, and very cultured.
Thoug I must say I have met few unpleasent ones. But then I met so many that that was bound to happen.

Bottomline,
Minerva can go for a Bengali.

The question is, would the Bengali uff vatewa else, marry you?

We don't have the best of press as Pakistanis.

Minerva: “Ahmedjee, tell me about it. Punjabis apnay say agay ksis ko samjhatay hi naheen :frowning: but still they are very loving people, eh.”

We Punjabis are a very generous, warm-hearted, happy-go-lucky lot indeed :k:

Good one hiccy!

Nadia —A Muslim from Jamaica. Oh how romantic.
:blush:

Na, i would stick with those close to our culture, pakistani,irani,afghani..
it would probably be hard to adjust with someone from a different culture.

my brother has married a girl from iran, and believe me, it is way too difficult for people to adjust....
u have to compromise on almost everything, and compromises never let a person feel comfortable....

bengalis, indians, pakistanis.. there all the same.. so why not :)

Nadz, that sounded so cute

Once upon a time a muslim bangali asked me indirectly if I want to marry him, I ignored him :o well I was not perpared to marry anyone else other than a pakistani ( I dont know why I feel like this and still do).

Bengali girls are very chikni. Beautiful skin.

I like Bengalis but find them too political. They still don't trust us. But one can't really blame them.

bas aap he ki kami thee :--)

I would love it if you can answer my original question, don't act like MAdholal. In the light of your experience ;--) you can enlighten us all.

Warm regards,

Minerva.

Felling warm...

Well, there is no simple and straight answer when it comes to marriage. Specially, for a girl. In our culture, men usually expect women to adapt to theirs. So, you will have to go out of your way to make them feel like you are at least trying to acclamate.

Now, if he happens to be in a foreign country, it might make things easier for you. It really all depends on the individual you are comitting to. It's not fair to reject him just because he speaks a different language and comes from a little different culture.

I hope I was as confusing as I am supposed to be. :p

:flower1: shukran aljazeran ya habibi

Forget marrying within your caste, culture, religion etc. All these limitations keep you from learning, finding out about your self. Pakistanis should marry arabs, they are very different from pakistanis adn even a different religion. ya habibi..al jazeera pani!

Minerva, I still don't understand. Why won't you marry a Bengali? What's wrong with them? May be it's not not his Bengali-ness and something else. Have you thought about that? How about other characteristics? Do you like his other qualities?

At work I’m constantly and forever and ever being coaxed into going out with men so that I can find myself a “decent fellow to settle down with” as per my colleagues but you know what? The ones they try setting me up with (despite my numerous failed attempts to get them to just forget the idea) are gorey aadmi! I don’t mind the white complexion but they’re Christians and that is a big no-no for me as I only want a Muslim for myself. The thing is, even though my colleagues know full well that I’m Muslim and want a Muslim man, they never quit trying to hook me up with the eligible guys they come across (who happen to not be of my faith, as I mentioned). I wish they’d just quit trying for good unless they can come up with someone Muslim (umm…and THAT I don’t think is about to happen in this Italian company, trust me!)

:bummer:

Roman, don’t try to ridicule poor Minerva’s situation. She must be in a tough spot. Let’s not forget that it is us Pakistanis who always belittle Bengalis. From early childhood, the word Bengali is synonym to someone inferior, stupid, and ugly. (Tauba Astaghfaar).

I am sure Minerva is trying to overcome those biases that she has been exposed to in Pakistan. It has nothing to do with family upbringing and good parenting but we learn those prejudices in schools and from freinds.

So, let’s not try to act naive and keep asking “what’s wrong with marrying a bengali”.

Minerva, you are in a tough spot and I pray to Allah :swt: to help you make the right decision. And to give Roman a Bengali wife too.