Married in one week in Pakistan! ABCD guy to “fob” girl. Worried but hopeful...

OK guys, I apologize if I am offending anyone by putting labels but it’s the easiest way to paint a black and white picture. I will attempt to add colors and make it 3-dimensional like the people we are.

Just a bit about me, I am a 28 yo guy born and raised in the US. Attended an ivy undergraduate and medical school now currently training in a highly competitive residency. In terms of my personality, I am a very open, compromising, easy going, not religious person with very American wealth building values. My parents came from Pakistan in the 80’s, mom never educated, and dad has a bachelor’s degree in engineering. They did not assimilate much, are religious, and still strictly adhere to the family values/customs.

I moved out of the house at 18 when I started college and haven’t really looked back. I come home here and there, whenever I can to visit my parents but really it’s only about a total of 4-6w/ year. While growing up however, I was always around my cousins and extended family, most of my time was spent at Islamic schools, so I learned a great deal about the culture/religion but most of it doesn’t appeal to me. I had a good time in college and all but given the failure of my parents to assimilate, my marriage has always been a big deal to them. About 7 years ago now, my folks said, “look, this is the girl you are marrying, talk to her.” I couldn’t break their heart because they’ve done everything for me so I did. We’ve been talking on and off, I’ve never met this girl because I’ve never had time to go back, and somehow I still agreed when recently asked about pursuing the marriage (mixed thoughts including family pressure, not sure if I was going ot find someone, been talking to her for a while now, etc.). So now the wedding is in a week and im flipping out because I am not sure how she is going to adjust and how we will do!

A little about her: She is 24, lives in Karachi, well off, family not well educated but still wealthy, she has a bcom from a gov’t school (says shes working on her mba, yet I will have my MBA before her) has never worked or driven a car. However, she is very open about change (of course she’s scared), speaks to me in English (because I don’t speak anything else—yes communication is difficult), states that she is willing to work and says she’s culturally tolerant. It’s obviously hard to gauge all of these things but the fact that she’s saying so, is as scared/worried about the relationship as I am, and wanting to make it work all seem like good signs.

What I am most worried about his how she is going to adjust to the lifestyle here. She is coming from a big joint family to be living in a home with just me and her (which is good bc it’s just us, last thing I want is my family there because I want her to adjust my way). Kid’s are on hold for atleast 2-3 years. She will be fine with the family, but I am concerned about how she will adjust with my friends and the culture in general. Most all of my friends are desi guys from here married to desi girls from here—it’s going to be very awkward and difficult for her. She will be lost and I am sure I will be frustrated.

I just wanted your thoughts on my situation. Do you know similar people in this boat? How have they adjusted?

Re: Married in one week in Pakistan! ABCD guy to “fob” girl. Worried but hopeful...

Dude..don't know how your and her family dynamic is..but seems it is going to be ok. Just be positive yo..don't judge or label her. I would say..fob women are easy to adjust. Again..no generalizing on my part. Best wishes to ya buddy!

Re: Married in one week in Pakistan! ABCD guy to “fob” girl. Worried but hopeful...

Sounds like you're not very enthusiastic about her. I'm not talking about her background, but her personally. If you could have said "no" after meeting/speaking to her the first few times, would you have done so?

Both my SILs married guys from back home despite them being raised here. However, they are both very traditional so Idk. But I know several people who have married people from back home and most work out. Some don't. It depends on both of you. If you think she will honestly try her best to adjust then go ahead with it. But I think you should be willing to compromise too. Don't expect her to change herself completely for you. If you like her the way she is, then marry her. Plus discuss everything before marriage so there are no surprises later on.

Are you sumairajaan's hasban?

I would say canadaa, but koi perverted twist nahin hai.

I would do yourself and her a favor and at least meet first before you get married.

Lol I was going to mention that his writing sounded strangely...bland...for someone educated from an Ivy League school. If they teach you anything at an artsy (read: non tech, non engineering) school it's how to spin some BS.

aray beta, marriage in one week and you are still in amreeka and bride in karachi? 0_o

Re: Married in one week in Pakistan! ABCD guy to “fob” girl. Worried but hopeful…

^ non stop service via PIA? :hmmm:

Re: Married in one week in Pakistan! ABCD guy to “fob” girl. Worried but hopeful…

I dont think so.He did not mention how extremely handsome he is…:hmmm:

Most all of my friends are desi guys from here married to desi girls from here—it’s going to be very awkward and difficult for her. She will be lost and I am sure I will be frustrated.

^What's so awkward and difficult about that? It's not like your wife-to-be doesn't understand or speak english..she does! so thats a plus. she can communicate with your friends and their wives. Pakistan isn't all that backward as you may think. She seems to be compromising and willing to work towards her new life in the states by stating she's willing to work. She is also doing her MBA which is great so she won't feel any less educated than the crowd you're in. Still though, I think you should see her and talk to her in person a few times before tying the knot. It'll help both of you feel more confident about this arranged marriage thing!

Xenaman, have you ever thought that maybe the girl is just using you to come to amreeka?

every year until she gets her green card..

Noooo!! :eek:

kya waaqi main aaisa hota hai? larkiaan itni taiz or chalak hain? tauba, tauba :nahi:

haaan khatti behen…suna nahin aap ne..yeh larikiyan inn becharey seedhey saadhey aamreki larkon ko shaadi ke chakkar mein phansa deti hain…aur phir amreeka jaa kar chotey chotey kaprom mein ghoomti hain aur gorey larkon se shaadi kar leti hain. tauba tauba tauba

Ok not so funny..I have actually read all the threads that have been referred to in this one thread…:frowning:

dude. which program are you in? residency or an MBA?

^^^ hahahahaa!!! Good catch!!!