Re: Married and Cooking....
I learned cooking from hubby and MIL after getting married. Still learning but I am getting better everyday.
i'm not married and i can cook desi dishes and recipies from books too.
my mum has made sure that i can do all of this stuff
thats my major problem....thats why i feel really hesitant to step in the kitchen....cuz i feel like there will be a comment coming up real soon...but i do bake and make desserts.
bellarie: Ur lucky in that sense.....i can make pasta and breakfast stuff. Its just the salan and roti's that I need help adding taste to. My mother in law is not bad at all...she is really nice....but i feel shy ask her to teach me to cook and she doesn't do much cooking anywayz cuz my jatani's do it. And when I was studying I tried on my own to make stuff...i made daal, keema muttar, and muttar chawal, rest of the dishes I made were american. But the thing is I never knew if what I made was right or to the desi standard....thats how I kinda lost confidence. And when I was in PK I used to make chicken salan and chanay and stuff....but she doesn't have much taste in her food....so I kinda don't feel confident in cooking.
Afro: I know cooking in PK is different than cooking here. Esp the roti's....I guess thats why I have been having trouble. At my cousins house she has the cheap kinda atta and my roti's never ever turned round or even soft and puffy for that matter....even my cousins roti's were never round although she has been using that atta for god knows when...:D
Ira: Was ur family ever supportive of ur cooking? Did they make comments? And the problem is my mom doesn't know how to teach very well. When I stand near her she tries to tell me what to do but then she loses her train of thought and messes up a little....cuz she gets confused of what she put in and what still needs to be added....so it makes it harder for me.
Raima: that is good....does ur hubby know how to cook many dishes?
sidz: that is how it should be u should be glad...i wish i would have thought of that earlier or my mom would have done that for us....she just spoils us too much.
Pyaari, my parents were very picky in the begining. My dad still is and would always complain if something wasnt upto his taste etc. My mom didnt really teach me either. I jsut watched her, or made my own mistakes. My younger sis also shared her trade secrets :D After a while Ammi saw i was improving so now if Abbu is being picky she takes my side :D
But, my siblings are always supportive. No matter how it turns out, they always say, baji this is very good and if not that, they dont atleast point out anything and always say thank you.
shan masalas:D
Cooking is pretty easy. I learned how to make roti in like 10 minutes. I don't make salaans because there are so many women in the house and they won't let me but that's not difficult either.
main tu apnee bv ko trained mila tha, so never noticed much if she can cook or not :)
and on serious note, my wife used to cook but everyday dishes nahi pakana aata the uss ko in the beginning. You ask for Biryani, Chicken Fried Rice, Sweet and Sour Chicken, Arabian Rice etc , she can do it but if you ask for DAAL or TAHARI, next min she is talking to her mother (LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG distance call) for the recipe :P
Kahir mujhey rooz marrah kee dishes pakana ateen theen so guzara acha hogaya :)
I tried cooking once, it was a disaster!
Never again.
lolzz..that is so true..i find refuge in shan/national masalas to0o..the only thing that i do to keep my dishes taste stereotype is to add little amount of fresh dry roasted and ground masalas which are already in the spice mix...i just check out the ingredients and eye ball little amount of all the spices..and it does make difference!
and my suggestion would be just to keep practising and experimenting with fo0d...it is really not difficult at all, trust me!you might add too little or too much salt or mirchenn first or your rice might turn out soggy once but the next time it would be better...so keep trying and don't give up..Go0d luck with your co0king!
Thanks for all the support guys i appreciate that....i wish ppl in PK knew how to do more of that than to just nag abt taste and looks of the food.
Shan Masala is helpful to taste I have used it a couple of times....bellarie my mom does the same...she grinds all her masala's and mixes it in the salan giving it good taste....
I just know how to make rotis and few types of salan but my husband knows how to cook more things and much much better than me - so I have no problems. How many Paki guys (non-chef) do you know who can cook food :)
Re: Married and Cooking…
Lol sara, ur always hacking on guys abt being mammas boys and therefore not ready for marriage etc.. But u make ur mummy do everything for u, so perhaps ur not ready for marriage either? :p
Ignorance is at its peak in these replies.
I was sitting with a white gori lady a few days ago. She cooks food for her husband although she herself doesn;t like to cook for herself. And the comment his American woman made was that I like to cook for my husband cause I know he likes it. She is 38 and she cooks food for her husband and look at thes ABCDs arrogant new deteriorated spoiled generation, which is trying to prove to be more modren than the “westerners” themselves… tsk tsk
You are an intelligent person, I can see that in your reply.
R u serious or r u just playing????
What do you think what am doing? Playing or serious? ![]()
^ Ok sorry…but Afridi made a sarcastic joke thats why i was just making sure urs wasn’t either :halo: …but thanks for the compliment ![]()