Ok so ladies how many of u knew how to cook before u were married??? And how many learned afterwards? How come ppl in PK think that just cuz u don’t know how to cook u won’t be able to take care of ur husband…and that once a woman gets a job then their husbands will be taking care of themselves??? Why are ppl so fast to make assumptions?
For those who learned how to cook how did u start off…i know some of it but its like i don’t know abt measurements…and if i have made chicken salan and stuff but I can’t make roti’s…I know if i practice it will take me less than a wk to learn. How do u girls build that self confidence to cook and be able to present it in front of others…no matter how it turned out…hoping for the better?
I know how to cook basic stuff, pasta, cup of noodles, boiling water, eggs etc lol. I know how to do it, i just don’t do it.. since i have Ammi to do it for me I know that won’t be the case forever though..its just a matter of getting used to… only thing i don’t know how to do is cook desi stufff, but i can always follow a recipe (more or less).. so umm for me its a combo of both..
Why do they assume u won’t take care of hubby? Coz those type of ppl r dumb and like to assume stupid things abt everyone
Pyaari...am still learning...several years into my marriage:)
Learning how to cook and loving it are two different things...some people seem to have natural ability to cater for 20 people at a minutes notice...others really struggle to feed one guest. Hang in there and try making simple and different things to keep your interest. Watch Food Channels!...Oh and of course rotis only come with practice. If you are working you need to keep things simple...for your sake esp if hubby does not now his way around the kitchen.
BTW are you with in-laws?....If yes, this throws my whole advice out of the window! and Good Luck!
stained: I know what ur saying…that he knows…but when ppl believe that westerners don’t really care for their husbands…kinda hurts…its not like i say to them that i don’t believe he can support me…u know what I mean?
Sara: I know how to do that much too…its the desi stuff i don’t know how to do. Also my mom has been doing it for me too thats why i don’t know much . Mashallah my mom does everything…i say it and its made.
canpaki: thats true…but after i finished studying and got my bachelors i got married…so i didn’t really get a chance to learn.
Afridi: not for long…
aly-sam: Ya i agree with u…like my bhabi she can whip any desi dish in like 15 mins tops…its really amazing. I wish I could be like her. All her sisters are like that too…its just they have the hands to cook…cuz their mom taught them to cook under all circumstances.
I knew how to cook a few dishes and lots of desserts before I was married, but I've gotten more practice since now I have to do it. For just the two of us cooking isn't bad at all, and I experiment with new recipes too, but in no means am I an Iron Chef. I'm still really shy when we invite people over, because I'm not sure if my cooking will be good enough. I don't know how to get over the shyness of having others eat my food!!!
my husband or mother-in-law never had any qualms about my knowledge of co0king…infact my mother in law taught their bahus ( she has three MASHALLAH) how to make rotis just like she does with her betian…so i am very fortunate in that sense ALLAHUMDULILLAH…By the way, i knew co0kin everything i like to eat ( i love experimenting with fo0d but have no much interest in rozana ka khana wali co0king)…and people do find this strange that i would co0k haleem, biryani,pulao, nihari, any kind of grilled or roasted chicken, desserts even when i am blind-folded but whenever i try to make sabzi, i burn it:bummer: …rotis never turn round and taste like a papar instead of soft chapati:mad:
[quote=aly-sam]
Pyaari…am still learning…several years into my marriage:)
Learning how to cook and loving it are two different things…some people seem to have natural ability to cater for 20 people at a minutes notice…others really struggle to feed one guest. Hang in there and try making simple and different things to keep your interest. Watch Food Channels!..Oh and of course rotis only come with practice. If you are working you need to keep things simple…for your sake esp if hubby does not now his way around the kitchen. BTW are you with in-laws?..If yes, this throws my whole advice out of the window! and Good Luck!
Man!!! Is getting go0d in-laws a sheer rarity and a true fortune or is it just BAHUS like to make their in-laws lo0k like EVIL WHO WOULD HAMMER THEIR HEADS IF THEY DO ANYTHING OUT OF IN-LAWS’ WILL…i don’t think so!..ALLAH ka shukar hai i have been very lucky that i have got amazing in-laws who treat their bahus just like they treat their daughters MASHALLAH…but are in-laws like mine really too rare to find? because i have rarely read somebody saying a go0d word about their in-laws in this GS… and still didn’t understand why is it the way it is:konfused:???
P.S. i don’t agree with anybody saying IF A GIRL HASN’T LEARNT COOKING, SHE WOULDN’T BE ABLE TO TAKE CARE OF HER HUSBAND…this is bullcrap…shadi is not just about co0king but way much more than that…plus, anybody can learn anything anytime in their lifetime IF they want to…BUT…i am partial towards girls should know how to co0k..at least the basic stuff…and i don’t buy the crap that OH I WAS STUDYING AND NEVER GOT TIME TO LEARN COOKING…i am studying as well ( doing Bachelors F/T) and have always been a f/t student…but i learned co0king on my own…my mom never had to teach me anything…you don’t have to go to a scho0l to learn co0king…it is something you learn by practice.
Pyaari, its all about practice. When i started off cooking, i was terrible with measurements but i got better with time. My family had to endure some bad days (less masala in salan or too much mirchi etc) but now Alhamdulillah i can just eye ball ingredients. My rotis are still not perfect. My Abbu ji is always asking me if i am ever going to make round rotis or not.
Roundness (or lack of) doesn't really affect the taste however it sets the tone (or anxiety) for rest of the meal. Poor eaters think, "is salan like that too -- irregular in taste"? Also, an irregular roti makes one kitchen/personal hygiene suspect. You never wondered why eaters of your irregular rotis stare at your nails?
Use a round making tool to make your rotis perfect. Use a sauce-pan lid or something to make them round. Shabaash.
I learned some cooking before marriage..but I was always into it, I liked experimenting and trying new recipes. Same here, I cooked even when I was a full time student, just because I got sick of desi food all the time so I learned to make food that I like. Remember practice makes perfect, and never be afraid to ask. I don't live with my in laws but I spent 2 months with them....and atta in paki is wayyy different then in US, its weird texture and i couldnt make a roti for my life. My MIL didnt want me to do anything since i was just visiting, but I hate sitting around twiddling my thumbs so I tired. She was really good in showing me how to do it in paki.
The only issue I had is adjusting cooking style a little. My family cooks eats a different way then that of hubby in terms of how to make food. So in the beginning I tried to tailor foods to suff hubby would eat, but now we both eat whatever.....since I cant really cook much so far into pregnancy :)
Whoever does not appreciate the fact that i take out the time to cook for them and want perfectly round rotis can make them themselves OR not eat rotis at all. Will save all of us some time and mental anguish.