Marriage...the right way?!

Re: Marriage…the right way?!

Firstly, I will be better able to answer that question once I am married inshallah, but I’ll give it a go here…

Subhanallah, Alhumdulillah & Allah hu Akbar, I am marrying into a family who are very simple/ modest (not the modern version) and broad minded. My MIL has always emphasised on talking about stuff, so i guess, as cliched as it sounds, communication is the key.

I am not going to walk into my marital home and demand that I want this, this and this! Everything has to be balanced well… I will give unconditional respect to the family and that will inshallah win thier hearts… ache ikhlaaq se sab ka dil badal ja ta hai. I guess my interpretation to cultural sensitivity is to not abruptly tell ppl what to/ not to do… and i will inshallah explain myself as best i can, but Inshallah I will not compromise on the little that i believe (no one is going to answer in my grave as to why i committed a sin)… i like the saying there is NO obedience to the created over the creator.

Respect is going to be given at all costs, if ppl want me to sit together in thier homes, then I will (i’m not gonna create a scene!), but I will also not take my abaya and scarf off no matter what they say!

For years, I have been going to paki, and when we were much yourger, ppl would scould me and my sis on being the only idiots at a wedding wearing a scarf, but I’d say “movie waala ghoom raha hai” and they’d look at us thinking what a bunch of freaks! but Subhanallah our parents raised us well, and our relentlessness paid off! they dont bug us anymore, and if someone else asks, they speak on our behalf lol.

I pray that this answers ur quesiton… but i think with experience, I will be better able to explain myself inshallah. May Allah SWT guide me, forgive me, and make me stronger in my faith, Amin.