Since there are so many overseas Pakistanis in this forum, I want to ask from them what do they think about people sending marriage proposals just for Visa or citizenship?
Has anyone here ever married to a person with this motive for marriage?
I have seen many people trying hard to marry a foreigner Pakistani and they keep on trying despite being rejected again and again.
I had a personal experience some time back. I live in Pakistan and someone in my community offered a rishta of a Pakistani girl living in USA to some bachelors including me. They didn’t even show the picture of the girl and many bachelors sent their proposals. Looking at the number of proposals coming, the girls parents realized why those people were so interested and they backed off.
Luckily I had not applied as I knew it was an obvious incompatibility to marry someone living in an entirely different world. So I was saved from the embarrassment
Just want to know what you people think of this marriage-for-visa thing and how many of you have experienced this.
Girls know this kind of thing happens and I can tell you, they don’t look too well upon it.
Having said that, I know a couple of girls that got married to guys who were clearly looking for a visa as evidenced by their behavior in the community. Some of those marriages fell apart. I know one boy who did settle down properly with his wife. I still think the guy is a kameena. He just doesn’t do it through womanizing anymore. He does it by playing tricks in his business and on business partners in the desi community.
It shows something about your character if you don’t want to go the honest way of immigrating and instead are just looking for shortcuts and willing to engage in any insincere marriage. But looks like there are plenty of girls willing to settle for someone making shortcuts, so good luck. :k:
My experience has been entirely different . So many girls want to get Pakistani nationality and its so hard to refuse to them , u know . I always tell them that its not ethical and classy to doray dalaying on some one just because of his nationality . Btw I do tell them that where Pakistani consulate is , and how they can get a temporary visa . But no I can never marry someone just for the reason that they can become Pakistani citizen . And I know whole Pakistani community must be proud of me . Pakistan Zindabad
Since there are so many overseas Pakistanis in this forum, I want to ask from them what do they think about people sending marriage proposals just for Visa or citizenship?
I have seen many people trying hard to marry a foreigner Pakistani and they keep on trying despite being rejected again and again.
I had a personal experience some time back. I live in Pakistan and someone in my community offered a rishta of a Pakistani girl living in USA to some bachelors including me. They didn't even show the picture of the girl and many bachelors sent their proposals. Looking at the number of proposals coming, the girls parents realized why those people were so interested and they backed off.
Luckily I had not applied as I knew it was an obvious incompatibility to marry someone living in an entirely different world. So I was saved from the embarrassment :)
Just want to know what you people think of this marriage-for-visa thing and how many of you have experienced this.
It still happens to girls. What exactly are you wanting to know? Personal experiences?
Its a cheap thing to do and people who marry girls for visas will get what they deserve.
I had a personal experience some time back. I live in Pakistan and someone in my community offered a rishta of a Pakistani girl living in USA to some bachelors including me. They didn't even show the picture of the girl and many bachelors sent their proposals. Looking at the number of proposals coming, the girls parents realized why those people were so interested and they backed off.
Luckily I had not applied as I knew it was an obvious incompatibility to marry someone living in an entirely different world. So I was saved from the embarrassment :)
it does not work. success ratio is 2:10 I guess
even if the couple enter a relationship with good intentions, it does not work out in many cases and in some cases family members ruin it for the couple.
If the guy's intentions are to only obtain a visa or citizenship then that's low. And it's sad that so many guys sent their proposals to that US national girl without even looking at her picture. They didn't care about her.
However, there are girls here who marry Pakistani citizens. They might be more traditional girls and want to marry someone from back home. But that shouldn't be taken advantage of. I don't think it's wrong if the two got to know one another, found each other compatible, and like one another. In this case, his primary motive isn't a green card. The guy is marrying the girl because he likes her and she just happens to be a US citizen. Such marriages have lasted. But the ones that I know of that were ONLY for the visa/citizenship... divorce.
For those guys who only want the green card... just find a job, get the work permit, go through the immigration process and marry a girl who you are truly compatible with- whether it's a girl who is an American, Pakistani, or whatever. It will be a longer immigration process but it's better in the long run.
The relationship may work out or it may not. More than the desire of one party to marry for green card/immigration reasons, it goes to the individual's sharafat. Does he/she respect and value their partner for more than their citizenship status and are they willing to make an effort in their relationship.
While the green card may have been the impetus to get married, qualities other than citizenship should also have been considered to assess compatibility. If they're not compatible and one of them enters the relationship knowing that - that tells me they're not marrying for companionship and love, but other reasons which when taken away (once green card is obtained), means there's no motivation to keep working at the relationship.
It still happens to girls. What exactly are you wanting to know? Personal experiences?
Its a cheap thing to do and people who marry girls for visas will get what they deserve.
If a girl knows that this is what shes getting into and those are his intentions, then who are we to judge or criticize.
sometimes the girl doesnt know that not only is that the primary reason but it is the only reason and then the guy finds it fun to come to the usa and beat her and leave her after he gets his green card and sometimes just separating (but not seeking) from her even before he has his green card...larrki ki zindagi yunhi barbaad ho jaati hai....agar woh larrka pakistan vapis bheyj bhi diya jaiye toh what sabt the girl who has been labelled a divorcee thru no real fault of her own except the fact that she was stupid and didnt see before that she was just being used as an opportunity and nothing else?
The guy in such a case just use a girl to get the visa or citizenship. It's like she is just a ladder which he uses to get what he wants. How unfair is it to the girl ! Marriage is a bond that should be made for companionship and to have a family. When someone marries another for visa the underlying neeyat for that shaadi is wrong so when the beginning/ start is wrong how will that marriage survive. Such marriages have poor foundation , its equal to the situation where someone marries a girl for jahez or money , there is no love or respect or sincerity involved and as a result marriage becomes hell for the one who is being used !
Jo cheez khud hasil karnay kay qabil nahi uskay liye kisi larki ka use karna.........this shows how much incapable and useless such men are that's why they take sahara of other people.
Those who marry (e.g. send for the rista based on the visa) in my opinion are low lives-like most politians these days. A lot of those who go after a rista for a visa can visualise a land of make belief where money grows on trees-they don't give a crap about the feelings of the other person.
I know a lady who got married in Pakistan, she's British and her mum really didn't want her to get married from Pakistan becuase she felt her daugters learning disability would open her up to abuse from in-laws who may not understand her issues. However her daughter went Pakistan with her dad, ristas started coming and her dad said yes to a young attractive dude, a darzi by trade who said he wasn't bothered by the ladies disability. He swore he would make her happy.
Fastforward 4 years, on the day his British passport came through he uttered three words: Talaq, talaq, talaq. Before the lady knew what was going on he was already in Pakistan marrying his childhood sweetheart. Turns out he'd always been in contact with her, and even sent her money.Creep. Men or women who can do this to another person should be hung.
well from what i've seen in my community, the girls who have good reputations, good education, a nice background can easily find rishtas already in america who don't need a green card. the girls who normally agree to marry a dude from pak usually are the ones who couldn't find a rishta here due to their reputations for having boyfriends, drinking, partying, or something else. soooo essentially the green card hubbys do get what they deserve by marrying the most unwanted girls in the community. essentially its a win-win situation because guy gets greencard girl gets a hubby. both are difficult objects to obtain these days :)
Girls don't ever marry a guy you need to sponsor!! The guy is only marrying you for your passport!!! If he is not, then ask him to apply for citizenship without the sponsorship!
I think paper marriage is a better option . First you know that you are not marrying him for the sake of marriage & Family . Plus you can make some money on the side . Mind you its not legal . But at least you know what you are getting into rather than being deceived .