marriage for females...isnt it a bit overrated?

since kids we’ve been hearing married ladies like our maamis and chaachis say stuff like “life before marriage was so much better” but with all this hype around shaadi in our culture u think, “really is it?” specially when u’re pulling an all nighter for a midterm or project or something u think if i was married i really would not be doing this at this hour :hehe:

i have seen some of my close friends get married recently and seriously after the initial period of excitement or whatever its just another routine…the only difference is ur responsibilities increase exponentially specially if u continue working and overall life just becomes more demanding and u have commitments to ur new relations which is a huge responsibility…and once you have kids then literally say goodbye to everything but running after the kids, its a 24/7 job! then the kids start going to school and that’s like one huge huge huge responsibility.

you’re answerable all the time and have something to do all the time, no free time. imagine a day managing everything. one needs to be totally physically and mentally present every single minute. not that they ever complain but looking at the halaat of my friendz and where they are heading my mindset which before was like marriage is cool is now totally motivated to focus on grad school than anything else coz like i reckon there’s no real point in getting married early one shud take their time araam se.

also…like when u’re not married it doesn’t really matter if ur room is not clean, if ur closet looks like a warzone, if u leave ur food plate on ur study table for the night, if u are not dressed real prim and proper, if u sleep at weird hours, go out with friends or cousins on spontaneous plans, waste the weekend on the net on gupshup, talk to a friend or cousin on the phone for two hours straight, watch tv at 2am, go out and have something by yrself that u like for dinner or a snack, spend ur money wherever u want, travel out of town, bla bla

i know this stuff is not so important or necessary to lead life…but it involves a change of mindset that one needs to make…which is not a big deal but its like you’re no mare the carefree wanderer…i and most of my slowly diminishing number of unmarried friends are so used to leading such completely erratic and crazy abnormal lifestyles, me even more so coz of my college stint in amreeka…and even now that i live with my parents they let me do whatever i want n never put any restrictions on me at all and im not even expected to do anything at all around the house like cook or clean etc…everything is automatically taken care of from clothes to food to cleaning bla bla that i’ve become a total lazy bum…and a totally spoilt demanding brat…if i’m angry i even take out my anger and throw all kinds of tantrums like i wana eat this and not eat this bla bla (my cousins reckon i’m making up for yrs that were spent away from parents in college lol)…my parents are extremely caring and r always there to take care and just give give give everything… after marriage its like YOU are the one who has to take up the role of the caretaker and your parents and siblings are not going to be there to cushion you. your hubby will be there but still you’ll have to be independent emotionally in many many ways…

yeah everything comes with time, necessity is the mother of invention, where there’s a will there’s a way etc etc…but still! i really feel like females in their early and mid twenties need to focus on their careers and social lives and just enjoy their present than get fixated on the marriage issue…thats actually quite unhealthy…coz eventually most of us are going to get married anyway and these really are the last few golden years of our lives…we’re so gonna look back at these times with nostalgia…

true that after marriage your life is going to take a settled direction, you’ll have someone to share everything with & all that and with responsibility comes satisfaction (btw is this what they say to cheer up overworked married females coz sometimes i think its jus one of those dialogz :hehe:)

but at the end of the day its just…more responsbility…or atleast thats what it seems…

Re: marriage for females…isnt it a bit overrated?

Wait for the long-term married girls to come in here and kick your butt… :devil:

Re: marriage for females...isnt it a bit overrated?

hawww.... !!! dekhoh tohh!!!
ms sharam karo kuch toh :p har girly thread mein tumhari entry zaroori hoti hae kya :p
tum apna naam badal k na mad scientistNI rakh lo boht jachay ga :D

waise btw thread mein aa hi chukay ho toh kuch arz bhee farmaa do aqal-o-fehm kee baatein??? :halo: tum se tawaqqo toh nai aqalmandi kee lekin phir bhee :smiley:

ufff … I’m just in touch with my feminine side, that’s all :snooty:

take my advice: mard hazraat ko apni FEMININE SIDE dhak k hi rakhni chahiye :stuck_out_tongue:

ab kuch topic se related bhee bol do :halo:

[btw im just kidding with u, u're one of the few guppies i really enjoy pulling legs of :D dont take it seriously :p]

how is life btw in TO?

Ok, fine. Marriage apparently makes you feel complete as a person in a way that no analysis by us single shareef folk can explain.

Ask those friends who you cite as examples if they wish they didn’t get married and I bet over 3/4 of them will have no regrets. The remaining 25% will have married jerks.

Having made my earlier point, you’re totally correct here. Marriage isn’t something that people, especially girls, should ever be rushed into early on. I hold my dadi as the example … even back in 1940s India, she held off getting married until she’d completed grad school and gotten her Masters. She then made sure the same happened for her daughters, my phuppis. No marriage till grad school completed and masters achieved.

Hehe- on a side note, the problem I have is my mother trying to apply the “No marriage till grad school completed” rule to me, but I have no plans for grad school … It’s a battle of wills to see who caves in first :smiley:

I only have 2 legs so don’t pull too many off :mad:

Life in TO is good … this place is cute, and best of all not populated with Amreekans :hula:

may be you misunderstood being a kid :bummer:

may be they have been quoting their husbands :silly:

Irem it all depends on what you really want in life, I've been this ace all through college and school and even now the job I got was offered to me twice before, am i where I want to be in terms of my career..yep you bet, I know in a few years tme I'll be doing my PhD and then I'l be a Prof.

Never wanted to be a big time sucessful business woman, making lots of money, that just wouldn't make me happy, a family would though, and a career as an academic as well, and it;s somehting I can easily handle with having a family.

People have always told me how "rich and sucessful" Id be, coz I was so "smart" but the lil thngs in life make me happy, I love sitting in on the weekends and cooking for my family, tidying up the house and redocarting my room. I like writing up lil notes for my bro and mom just so they knwo I care, I like the thought of loving people and having a happy home and still being able to go out and have a career.

I'm not sayign career isn't important, I'm just saying it has different levels of importance to everyone. It'll always be something I want to have (coz I def don't want to become a frustrated housewife) but family will always be my first priority, I don't feel satisfied if I'm not showering my love on someone.

If I am not fortunate enough to get married then I'll go off and do social work, feed the hungry and teach underpriveleged kids or something. I need to be with people, loving them, caring about them, else living a life of me me and I I isn't very satisfying.

ms :hehe: evil :stuck_out_tongue: come on ms, be a good boy and listen to your mom :smiley:

anyways, obviously no one is gona say they regret getting married, coz thats like an insult to your spouse and u’re not gona do that…so its not like ppl REGRET it…

my point is why this unnecessary fixation on it…its gona happen with time…why all this mad rush … nomsayin? :smiley:

no way i thought u had 4? :halo:

yeah i heard lots of desis in TO yeah? thas kewl!

Irem assuming that marrige will defiently happen isn;t such a good thing either, I've looked at the possibility of not getting married, and it could easily happen coz I'm not perfect.

Sometimes having dreams and workign on them is the way to go.

AQ - nai ji they were presenting their own opinion :p

LK - hmmm...yea all thats totally true man, i get u on that
its just that there's no need to WORRY abt or RUSH into marriage imho for girls like its done...you know parents start worrying abt their daughters since she hits 20, k she's not married...im talkin abt that attitude basically...i find that unhealthy

Irem, yeh I know what you mean, I wish they'd let things flow naturally so we can all find our paths in the world.

hmmm yea LK but our parents are there to take care of that stuff, why shud we worry abt it

Yeah well teh fact that they'll get you married doesn;t ensure your happiness and satisfaction now does it?

To be married is one thing, to be happily married is another.

hmmm…i’ve seen some folks give their daughter’s hand to any proposal that comes along just so she can be married off…i think thats wrong…

yup totally :slight_smile:

.. I wonder how would you feel about a grl who is married but still pulling an all nighter on a friday nite to study for an exam that is on monday.. do I deserve double sympathy for that?

Also, I should mention before marriage it was only my mom telling me to study well and do good in my exams but now even my husband would tell me, “you have to do well” and I will be like, “bas aik tumhari hi kami reh gaye thi” :smiley:

Even though, I am not tooo much in responsibilities until now but I can so imagine the things that you are talking about but hey it comes in a package.. also, they say, shadi aisa lado jo khaye woh pachtaye jo na khaye woh pachtaye.. at the end of the day the feeling that someone is yours and is loving n caring just takes away any negative feelings that are part of the married life nonetheless.