Marriage Events??

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone on here has ever tried out these marriage events for single muslims? If so, what are your thoughts on them? Please share.

P.S. Heard there was a single muslims event in manchester, did anyone go?

Re: Marriage Events??

There's a girl on my Facebook who arranges them tho I've never been. I think it's a good idea, why limit urself when there's a whole world of potentials out there.. Having said that I don't like the idea of those Muslim 'Pakistanis only', 'Punjabis only' or 'converts only' or whatever type things, I think it kinda sends out the wrong message.. If those taking part have such a strong preference they can decide on the day rather than just exclude whole swathes of people from attending.. Can u imagine if a person ever set up a 'whites only' marriage event..

Yeah it does seem like a good idea, and your right these events should cater for everyone and leave it down to the individuals to decide what they are looking for.

So do you know anyone that has attended?

I know one couple who got married off an ISNA event

Really thats good to hear, would like to know if any guppies have checked these events out and what they have thought of them...

When is ISNA happening this year? I need to go.

I got an email for a muslim marriage event (Jama’ah Events) in Manchester… i don’t know how they got my email address… and anyway, i’m already married!

I may go to one next time, just to see what goes on there… :hmmm:

@ Maroush, when you go let us know how it goes. Interested to know what its all about...

hey check this out…I posted my experience at one of the events I attended last year

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-relationships/362252-my-experience-isna-matrimonial-event-last-year.html

^^Thanks for sharing your experience, very interesting. But not sure if these events are really any good one of finding your future partner.

I dont think they are ...frankly

Do ppl usually take a parent/guardian along to these desi events, go alone or get a mate to tag along? I reckon it would be quite good fun if a group of girls went together (must be daunting having to introduce urself to all those new ppl/potential life partners) but then again they may all end up fancying the same lad lol

ohh yaar to be honest merey khayal sey i would be very uncomfortable to go to an event like that specially if i was to talk to a girl in front of mine and her parents as well, mera to khayal hai key GS pey hee ek matrimonial forum kholdena chahiye !!.

usually parents and guardians go with...but they dont sit at the tables wih you they are made to sit at the back of the conference hall and watch from afar as their kids go to various tables...so your parents cant hear what you are talking about with other ppl but its uncomfortable just the same because there are 4 other ppl that are at the table apart from yourself and the person you're talking to

does anyone know if there are any in IL specifically chicago?