Marriage and the Field

I am currently in Darfur. Certainly not a family duty station. Also no matter how much I complain about the hardships here - no water, no power/electrcity, no entertainment (no tv and such) and working 7 days out of the week for 6 weeks straight - I do actually enjoy the work I am doing. I am helping people at the end of the day and that is rewarding in of itself.

The concern is I would like to do this regularly. Be based out of New York or Geneva and head to the field 6 months to a year out of every 3 years. Sitting behind a desk and reading reports is not my kind of thing. So I am once again asking the opinion of our very average and very definition of desi females to see if they would be willing to put up with my “plans”?

PS. I got the very average and desi part right, right?

first of all, thumbs up to you for doin somethin as noble as u r doin. secondly, please dun mind, since u asked us to give our opinion, i m doin that. i wudnt like to marry a guy like you or anyone from army, navy, showbiz etc cus the workin hours are just crazy... plus i cant imagine getting married to a guy who spends days and months away from me. whats the point of gettin married when i have to spend time by myself?? but thaz just me. i believe in destiny and think u mite just find your soulmate, someone who understands ur commitment to humantarian work and is ready to make sacrifices. till then, hang in there :)

Re: Marriage and the Field

Islamically, if your wife has no problems staying away from you for 6+ months, then it's allowed. She has to okay it though. As for me, I don't think I can take the doorie! It's just SUCH a long time - 6 months to a year. And then once you get back, she gets used to you and then off you go again in a couple years. Someone might be okay with it for the first couple times but every three years, I think it'll get really tough.

Plus, you can get sick in Africa and something serious might happen to you - your wife will be worried sick about your well being. That's unnecessary stress for her.

CM, me + you + field = playing

Now you are just teasing me!

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! gud one :rotfl:

You two make a good couple, CW can do her diplomatic mission around the world and CM can do his UN mission in the fields around the world and then meet up once a year :D

hahaha! not to forget their nicks are same except for the second alphabet! :D

lol even that is matching, just turn around M and you get W! :D
wah wah kya baat hai

OH MY GOD… i m gonna faint laughing!!! :omg: u 2 guys should DEFINTELY meet up! :smiley:

I will tell you a secret....but only if you are nice.....

i m nice… koi shak! :snooty: cmon… shoot!!

Oh not so fast. Its a secret and secrets aren't just given out so easily...

hmph!!! dun take tooooo long! :snooty:

Right I got nothing to continue this....so the secret.

Me and kitty kat here are family friends

woh sab toh theek hia... behan bhai toh nahi ho na?? :D

Aie....I certainly hope not or else I am in trouble!

I wudn't want my "partner" away from me for so long =(

acha jee… baat YAHAN tak pohanch gayi hia… kab formally … ahem ahem… hoga… yaar wohi!!? :wink: