Marriage and education

What do you guys think about someone who refused a marriage proposal just because the guy didn’t have a masters degree.

Re: Marriage and education

Ridiculous

Did the girl herself have a master's degree?

Yap i got turned down by ex girlfriend's dad coz i didnt have masters degree. And she didnt even have bach or associate degree. Tell me about it..

personal choices are personal choices.

beyond that obviously there are going to be different types of concerns based on earning potential and standing of a degree in the country/community

an undergrad in a technology discipline from Stanford in US is different than BA home economics from khatoon e pakistan college or BCom from Allama Iqbal college, or BA in liberal arts from podunk city college in backwaterville USA

Ask for it if you got one yourself. If not, GTFOH!

One lady I know who has an MBA from a top US school only wants a husband who went to a top school. Doesn't matter that she is divorced and 46 years old.

^wow..

Sometimes I feel as if the Pakistani community as a whole does not care about well mannered people. Its about superficial status parade. The person in question is in the process of getting their masters degree. But the thing that bothers me is that the rishta was refused right off the bat only because there wasn't a masters degree. The other person in question also has a stable job and makes a decent salary but the very first requirement was a masters degree.

I wonder what happened to the people who actually looked at the humanistic qualities of a person rather than their bank statements. She is willing to marry anyone or give a chance to anyone if they have a masters degree, even that person be a complete psychopath. Sickens me to the core that people don't respect love anymore. Love is a term thrown around these days. People used to say "its only found in books" they were 100% correct. Today people practice is selfish love, they love the skin which covers the hideous bones and muscle. This is how deep our love goes...

I have completely given up hope that there is anyone out there that geniunely loves a person for who they really are. I think its the society that we live in, it has made us that way. Glamor on TV and renunciation of religion and morals have degraded us to superficial beings. We want to construct castles empty and hollow just so we can stuff it with materialistic things but we're willing to live inside those empty castles without love and care because we have stopped caring for ourselves and start caring for what others think of us.

It boggles my mind that people who don't have a masters degree don't even have the right to an audience with ones parents, what kind of shallow pathetic people are these that only look at ones mere educational level to judge their character with. What pathetic people indeed.

I'm not looking at degrees much, or current earnings, and at this point citizenship status is also out the window too. :) There is hope. I believe in looking at their character first.

But if you base it on that, that pretty much eliminates most of the desi crowd, sadly.

Just two days ago:
Friend: You have high standards
Me: ALL I'M LOOKING FOR IS A GOOD HUMAN BEING WITH CHARACTER
Friend: Yeah, you have high standards.

Urgh.

Its like a business transaction these days. Speaking from experience, best response is to give them a finger (figuratively) by working harder and moving onto next one.:)

If you're not going to let your daughter or son talk to their potential much (if at all) it's not going to be about personality, is it?

When looking for a match without knowing the person it's no wonder ppl just look at what's on paper.. not that that makes it right of course..

Marriage and education

I just find it odd how nowdays families like to swap Resumes!! My friend a rishta aunty emailed her mum one and asked for hers in return. Lol what happened to the good old lets just meet face to face.

Granted not all sucessful people have degrees. My husvand doesnt and he works in an engineering firm and has worked his way up. And earns well mashallah. I have a degree and working but earn less then him! Just depends on your personal choice

^The info on a resume isn't that different from what ppl put on online dating profiles or even keep with a matchmaker tho, is it?

As a starting point I don't think they're such a bad idea.. I never went thru the arranged marriage process but I know if I did I'd have wanted to know something about the guy before I met him and as shallow as it might sound I'd prob want a pic as well.. I've never been into blind dates so the idea of a 'blind' tea trolley meeting wouldn't have been my idea of fun.. I like the way some ppl also add a bit about their likes, what they spend their free time doing and so on.. Again, I'd have felt better knowing a little bit like that than sitting awkwardly with a stranger about whom I knew basically nothing.. From something like a resume you can get an idea of the sort of person they are and that too from their** own** words, not from just what their parents or your parents have said..

As a guy..i tell you i have been asked to give my professional profile..which i don't mind coz...i would wanted as well from a guy..if it would be my sister. And at one point uncle ji asked..how much i earn...but intead of directly saying i earn so and so..i just give them range.
And i don't have professional degree too..but have worked my way through. But..at the same ill be doing professional designation in my field..which will take me 2 years to complete..through part time. And this designation is accepted in US, and UK as well..

1. Funny lady Ellen DeGeneres dropped out of the University of New Orleans after just one semester. Guess she got the last laugh after all.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr03/2013/6/19/10/grid-cell-29593-1371651046-46.jpg

Kevin Winter / Getty Images

2. Mark Zuckerberg left Harvard to invent that site you spend way too much time on.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-6507-1371592015-17.jpg

1. Media mogul Russell Simmons dropped out of Manhattan City College just shy of finishing his sociology degree.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-24634-1371664964-21.jpg

Chad Buchanan / Getty Images

4. Brad Pitt was set to be a JOURNALIST when he dropped out of the University of Missouri two weeks before graduation.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-26689-1371592040-0.jpg

Jason Merritt / Getty Images

5. Ted Turner,  the creator of the 24-hour news cycle, was expelled from Brown  University after he was caught with a girl in his room. GASP!

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr01/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-3259-1371664995-1.jpg

Chip Somodevilla / Getty Images

6. Fierce songstress Natasha Bedingfield withdrew from the University of Greenwich after a year to focus on singing. Good choice.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr05/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-20233-1371592058-0.jpg

Rick Diamond / Getty Images

7. Steve Jobs dropped out of Reed College to become the father of all things Apple.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr01/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-11942-1371592093-0.jpg

Justin Sullivan / Getty Images

*Fun fact:* Before Jobs left  Reed College, he took a calligraphy class that later inspired him to  include a wide range of fonts (vs. one standard text) on the first Macs.  Thus, one could argue computers have fonts because of Steve Jobs.

8. OOOOPPPPPPPRRRRAAAAAAAAH dropped out of Tennessee State University and seems to be doing all right.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr05/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-19746-1371592105-0.jpg

Fredrick M. Brown / Getty Images

9. Bill Gates dropped out of Harvard to pursue his love of poetry. Just kidding, he founded Microsoft.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-7918-1371592113-21.jpg

1. F. Scott Fitzgerald left Princeton University because of poor grades.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-6493-1371592125-37.jpg

Hulton Archive / Getty Images

11. Whole Foods  CEO John Mackey dropped out of the University of Texas after seven  years… It was probably time to leave at that point.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/19/10/grid-cell-15015-1371653346-39.jpg

Mark Wilson / Getty Images

12. John Mayer dropped out of Berklee College of Music, only to come back later and major in sex appeal.*

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-26285-1371665075-7.jpg

Ethan Miller / Getty Images

*Fine, you got me — he didn’t actually major in sex appeal, but he might as well have.

13. Before YOLO, there was POLO. Ralph Lauren left Baruch College after two semesters to serve in the U.S. Army.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-6493-1371592228-38.jpg

Peter Michael Dills / Getty Images

*Fun fact:* Lauren never actually attended fashion school.

14. Lady Gaga dropped out of NYU after her freshman year, probably because she was busy plotting her world takeover.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-24336-1371592238-2.jpg

Dimitrios Kambouris / Getty Images

15. John Lennon was expelled from Liverpool College, so he joined a band.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr01/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-12592-1371592246-7.jpg

1. Jim Carrey dropped out of high school at just 16. Alllrighty then!

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-24077-1371665203-23.jpg

17. After failing every subject except English, Al Pacino dropped out of his New York high school to pursue acting.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/19/10/grid-cell-14973-1371651080-3.jpg

Fernando Leon / Getty Images

18. Wolfgang Puck quit school at the ripe young age of 14 to become a cooking apprentice at a hotel.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-6576-1371592261-27.jpg

Jason Merritt / Getty Images

19. Walt Disney dropped out of high school at 16, joined the Red Cross, and left for Europe.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-25528-1371592283-10.jpg

20. Tom Hanks left Sacramento State to intern full time at the Great Lakes Theater Festival. You can’t make that stuff up.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr03/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-15194-1371665271-2.jpg

Pascal Le Segretain / Getty Images

21. Abraham Lincoln left school at 12 to help his family farm, and then he became THE PRESIDENT.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr06/2013/6/19/14/grid-cell-21040-1371665287-20.jpg

National Archives

22. Tumblr  kajillionaire David Karp dropped out of high school at 14 because his  mom suggested he should focus on computers. Life lesson: LISTEN TO YOUR  MOTHER.

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr02/2013/6/19/10/grid-cell-14968-1371651092-2.jpg

Nadine Rupp / Getty Images

23. Coco Chanel left school at 18 to become one of the world’s most famous fashion designers. Ooh là là!

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/enhanced/webdr01/2013/6/18/17/grid-cell-10713-1371592319-10.jpg

lol i have a teensy little problem with people who quote “oh alan sugar didn’t go to school but he’s soooo successful” there is probably a 0.0001% chance that the person you’re about to seek out as a potential rishta will be the next alan sugar or bill gates etc lets be realistic. so chances are people who have that preference will want someone with a recognised qualification. as stated above, if the person has a master’s and wants someone with a master’s too then it makes sense. i think most people are okay with just a bachelors but it comes down to personal preference. again, qualification > personality then that’s all about preference too just be ready to deal with a lot of crap if it comes to it.

:D right on.

just don't understand the concept of scoring a rich husband. why are women not raised to think that they need to be able to provide for themselves and be financially independent? imagine how our outlook towards rishtas and marriages would change if women were secure financially and weren't looking to bag a rich/well-off guy.

Marriage and education

Stupidity !!

Marriage and education

But see education is too v important because it opens your mind but a MASTERS degree must not be a hard and fast rule ..And what i beleive a life would be easier if both are educated than one total NIKAMMMA lol marrying a girl who is doctor or something..And yeah to be honest i would love to marry someone who would be a doc ;) haha because i wish to be a doc myself and he must be a cool educated man..btw everybody have their own preferences :)