marketing/sales advise to tableeghi jammat types

Free sales advise for tableeghis, also applies to door to door salespeople.

The probability that I will open the door let alone even talk to you decreases with the number of people at my front door and the number of times you ring the doorbell in the first 60 seconds.

I mean look you want to impart some knowledge, send me an invitation, or call me, ask me to come over to watch a bulls game, have some chip n dip, chat and share stuff. relate to me, connect with me and I may be a better audience.

An unannounced gang of 8, showing up at odd hours, decked out in traditional cultural garb ringing my doorbell again and again. I swear one thought he was to doorbell what Eddie Van Helen is to guitar. That is not going to get a response from me.

you kinda lost me at the just showing up unannounced bit.

PS: okay chip n dip and invitation and all can be a stretch for you lot, but at minimum you can show up unannounced but with some biryani and halwa.

PS2: yum

Re: marketing/sales advise to tableeghi jammat types

Maybe look at it differently, these people are going out of their way to try and reach out to people for the sake of Allah. It's not like they're being paid to go around asking people to come to the masjid. Whenever people come to our house, my Dad always says that it's a blessing because Allah has sent them to you to invite you towards goods. Also, people actually do benefit from these guys and accept their invitation to the masjid or jamaat. I don't think these people expect you to invite them in to sit, I assume they only want to chat for a bit.

As far as the announced part goes, I can't comment on that.

I have no issues with intentions, and I will even say fine you show up unannounced, i get other unexpected ppl, door to door sales, jehovahs witnesses etc, but majority of time if I am not expecting anyone and doorbell rings I dont even bother, if it is someone I know they will just call and say dude we are standing outside. so I am not discriminating, I just dont answer the door in general.

Now so okay thats how they do their business, if they want to chat just for a few minutes, drop me a letter, after all they know my address :D

but lets just say no they are just at my door so if they ring the doorbell once and there is no answer, maybe wait and then ring once more and then go away. The current gang showing up presses the door bell again and again. they have showed up when my wife has been alone, when the kids have fallen asleep, and when I am on a work call. The time they came when i was free I talked to them, but that was kinda funny because it was three kids telling me about this home where they get together for ishaa, maybe it was their training run because aside from the 3 kids no one else got out of the Van-full-of-Pakistan. Last time they showed up, I had returned from 2 weeks of crazy travel, fallen sick and was at home alone trying to sleep, but eddie van helen of the doorbell fame annoyed me so much that I wanted to open the door and give them a piece of my mind.

That is my bigger issue, they just wont go away..they stalk you for like 5 minutes. with eddie van helen of doorbell fame, returning for a string of encore performances every 20 seconds.

you guys basically have a problem with Islam so you need some spiritual checkup and Tableeghis are doing a great Job they will keep doing and they have seen lot of people like but they are still doing their work

ji bilkul baja irshad kiya aap nay.
accha khuda hafiz.

PS: I thought the tableeghi jamaat thekay daar of islam would know the islamic etiquette of visiting someone, or do i need to school the fools :)

PS2: you know the islamic etiquette for visiting someone dont you?

sir they know very well about the manner but if you chose timing which are not mentioned In Quran and Sunnah for your sleep than its your fault

quran and sunnah does not prescribe times for rest when one is sick, and technically you had no clue what time I was resting when they showed up. after isha is okay by all islamic rules i suppose, unless a new version has come out recently

not sure what time slots are noted in your version of quran for babies to sleep in, because they kinda sleep quite a bit, buncha lazy bums and in past similar characters have shown up when the kids were asleep.

sunnah also tells people announce presence 3 times, mr eddie van helen of doorbell obviously forgot that or they did not cover that in his brainwashing err i mean training ;)

I mean as I said bring some halwa and biryani and you got my attention, I am just trying to help them. they really need to take advantage of digital age and just email me instead, maybe send me a friend request on facebook or start following me on twitter and I may follow back. just trying to be helpful.

first time is mentioned in Quran and Sunnah second thing is the mostly do not go to homes after ISHA I have never seen them doing this they mostly go after Asr second thing Digital age does not have that imapct which a direct talk can have

bhai jan, they may have come to my house after asar, but I am usually at work then so I dont know. I know when they have come after isha, on 2 occassions.

next time they show up I will make a video with time & day stamp, I will even ask to see their watches and record the time on their watch as proof of time they showed up :)

agreed in person discussion is more impactful than communication via digital means, but communication via digital means is definitely more impactful than no interaction. And if they are showing up after asar at my door, then I guess they are just burning dinosaur juice. Maybe they should leave a note that hey we came by, you were not around, please give us a call. I think that would be a fantastic thing for them to do.

after Isha they should avoid it

I also highly recommend that they leave a brochure with contact info - again free advise
this way if someone is not home or unable to answer the door at that moment, atleast he knows who came, why they came, how to contact them. Otherwise the only time they could have any contact with the person is the next time they show up and he is around.

dont get dismayed by my tone earlier, I am constantly like that, but the points that I am making are valid points.

Look even most companies that did door to door sales moved away from it, and it was for a reason, better reach using media and mail etc. they really should be diversifying their contact strategy and maybe use some contact mgmt software, that would help, so would route planning tools. You may think I jest but there is a point to this..

I mean even the muslim association I work with here sends announcements by email and by phone broadcasts with recorded msgs, and using that approach we have a vibrant sunday islamic school for kids and a weekly tafsir program for adults. there is a newsletter, an email list/group, a wesbsite, and a facebook group. we have event calendars, volunteer teams, free clinics, free financial advise, free legal advise...etc etc

It makes no sense for groups to not use all these tools available to them, because if they are honest in their mission they will adapt, because its the mission that is important and not methods of contact (those I consider outdated & ineffective compared to other methods)

piling in a van and showing up at random houses at random times may work but there has to be more effective or atleast supplemental methods.

as for myself, bring me good biryani and I will even listen to country western music with you, and if anyone knows me, I hate country western music

sir understand their style than talk many of your points are really very funny for me

Mr. Zarvan Ali please stop shoving and pushing religion as if it's your child to defend. Relax, no one is discriminating against Islam/Quran

I can understand the "stalking" part, more then a few people have complained about that in regards of jamaati people coming to your door and insisiting you go out. I mean I am not at all against the idea of going out in jamaat because I know it's beneficial but people can't be forced into doing these things.

As far as Islam goes - you knock three times, no answer - you leave.

I am Muslim and Islam is every thing for me and I will fight for it I do not need any ones permission to fight for Islam and for your last sentence that exactly what Jamat do

@X2.......besides the rest of the issue.......i know one thing.........they have their 'naiki' register......the more walking 'steps' they take.......and the more people they manage to get into the meet.......the more their 'naiki' counter runs..........thats why they prefer this............

since the naiki register doesn't count email, sms, twitter, facebook etc.........once that is incoporated at teh back end of the naiki register.......u will see that happening..

PS...I really respect what Tableeghi jamaat do.......but i have a few issues which make me stay away from them....

one......this stalking/forcing people
two......making people leave their families for extended periods of time

i remember going upto a tablighi guy knocking on my door and asking him if 'I' was in, pretending to have some business with me, knocking with him, sharing frustrated looks with him.

a friend of mine once went out of a window because a tablighi saw him enter his room and followed.

its like a horror movie.

first how did they forced people second thing is you can leave your family for you studies but you cant leave your families for preaching Islam awesome

u really think i am going to bother replying to you?? :hehe:

Someone I know got fed up and presented himself stark naked at his dorms room when they came knocking. Never to be bothered again.

Not fair. Why did Zarvan Ali get banned? I was just beginning to enjoy it :(