Can someone please shed some light on this practice?
Re: "Mannat" in Islam
Peace Muzna,
I think "Mannat" is 'thanks giving" in short or long terms. Example: I pray to Almighty Allah that if I learned the "Quran" than i will teach others 'free of cost' to my rest of life ----or---- to the number of students for so and so periods.
Or
I will fast (nafli roza) for few days/week or month(s)
Or every day/weekend i'll give some amount in 'charity' etc., etc.,
Mannat is promising a deed in return of a request being fulfilled. For mannat to be Jaa'ez (legal in shariah) it needs to fulfill these conditions.
- The request, and promise in return, should be made to Allah (not to any buzurg at his mazaar).
- The request should be Jaa'ez. (e.g. cant ask for someone's death)
- The promise in return should be a Jaa'ez one (cant promise mujra in return :D)
Mannat is promising a deed in return of a request being fulfilled. For mannat to be Jaa'ez (legal in shariah) it needs to fulfill these conditions.
- The request, and promise in return, should be made to Allah (not to any buzurg at his mazaar).
- The request should be Jaa'ez. (e.g. cant ask for someone's death)
- The promise in return should be a Jaa'ez one (*cant promise mujra in return *:D)
mujre ki yaad bari jaldi ayi apko..........:D
See, hamaray mazaaron main kya hota hai aaj kal. Mannat, Qawwali, Mujra and all the things that islam does not allow
Re: “Mannat” in Islam
for your info:
Although making mannat with Allah (SWT) is allowed it is however a kind of futile exercise and one which may be suited for a person who is from the awam rather than from the awliya.
The fundamentals of mannat sidestep certain key understandings of Islamic Tawheed ... That Allah (SWT) is in need of nothing and we are in need of Him ...
The way a mannat is often phrased is with a view that can suggest that we give to Allah (SWT) in return for fulfilling something that we need. The concern being that we can dupe ourselves into the suggestion that Allah (SWT) benefits from our end of the bargain. However, the permissibility is that we can be sure that Allah (SWT) Wills the best for us. Often a mannat can be better phrased if indeed the beneficiary is other than oneself. For example, Sayyiduna Muhammad (SAW) is the best human ... but his (SAW)'s most heartfelt du'a was for our benefit - his (SAW)'s ummah.
Consider a King ... He has a subject who says that he will fly the kings flags on his roof if he gets $500 for building a chicken run, on the other side there is a slave or servant to the King and as he listens to this subject he remains silent. The King may give the servant nothing or he may give the servant many things ... The servant is simply happy to be living in the King's castle ... The way to get closer to the King is to become more and more like a slave ... Although the subject who strikes the condition with his King gets what he set out to get ... so did the slave ... The subject sought the "bounties" of the King and the slave sought the "King" himself ...
Likewise ... it is a higher and much harder state to desire a proximity to Allah (SWT) for His sake ... out of love and slavehood, than it is to merely ask Allah (SWT) to fulfil your requests ... And of course one can make a du'a with Allah (SWT) with no "deal" ... one can also make a du'a with the deal in place and one may merely accept his position and revel in that ... seeking Allah (SWT) to help others and obtain His forgiveness.
So it follows that a good mannat to place would be that condition that will make us more like a true slave ... That
***Oh, Allah (SWT) if you grant this ease for me, it will make it easier for me to reach this goal and I shall not reach this goal if you do not give me tawfiq of it. So grant me this ease so that I can become a better servant to you.
***And on fulfilment the promise should be kept by the person who made the mannat
I hate it when people turn a simple matter into technical and philosophical mumbo jumbo.
Prophets have done it so can we without thinking about it deeply whether its a higher act or lower act.
^ what? come again. This sends a wrong message when you post your comment under a long reply of your hubby :(
I hate it when people turn a simple matter into technical and philosophical mumbo jumbo.
Prophets have done it so can we without thinking about it deeply whether its a higher act or lower act.
Really? Prophets have prayed yet amongst the most technical matters in fiqh involve prayer.
Would that be a Jaa’ez mannat if I ask Allah that if he makes Psyah/hareem hug each other online and say I love you to each other, I would donate $10.00 to my local mosque? ![]()
Yes … Jaiz hai!
Maan loon phir yeah mannat Psyah?
Ley lein … Lekin patta nahein agar Allah (SWT) qabool karenge … ![]()
Inshallah qubool karain ge. Hum kon si ghalat request kar rahay hain ...
I agree with Dr Israr's stance on it ..
I see mannat as setting a condition infront of Allah .. that is something I completely see as disrespectful to the Almighty ..
We can do a gesture of thanks without putting a condition .. for example , I make a dua and Allah SWA accepts it and blesses me , as a gesture of thanks I do khairaat or nafals or roza's .. I feel that is a positive way of saying thanks ..
But when people say if Allah does this for me , then i will do this and that ... I feel Allah doesnt need materialistic acts out of us !
This reminds me actually of a time when I sat my GCSE's and thought I was definitely going to flip in one or two of them .. and did a mannat of 1000 nafals if I passed ! .. but somewhere in my heart I knew I was putting a condition infront of Allah and felt so bad for doing that .. I decided to do my 1000 nafals before the results came as a gesture of apology for putting the condition . I am glad I did that , coz the feeling of guilt left me .. and Alhumdullillah Allah blessed me with excellent results as well .
so yeah, there's a difference between doing good deeds as a gesture of Thanks and doing good deeds as part of a condition ..
^i learned a new lesson..if we make mannat and complete our end of deal before Allah bless us with what we asked for...we have good chances of getting what we asked for
Ninja, whether we get what we desire for or not , is something that is decided by Allah anyways .. What made me feel the guilt so strongly was the fact that I thought to myself will I not do the nafals If I flipped? then I felt so little and selfish inside me that I had to get rid of that feeling .. you know what i mean?
Its as simple as this : someone telling me , if you do this for me , only then i will do this for you , tit for tat .. What does that tell us about the person? that they are pretty materialistic , hai na ? same thing applies to us when we try to act all selfish infront of Allah ..
^but I also think these "mannats" are a way to build your confidence in your dua when you sacrifice your time or money you feel more deserving of Allah granting your dua because in a way you have humbled yourself, and if it increases your faith in your dua then there is no harm in that.
What do you class as increase in faith out of these two:
Knowing that Allah will do whats best for you , without putting any conditions
OR
Putting conditions and in a way "demanding" what you need?
Putting conditions has never really humbled anyone .. the confidence in dua is not when someone tries to bribe their way around with the Almighty .. confidence in dua is when one feels that what ever Allah decides for us is acceptable to us .