Mangalsutra beneath Burqa

Are Manglasutra and other stuff related to Hindu women getting popularity in Muslim women just they want to distinguish themselves as married women?

Is it true that Muslim married women didn’t get any distinction to be differentiated from unmarried women?

(New Delhi) As burqa-clad Sumaira walks past the streets of Jama Masjid, there’s nothing really striking about her. That’s until she flashes the bright red bangles she’s wearing - the kind that newly married Hindu women have around their wrists. Young Muslim women in India, and even Pakistan, can be increasingly seen sporting the chooda, mangalsutra and often the sindoor. And they see no taboo in it, taking it as a fashion statement, something that adds to their ‘just married’ look.

**''Wearing a chooda doesn’t make me a Hindu or a lesser Muslim," says 21-year-old Sumaira. “See, among Muslims there is nothing that differentiates married women from those who are still single. I have been fascinated with choodas ever since I was a kid. So that was one of the first things I bought after my engagement. In fact, my cousin Saima, too, wore one at her nikah.”
It’s not only the chooda. The demand for mangalsutras is picking up, and not just in India but also in Pakistan where many of those who ask for it attribute it to the influence of India’s enormously popular saas-bahu soaps. “Mangalsutra is a beautiful neckpiece and goes with every suit,” Naseema Aziz, a resident of Karachi, explains. “If one is wearing it out of choice, there’s nothing wrong in it. In Pakistan everyone knows I am a Muslim. Merely wearing a mangalsutra won’t have me confused for a Hindu.”

With the mangalsutra and chooda finding favour among Muslim women, how can the sindoor, that eternal sign of a married Hindu girl, be left behind? But while most Hindu women prefer red sindoor, Muslims tend to go for orange. Interestingly, in parts of Kolkata the two different shades have come to distinguish women from the two communities. In Bihar, however, many Hindu women also use orange sindoor.

This confluence of cultures can these days be witnessed during Muslim weddings too. Some of them come complete with what resembles the Indian Sangeet ceremony which is a musical evening organized before wedding. Rizwana (a Muslim young woman), who works as a nanny in Kolkata, has seen her mother with orange sindoor. She followed suit when she herself got married in 2010. “Hindu women use red and we orange. Don’t women in Delhi do the same?” the 24-year-old asked. As regards mangalsutras, jewellers in Delhi confirm this trend. “Many Muslim women, some in burqas, ask for the mangalsutras which have diamond pendants,” says Ankit Kohli, owner of Raj Jewellers. If we avoid segregation, we will see that all cultures have beautiful things to contribute to the peaceful unity of the world.

Its very common in our part.... .

Re: Mangalsutra beneath Burqa

but why? why todays Muslim ladies use these stuff to be distinguished as married women, when Muslim ladies who lived together with Hindu ladies for centuries in past didn't adapt these things for this purpose. Did they get another way of identification?

maang ka sindur....

pair ki unglion me chukti..ring like thing...

hathon me bangels ..ye sab aur saree ye shadi shuda aurton ki nishani hai...

its not common for unmarried girls to wear sarees...

Yes, I heard mothers of kanwari kaniyas kosing their unmarried daughters for wearing saris

Women in burqa buying diamond mangalsutras...But with burqa the mangalsutra becomes redundant. When a woman is fully covered up there is no way of knowing if she is married or not, middle aged or young

thats a valid point. burqa is not compatible with Manglasutra, but again Muslim ladies are giving the reason for using Malnglsutra.

Topic title: Mangalsutra beneath burqa

Objective : to probe reasons behind this.

Proposed response:
Cultural reasons? Going back to their roots? Feeling of belonging to their janmabhoomi? ( off-topic digression - just saw that janani janmabhumi saying). Hope this response addresses the topic?

Never heard of it. But one reason I can think of is because of how it is shown and promoted through drama serials and movies.

I dont see word managalsutra in your post.....so its still off topic

I have a mangalsutra. As does every married women in my family. It’s a Hyderabadi tradition, except we call it “kaali poth ka lacha”. My Nani says that har shaadi shuda aurat ko haat main kangan aur kaali poth ka lacha pehna rehna chaiyay :hehe:

It’s really not to be made such a big deal though, like they show in Bollywood movies. I really can’t remember the last time I touched mine lol

Duly noted, recorded and corrected.

Mangalsutra beneath Burqa

its not the blue part but red part that is more suprising

TLK, how to distinguish a lady to be a married / unmarried person, if she is not wearing Manglasutra?

But why is it so important to be distinguished as a married woman? :konfused: And why don’t men wear something similar that symbolises that they’re married?

Reminds me of a scene from this drama where this amma ji said how a suhagan should always have mehendi on her hands, feet and hair :hehe: 4:28 to 5:00.

Lagta hai shadi karne ka irada ker liya hai apne…:smiley:

lols. exactly, do there are some signs of married man? reminds me an incident during interaction with children at schools. In an ice breaking session, we had to tell one false and one true thing about ourselves and students have to guess whether its true or not. One of my colleague told children about me that I got 3 wives and children said it false. while asked how do you know that, they replied ’ ye shakal se shadi shuda nahi lagte’ :omg:

pehle tajruba shud dukhi insaniyat ki general knowledge to check karloon :D

This reminds me a tradition followed in one of our Bihari friends family. He told that in their family, they put afshan / sandal in maang of bride as Hindus put sindoor in maang of their brides.

there was a time when makeup would give it away. Unmarried girls were not allowed to do makeup by their parents. Then came Saree. I remember that in 80’s, saree (at least in Pakistan) was only reserved for married women. Unmarried girls would not wear them.