Hey guys please advise ways to manage pregnancy symtoms such as nausea/permanent morning sickness while at work (9-5). What are some tried & tested things that helped you feel a wee bit better and not barf your brains out? ![]()
Re: Managing Pregnancy...symptoms
Ohhh and for all you preggo ladies out there, did any of you have like a dull faint pain in your lower abdomen in the beginning? I had previous c-section & doc says it's from the scar tissue. Dunno what's going on. My 1st pregnancy I had few issues, but very little nausea compared to now, it feels like a 24-7 thing.
The best thing for nausea for me was to bite on ice chips all day. I'd fill a large cup with ice and keep it next to me at work. Bit on the ice a little at a time. Really controls the nauseous feeling. Recommended to me by my OB/Gyn.
Lower abdominal pain can be for several reasons.. one, what you mentioned, also implantation pains, just changes in hormones.., then when you are at you period date, your body is trying to work like it used to during your period. So, a combination of issues.
Don't worry.
Congratulations!
Ive tried the dried crackers/saltines/toast...etc...but not much help. I also tried hard sour candy to get the icky out, but still no help. Even yogurt makes me puke! No fun at work, esp as I don't wanna announce anything just yet. I will try the ice chips, thanks Niksik.
None of those other things worked for me either. Try the ice.
thanks sam_sam. I haven't made any announcements to anyone yet....hehe...just praying to get thru the 1st 3 months. I HATE this nausea deal.......HATE HATE HATEEE!!!!!
INSHALLAH.you will get through it sweety.... I know its hard in start ,,,have some crackers,, they helped me alot..... or maybe ginger ale........
Afro-Sheen, also on the same boat and in a BIG HOLE at the moment. I took some days off last week and am off leave again.
Nothing helps at the moment. Just praying for the 1 trimester to get over fast.
Have u tried ginger tea, its suppose to help.
Congratulations! :)
I have heard of this tip from a show on TV. It is recommended to keep a lemon (preferably green lemon that is not fully ripe) in your handbag, and keep smelling it when you feel the nausea.
My SIL used to squeez a lemon in a glass of water with some salt or sugar, and drank that when she felt nauseated.
Hope that helps :) and good luck!
congrats afro-sheen! you're little boy will have a little brother or sister to play with now :D
and yeah, the morning sickness is the worst part. and you say yours is lasting throughout the day, must be hard to deal with it at work. hope you feel better soon!
I guess every pregnancy is different. Yeah for me its an all day event, eating is a super duper challenge...but keeping it down is harder. :( Sometimes I have nothing in my tummy, but still wanna barf!!
I have heard of the ginger tea......just can't get myself to sip it....
That little baby bro/sis i for me boy s the light at the end of a dark tunnel....hehe
Afro-Sheen, also on the same boat and in a BIG HOLE at the moment. I took some days off last week and am off leave again.
Nothing helps at the moment. Just praying for the 1 trimester to get over fast.
Have u tried ginger tea, its suppose to help.
Hope you feel better soon. I think i might need to take a few days off, but not sure it'll help...as this seems to be a long term thing right now :(
Afro, MaashaAllah what awesome news! Congrats, may Allah make it easy for you, Ameen.
Alhamdulillah i didnt have much nausea but what helped alot was hard candy and popsicles. I also made sure to eat something every 2-3 hours because i noticed if i didnt, morning sickness was worst.
Re: Managing Pregnancy…symptoms
OMG! I have no advice, but CONGRATS! ![]()
Allubukhara (dried plums) from the Indian Store help a lot with nausea.
I would advise usage of *diclectin * which is brand name for (Doxylamine succinate,pyioxine hydrochloride) tablets. The are excellent for treatment of Nausea and vomitting. But its a prescribed drug so you need a prescription from doctor.
Hope you feel better soon. I think i might need to take a few days off, but not sure it'll help...as this seems to be a long term thing right now :(
I just made ginger tea and vomited 2 times today - yes I too have it 24 h. :(
And I think I am getting the flu, everything hurts, I am gonna ask my husband to take me to the hospital as I havent had anything to eat from yesterday.
My symptoms started from the second week onwards and it got a bit better after some time, so that I could work but now its aweful. Right now I am in bed and have no energy to go and get my kid from the kindgergarten. :(
Hope u get better soon too.
Awww congrats Afro and Saadia.
GS going to get little guppy guppan wo bhi do do. Masha Allah.
Good luck to both of you.
Lick lemon once or twice when you feel nausia. I'm not sure about pregnancy but in general it helps.
I have to try the lemon, the ice chips havent helped much yet. Maybe I need to give it time, i dunno. I am a hopeless case. I am seeing my OB this week, maybe she can give me a med that's safe to help.