Re: Man will obey his wife and disobey his mother
Yaar, our married ladies have some class naa .. they will never have a sofa bed in their living room.
…sigh
Sofa-bed jab nahin hota tab guest bedroom zaroor hota hai, or is that off-limits too, TLK bhai? ![]()
:p lol no.. u know what it means, obeying the wife to the point where man starts disrespecting his mother...
Give me a break, will ya. Kis ko bewaqoof banaa rahe ho? Our jihad against mother-in-laws hasn't achieved this benchmark yet.
This is from the signs of judgment day, that a husband will obey his wife and disobey his mother.. and he will respect his friend and ignore his father.
How true do you think is this today? means, do we see it today more than a decade ago even? hmmm
I don't think Muhammad (pbuh) said anything without a reason, it applies in cases where the wife maybe unjust or down right wrong but the foolish husband still follows her.
I find that men follow their mother out of emotional attachment, perceived obligation & usually ignore the wife thinking she is trying to separate him from his mother when in reality all she is doing is asking him to grow up. The mother usually likes playing the apron strings & the wife is caught in the middle. On the other hand, I do not rule out a genuinely ill-intentioned wife causing frivolous mind games. (I have mostly across the former scenario)
Why the hell do people just put in such vague terms and then start useless debates where everyone has their own interpretation of the term and thus no one ever comes to a conclusion?!?!?!
Obey - what do you mean by obey?
Disobey - what do you mean by disobey?
In what context do you apply the term disobey...when the mother asks her son to help her out? or when the son rejects a false accusation put in place by the mother?
If you mean disobey as in "disobey everything like a robot regardless of the context" then of course the world will come to an end!
The question is:
**How true do you think is this today? means, do we see it today more than a decade ago even?
**Ummm.....if you answer this question in a literal sense then it is not true.
On the other hand, nowadays men do not tend to blind soldiers they used to be. Thus today men disobey their mothers more often.
What if the moms are asking their sons to do things that aren't right (in light of Islam)? Are the sons still commanded to obey their mothers even then? Just a question.
No. kids are not bound to obey any order from Parents thats against Islam but they still have to be polite. Just dont slam door on parents...
That's very well answered.
why do men have to obey ! why can't they just use their brain and decide what is right and wrong . Men can use Islam , morals , ethics etc. to decide. They can use their wisdom and brain and can choose to side with the truth.
Injustice with either mother or wife will be accounted for and he shall be held answerable for it in the court of Allah. Allah hasn't said that if you keep on mistreating your wife in order to OBEY you mother (vice versa) you will get Janat or sawab.
Its funny because when it comes to doing something a woman says...wife or mother...it becomes a matter of obeying...
Seriously, I have a question...why is it so hard for men to balance?
^ Because by categorizing it as obedience, they make any strong female (whether it be mom or wife) seem like a tyrant, and the poor husband just a virtuous victim.
Please excuse me while I vomit.
Most of you are debating on something which I never asked in my OP. If it wasn't to answer my question then carry on. :)
I think what CP is tryina say is that being bad-tameez to ur parents and neglecting them without any valid reason is a sign of qayamat.
Is there even a valid reason?
I think what CP is tryina say is that being bad-tameez to ur parents and neglecting them without any valid reason is a sign of qayamat.
Is there even a valid reason?
If you choose to praise your wife's biryani in front of your mom, that isn't exactly being badtameez to your parents.
But oft, it is taken as such.
This is the reason desi girls are so quick to oppose someone who starts talking about the rights of the boy's parents. As if, a girl's parents have no rights, and as if, you are supposed to praise your parents' every move while you ignore your wife. It often happens this way. Just go to a dawat and look around and observe families and their dynamics.
^ haha thats not being badtameez. Desi families are full of drama.
Thats why i mentioned the word "neglectance" ... thats when things get serious.
How many sons actually neglect their parents, in the true sense? Very few overall. So, this is not some big crisis, and yet this is the main issue that guys have with us. Will you abuse our parents? No, we're not going to kick them around, but yes, we will stand our ground on what we're comfortable with and not comfortable with and if that equals ABUSING your parents, then ...
Well.
Get over yourself.
If you choose to praise your wife's biryani in front of your mom, that isn't exactly being badtameez to your parents. .
but if the biryani is nothing but a mixture of jalay hua'ai chawal and kachcha gosht then not only that its badtameezi but a lie.
LMAO!
but if the biryani is nothing but a mixture of jalay hua'ai chawal and kachcha gosht then not only that its badtameezi but a lie.
TLk bhai aap nay Niksik kay haathon bhookay rehna hai iis kay baad se?
Sorry, coudln't resist :p
Exactly!
without any valid reason = blind love for the wife to the extent that you forget your mother (who deserves more right over you after Allah and Rasulullah sallalhu alayhi wasallam).
If you choose to praise your wife's biryani in front of your mom, that isn't exactly being badtameez to your parents.
But oft, it is taken as such.
LOL, that's just ignorance, not badtameezi.