Malik's captaincy

The questions have been raised over Malik’s captainship skills since Karachi Test loss. Ramiz Raja has an audio special on this topic on cricinfo.

Please list the wrong decisions, technical mistakes and man management issues in Malik’s captaincy.

Re: Malik's captaincy

Some serious questions, really. One of the biggest ones for me is that why does he come in to bat so low down the order? He has an excellent record at number 3 position and he should stick with it.

1. With the required run rate alway 4.5 or under for India, why didn't he setup an attacking field? Did he really think we could defend 239 without bowling India out?

2. Why would you bring in Shoaib Akhtar when the match is all but over?

1. I dont see the passion that must be in a Captin, see Pointing, see Smith, see Jewardne.

2. No Attacking attitude in field.

3. To be honest, he isnt using players accordingly, specially Afridi and today Shoaib.

4. He seems more as friend of players rather than a chief. this is may be because he is a junior player!

i think it's not captaincy...it's coaching!
I jus dun understand y Paki team need an outsider(coach), while they ve Javed(best coach) for Paki team!
I think they need a better coach!

he was clueless as in wht to do. when batting she shoud have come @ 4 to give some kind of momentum to the innings. and when fielding he was at seas. wht was the reason behind taking the 3rd PP when indians were already scoring around 5-6 RPO. for me malik is as bad a captain as inzi was, only malik is younger and much better looking BUT inzi was a BETTER BATSMAN.

Shoaib is a gr8 all rounder....but when u r a captain u have a lot ov pressure on u..!
I think he'll get better..Inshallah!

You don't have a very high opinion of Shoaib Malik...do you ?

she = shoaib the HE :D

Wait till he wins the next two matches then we will all be praising him to the sky. Typical Desi mentality.

:o are u calling being a girl low?? I reckon its a compliment.

On a serious note though.... I was appalled by the captaincy and the lack of spirit on the field yesterday. It was like they didnt want to win! I'll have to concede, I always thought he would make a great captain, but today, he was more pathetic than Inzi on a bad day. No aggression whatsoever... The field is all spreadout throughout the innings. If the strategy was to spread the field and bring in the spinners to try and get some catches in the outfield, then your bowlers werent giving it much air at all... and the indians were in no pressure to play shots anyway... huge gaps everywhere were giving them runs even on good balls.
Pathetic and disappointed. Lets make Arshad Khan captain.

i hope next two matches come after next 2...:D :p

Of course he should be praised if Pakistan wins the next games due to his performance or captaincy. However, his performance in this match was terrible as a batman and captain, so the criticism is justified.

Shoaib Malik appears to be too nice a person and submissive to be the Captain....some similarities with Dravid there...except that Dravid is a senior player and the best batsman in the side when he was Captain......Shoaib Malik is neither.

What can Malik do? If you drop 3 catches and 2 run outs, it does not matter much who the captain is......

But holding back Akhtar until the end...was clearly a mistake in my opinion.

DC....Of course a captain can't do anything about the dropped catches or run outs, but can control his field placement and bowling changes, neither one of which was done shrewdly today. For example, Shoaib Akhtar did not even finish his quota of ten overs. What's that all about? Saving two overs for the next match?

Malik is learning.... He only became captain this year and he will learn over time. He was NOT THAT BAD as portrayed. Although I agree he should have brought Akhtar after the fall of Ghumbir for 2-3 quick overs.

WHat the heck malik can do when

1) Umpire raises his finger for ball that pitched outside Leg for akmal
2) When Yousaf and Younis go boundary less in 17 overs
3) when Yousaf and younis DO NOT try to accelerate AT-ALL and as pointed out by Ramiz during the game Yousaf is becoming more of accumulator of runs for personal sake and showed almost no intent of raising the RR.

4) When in even 47th, 48th, 49th Over Yousaf bhai are interested in nudges to grab singles.

5) When Chances are dropped in Slip and by KA.
6) when Neither Gul or Akmal appealed for CB for Ghambir.
7) when Umpire doesnt give 3 LBW's

I think the only mistake he made was when he didnt bring spinners on right away....but i can completely see Malik's POV who could have decided to give GULL longer spell after seeing balls keeping extremely low in his 4th-5th overs....other mistake can be for not having fielder in circle and let indians take quick singles......and even batting first decision CAN NOT be Malik's entirely as the whole think tank of team has to be involved in the decision and not to forget the last ODI pak played against SA they lost chasing a small total and in last 2 T20 games against India, Pak lost both games chasing.....so he (and the team MGMT) must had to consider all these factor and decided to bat first so that they can put some runs on board and hopefully get indians out on wicket with un-even bounce wicket

Overall yeah it wasnt his Brightest day as captain but he can not be blamed entirelly for the loss.

wait and see guys. nobodys born a captain, and im holding out hope that he'll learn and change his ways. hes really young, talented and personally motivated, and so probably the most deserving of the mantle amongst the crop we have.

drama queens like younus khan, unpredictable mavericks like afridi or incompetants like salman butt are your other options. seriously, i'd rather wait a couple of years to see malik mature.

Is he another dopey in the making?