Re: Malik sacked as Captain, Younis Khan the new Skipper ????
PCB appoints Younis Khan as captain
Updated at: 1855 PST, Tuesday, January 27, 2009
LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to appoint Younis Khan as captain of the national team after Pakistan’s humiliating defeat against Sri Lanka, said chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Ijaz Butt.
He announced this while talking with media here at the PCB headquarters on Tuesday.
Ijaz Butt told that Shoaib Malik on the PCB request has stepped down from the captaincy after the debacle of the Pakistan cricket team in the recent home series.
Malik led Pakistan to their worst one-day defeat -- by 234 runs -- in the third and final one-day international in Lahore on Saturday which gave Sri Lanka a 2-1 series win.
"Malik has accepted to step down after the Sri Lanka defeat and we have appointed Younus as the new captain for an indefinite period," Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ijaz Butt told reporters.
The one-sided defeat sparked a furious reaction in the cricket-mad country and the PCB asked the team management to give a report on the reasons for the heavy defeat.
The sports committee of the Senate also summoned Malik, coach Intikhab Alam and chief selector Abdul Qadir on February 9 to explain the defeat.
The 26-year-old Malik was appointed skipper after Pakistan's first round exit from the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies.
Younus will take up the role in the two-Test home series against Sri Lanka next month.
With no offense, such statements would not do any benefit to anyone but only to Younus Khan to whom (on the day of judgment) some of our good deeds might be given to balance out this statement, because only justice would prevail on that day.
May Allah (swt) forgive me if I made such statement against anyone. May Allah guide us all to the right path.
Something which should have done long time ago. With all due respect to those who wanted Malik as the captain they all were living in fool’s paradise. There was absolutely no progress whatsoever under his captaincy except for the fact the he created a record of consecutive ODI wins against BD and Zim and shamelessly bragged about it always.
Best of luck to Pakistan team under Younis Khan. Hopefully Pakistan will achieve their stature once again under him, Inshallah..
and lets unban the ICL players as well. Screw people who becomes unhappy.
very happy to hear this news. i hope younis doesnt become a cry baby again, and rises to the occasion. remember younis, if u want imran-like powers, you must perform like him too. malik was a bad captain: not only could he not lead in the field, he was also unable to manage the team. as one report says, things were so bad that he didn't even stay in the same hotel with the team! younis is very smart on the field, plus he is very friendly with the players as well. lets hope things go in the right direction now.
Don’t discount Younis as an ODI player… most people get blinded by his slower starts in ODIs but he makes up for that through a longer innings which provides stability to other players, and in most recent matches where he’s clicked, his strike rate has neared 100% in ODIs.
Also in comparison with Malik, with Younis’ ODIaverage of 34.01 against Malik’s 35.7 and Younis’ ODI SR of 77.38 against Malik’s 79.80, there really isn’t much to choose between the two. What perhaps gives Younis a slight edge is his couple of years more experience and his demeanor on the field. I just hope he gets the respect of his players and can manage the team well.
Re: Malik sacked as Captain, Younis Khan the new Skipper
Finally something to cheer about in Pakstani cricket! When I woke up this morning…and turned my pc on…I was hoping to see this headline on cricinfo and I couldnt believe that I actually did…
I'm glad YK has accepted this duty. The team as a unit wasn't getting anywhere under Malik. Younis is motivated and energetic and unlike Malik he knows how to handle pressure. Malik is a good player and I hope he continues to be part of the ODI team.
That sounds like just what a Pakistani commentator would say about him. Observe his performances in ODI Cricket in the last 12 months for instance and he has scored close to 800 runs in 19 matches and is averaging close to 46; and that’s a batsman’s average.
Re: Malik sacked as Captain, Younis Khan the new Skipper
Finally. A mean who can lead Pakistan cricket. Not just be a captain on field but be the face of Pakistan cricket. This is good. I hope PCB works with him.
With no offense, such statements would not do any benefit to anyone but only to Younus Khan to whom (on the day of judgment) some of our good deeds might be given to balance out this statement, because only justice would prevail on that day.
May Allah (swt) forgive me if I made such statement against anyone. May Allah guide us all to the right path.
What a beautiful thing you said, Mashallah I wish we all can think of every word we speak and think of day of judgement. God make us better muslims.
Coming back to cricket before someone criticize me, I am happy that Younis Khan is a captain of our Pak team, only God knows why he did not accepted captaincy before. As we all know why Immy Bhai did not accepted prime minister position from Musharraf. Someone have to stand up for the right thing, he might have done that.
"We have not sacked him but relieved him from the captaincy," said the PCB chief, who had a meeting with Malik at the Board headquarters before making the announcement.
I am sure Malik must be relieved to hear this from Uncle Butt.