Malik sacked as Captain, Younis Khan the new Skipper

Re: Malik sacked as Captain, Younis Khan the new Skipper

where are all the match fixer gone?
i mean kisi coughzardaricough nay pak-sri lanka ka match fix kernay ki koshish bhi nahi ki :teary1:

I welcome this belated move

This should have happened a long long time ago. Younis Khan was the ONLY natural choice as skipper after Inzamam. I know he can be a bit moody and temperamental at times but noone should ever doubt his test credentials. Atleast we now have someone at the helm who can (or should be able to based on his performances) command the respect of his players. I know Younis was a bit off colour during the SLA series and that he has not been all that consistent in the one-dayers but the hope is with the added responsibility of leadership, he w’d start delivering consisently in that format too. That said his record over the last three years (averaging 40.86 in 57 matches; runs: 2125) isn’t bad. He has scored 5 of his 6 one-day hundreds during that time.

http://www.howstat.com.au/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerYears_ODI.asp?PlayerID=2211

And it is also about time we recalled Mohammad Yousuf to the side.

http://www.howstat.com.au/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerYears_ODI.asp?PlayerID=2129

Yousuf is needed not just in tests but also in the one-dayers. The recent SLA series was a painful reminder of just how fragile our batting line-up is. Yousuf may not be the most agile player in the field but what good is this emphasis on fielding if your batsmen can’t consistently post a decent total. I am afraid fielding (and bowling) does not really come into the equation if your side keeps getting bowled out for less than 200.

about time younis took some responsibility as a senior!

Former captains back Younis appointment
http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/388142.html
Former Pakistan captains have hailed the PCB’s decision to appoint Younis Khan as captain after a string of disappointing results under Shoaib Malik.
Malik was replaced as captain on Tuesday, two days after Pakistan’s embarrassing 234-run loss to Sri Lanka in Lahore, which resulted in a 2-1 defeat in the three-ODI series. Imran Khan, one of Pakistan’s greatest captains, welcomed the move to put Younis in charge.
“Younis has one big advantage over others in that he is the best batsman in the team and is respected by fellow players because he gives his best and can demand the same from others,” Imran told AFP.
Inzamam-ul-Haq, whom Malik succeeded as captain, said his successor had failed to live up to expectations. “Malik failed to handle the players in the team,” he said. "A good captain is not about winning and losing, it’s also proper handling of the players.
“I hope Younis leads the team for a longer period because frequent changes are not good for the team. Younis must perform well, as he has done, so that he can command respect and can ask others to perform well.”
Zaheer Abbas is hoping the change at the top brings about a change in the team’s fortunes as well. “We didn’t have desirable results under Malik,” he said. “At times, a change at the top changes luck and we can only hope that the team produces good results under Younis.”
Younis himself has said all of the players will need to “wave their magic wands”, a sentiment echoed by Abbas. “Not just the captain, but the other ten players in the team need to show their best so it looks like a unit.”
Another former captain, Ramiz Raja, believed it would be a testing time for Pakistan cricket, but felt Younis, who had rejected captaincy offers in the past, would show more respect to the position.
Yawar Saeed, who was involved as Pakistan’s team manager in the decision to appoint Younis captain, said: “It wasn’t easy taking the decision but we had to better the team. I hope Malik emerges stronger from this and does his best for the team in future.”

Younus may be a drama queen, but a far better choice when compared with Malik.

This is the best move in a long time.

It doesn’t hurt much to agree with you once in a while :chai:

“No one can explain Pakistan cricket” Boycs

Cricinfo - ‘No one can explain Pakistan cricket’

Best news in a long, LONG while. Some idiots here do not believe in Younis Khan's ability, but I have full confidence in him to utilize the players at hand most efficiently.

im more than happy on this

Younis will get ‘enough room’ - Qadir

http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/389263.html](http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/389263.html)

Abdul Qadir, Pakistan’s chief selector, says new captain Younis Khan will be given “enough room” in selection matters. Disagreements between the selectors and team management have been an issue in the past few years, but Qadir says he doesn’t mind involving the captain and coach as long as the “best team is selected”.
Qadir said Younis, who took over from Shoaib Malik last month, will be consulted along with coach Intikhab Alam. “We will give Younis enough room,” Qadir told the News. "As captain, he is our general in the field and should have a say in selection matters.
“We are all on the same side, aren’t we,” he said. “All of us are working to ensure that Pakistan give their best on the field and that target can only be achieved if we work together.” During the recent series against Sri Lanka, the team management had been given the final say in selecting the playing XI.
Qadir said a provisional squad of 20 to 25 players will be announced later this week for the two-Test series against Sri Lanka, which begins on February 22. He said he had taken inputs from the other selectors - Saleem Jaffer and Shoaib Mohammad - and Alam. Batsman Faisal Iqbal and allrounder Fawad Alam are likely to be named in the provisional squad. Qadir said players on the youngsters would be given a chance in the two-day warm-up game against Sri Lanka prior to the Tests.
Pakistan will also conduct a pre-Tests camp from February 14 in Karachi. “I won’t even call it a camp,” he. “It would be more like a get-together of the players. It will give them and the team officials a chance to sit down and plan for the series.”
Pakistan were shot out for 75 in their embarrassing defeat in the third ODI in Lahore, and Qadir said they needed to plan against an attack that includes Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis. “We will have to devise strategies to face their bowlers, who are very good and to tackle their world-class batsmen,” he said. “We want to select a strong squad for the Tests and I’m confident we will do that.”

Damning verdict on Malik’s leadership

http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/389918.html

Malik was ‘a loner and aloof’, says coach’s report

Shoaib Malik was “a loner and aloof” as Pakistan captain and unable to communicate with his team, a report by the team’s coach and manager has said. In their report to the PCB, which was presented on Monday - exactly two weeks after Malik’s dismissal - to a committee of Pakistan’s legislators, coach Intikhab Alam and manager Yawar Saeed said they had recommended that Younis Khan replace Malik as Pakistan captain.
“We found him to be a loner, aloof and involved in his own little world, which is OK, but not when the team required a fully committed captain,” the report said.
The report also said members of the Pakistan team were not comfortable with Malik’s leadership. **“We do not see any meaningful communication between players and captain other than his [Malik’s] five-minute talk during the team meeting. We have also not noticed him spending quality time with his players, which a successful captain must. **
"To be honest, it is very evident that the team is not looking up to their captain. We believe that this team … needs a new leader. Looking around the team and beyond, in our humble opinion, the name of Younis Khan comes to mind.”

After a night and day of intense speculation, and a day full of meetings, Malik was replaced by Younis as captain on January 27. Rumours of Malik’s axing had begun floating almost as soon as Pakistan trooped off the field after one of their worst ODI defeats to Sri Lanka last month.
Malik’s downfall had been on the cards for some time. His win-loss record in ODIs remains impressive but it came against weak opposition. Against stronger teams he was less successful and the resounding nature of the defeats to Sri Lanka sealed the matter. But as much as on-field results, the pressure built on Malik because of his inability to build a relationship with the senior players in the team. Mohammad Yousuf criticised him openly, though he did so only after going to the ICL. Privately, at least two other senior players were also unhappy with Malik’s approach and particularly at the clique he is said to have cultivated within the team.

i wil sound mad but shahid afridi would hav been better choice. although his batting sucks but i think that he may b proved a good captain bcoz he has more authoritative and command nature then younis.. he is seniormost..
beside i have seen his superb captaincy at lower levels.

Intikhab Alam has completely backstabbed Malik. Right after the 3-0 whitewash of W.I. and right before the ODI series against Sri Lanka...it was the same Intikhab Alam who was backing Malik for captaincy. He also said he wants Malik to continue as captain and he was wrong in judging Malik's captaincy before he was appointed as coach.

2 bad losses in a row and he comes out and says all this against Malik. Don't get me wrong...im not saying Malik was a good captain...I have always wanted Younus to be captaining Pakistan but this is just wrong from Intikhab Alam. This just goes to show Intikhab is a complete ass kisser of whoever is captain.

intikaab alam sahab hohat budday ho gaye hain, iss age may dimagh kaam nahi karta

*"Backstabbing" has nothing to do with this. Careful observation day in day out is more like it. *

pakistan cricket
moving from toilet
to drains

lol. . . younis khan captin, yeh din bhy dekhna tha :smack:

I don't think so. If Malik never interacted with players and was a loner...then why was Intikhab backing him for captaincy after the W.I. series? Malik didnt become a loner after whitewashing the W.I. 3-0. If anything, Malik would have gained support of even those who opposed him as captain within the team.

I think its clear...Intikhab just kisses ass of whoever is captain.