Male humor

So after dinner last night. A bunch of guys varying nationalities having a bout of male humor at the expense of one or two other gentlemen at dinner. Two female colleagues walk in to join us. Its drinks and sheesha.

The humor continues. Basically refering to porn, sexual activity and random other stuff. Its guy humor.

One female has a fit, insults half of us and storms out. The other one just continues to laugh and smoke the sheesha.

Of course the female who left was the butt of a lot jokes and comments afterwards. The question is did the female over-react? Shouldn’t she just excused herself instead of throwing a fit?

Re: Male humor

Well if it was me i would have left if it was making me uncomfortable. However, i dnt know if u guys said anything to her that offended her hence the reaction?!

Also, where did all the tameez go where guys on their own realise they better shut up on their “guy” humor when women r around? :bummer: :nook: :naraz:

I think i might be the only woman like this but i actually join in when my guy friends talk about this sort of stuff for example sexual jokes and what not. It’s just light humor,gosh does everything have to be taken so seriously and judgmentally and what’s the big deal, I enjoy it, i’ll blame it on my scorpio qualities…

see how astrology comes in handy. i think it shows that a guy is comfortable around a woman if he feels he can joke around like that in her presence and not feel like he has to act all fake. is it strange that i have no problem with it, maybe :vivo: but i don’t care, I am me and it doesn’t matter what others think of me, i realized that right in high school :stuck_out_tongue:

CM, btw, nice scenario you dreamed up there, what an imagination

LOL....I definitely would've been the one who laughed and stayed behind.

That being said....yes, I do believe the other woman over-reacted. UNLESS you guys said something specifically about her.....if it was general jokes that made her uncomfortable...as an educated adult (I'm making an assumptio that she's an educated adult...), she could've excused herself and left. Especially when you're around co-workers......losing your temper and throwing a temper tantrum doesn't do you (or your career!) any favors.

Nah...you're not the only one. I'm not a scorpio but my sense of "crudeness" when it comes to humor is on the same level as any guy I've ever met.

BUT....I also understand that there are women who get offended at certain "jokes"....and that's fine. If someone doesn't like what I'm saying...they have the right to excuse themselves and leave the situation. By creating a scene like a child....they're only making themselves look bad (and this is a HUGE mistake when you're around people from work...since your lack of self-control can easily get back to your boss).

^ cool paheli, :k: yeah if i’m with a whole bunch of very very religious conservative people then I kind of do nudge the guy to tone it down a bit or hope that he gets the hint, just b/c i don’t want a scene created by anybody. we all have our different viewpoints and backgrounds. don’t want to ruffle anybody’s feathers to the extreme.

I am very open to adult humor but if I sat with a bunch of guys who were constantly insulting/degrading women for who they are and didn't acknowledge my presence there, I would punch one of them and walk out too. However, the jokes would have to be VERY extreme. Just becuase they joined YOU doesn't automatically give you the reason to poke fun at them for who and what they are. I would at least have some respect and ease up on the jokes until they left. It also depends on how you pull off a joke too. I am not easily offended but there's a difference between laughing with me and laughing AT me.

BTW, I work with all men. I have seen my share of adult humor. Some do cross that line and I have no problem making them the butt of my next 30 jokes.

Cool , nice to know some desi women enjoy x-rated jokes , I can share some in these forums instead of sending via PM to those who show interest when I have some befitting the discussion at hand.

^ewww Mirch bhai.

^ I think he’s being sarcastic. I don’t see an X-rated joke coming from Mirch paaji for a long time. :nahi:

^he did post one joke few weeks ago. :disgust:

lol…I think she made herself look silly. She could have walked out in a politer way rather than the whole storming away episode. Obviously she would later have been all part of the men humour. But yes CM you guys should have also toned down your man humor when you had ladies in your presence. :hehe:

Some people can get sensitive !

I would be the one who stayed behind and joined in with the seesha and probs cracked a few jokes myself.

I love shisha and I love banter.

question: which girl did you respect more?

[EMAIL=“^@Enigmatic[/MENTION]”][1]Enigmatic- Jes, I can get all worked up over a joke, punch someone, storm out the room screaming on top of my lungs, cursing all men on this planet and the whole shebang… :snooty:

I kid*

1. MENTION=85326 ↩︎

Good girl :hehe:

There was no need to act like a moron on her part, but than again when you're in a public setting you have to be considerate to everyone, not just the guys. The girl who stayed behind, could blow the humor off easily but that doesn't mean she wasn't offended by some remarks.

good question, there’s a fine line that i’m a bit afraid to cross too.

i’m scared of the male pms :vivo:

Some people have crude sense of humor some don't those who don't, have the right to leave the party calmly why pretend to be holier than thou ?

If you call that joke as an x-rated joke then I envy your masoomiat. It was a PG-13 joke. No profanity , vulagarity, no mention of human anatomy etc. if it was I would have gotten 50 point infarction.

I've worked in 2 male dominated positions (no pun intended) and non of the males have been crude to a disgusting point, not when Ive been around anyway, which either way, means that even if they are vulgar when I wasnt there, they had the decency to not be when I was. They were also predominantly white dudes, so maybe thats a factor. I wouldnt storm out, but then, I wouldnt be caught dead at a shisha place.