I am getting married this summer inshallah I had a trial done by Naila Tausif recently…I liked her work but she gave me a very rough idea…I dont know how it will on the wedding day..this was the first trial make-up session for me…has anyone went to her for bridal make up? How was she?
I really think i should get a couple of trials from diffrent make up artists before i make a decision…who would u suggest…i have seen the pictures on Shirley Wu’s website…but honestly i don’t think its all that special…why do ppl like her soo much??
I would really prefer someone in the mississauga/brampton…who would u recommend
Yeah Shirley is over-rated. She's done some amazing brides, but she's also done some bad ones too. The main ones I've heard in GTA are Angell, Fero, and Shirley. None are in Mississauga... ppl say nice things about Noor Artistry. Also Shazia Habib did my engagement and my cousin's valima, great work. She's in Mississauga and has a clothes boutique... not sure if she does make up still since her store opened.
One thing though, make sure that during your trial the MUA gives you a full idea, not a rough idea! I guarantee that on your wedding the make up is going to look exactly the same the only difference will be that you will be wearing your dress and the dupatta setting will be done, so maybe it will look a little different overall but the make up will be the same... if you don't like it now you won't like on the your wedding day. MUA's always say: this is just a rough idea it will be better on your wedding day when I have more time... blah blah blah... baqwaas!
I just wana share my experience about makeup artist when i was getting married in 2009. Shirly wu is the best but at my time she was booked . I saw Jenny’s work my friend got done by her it was not WOW .... That’s why i went for trial to other makeup artist even Kavita suri. I didn't like at all. Then my friend told me about Naila Makeup artist . I went for trial I loved her makeup her personality too at that time I came to know that she is a Aesthetician too she has a salon in Oakville/ Mississauga. When she did my trail she told me same thing that I'm gona give you rough idea because i didn't have my bridal dress with me it was at pakistan.She also told me that if I'll see you bridal dress then I'll have a better idea of colour. But whatever she did i liked it eventhoght that wasn't full makeover coz i didn't have my dresses with me.........But i did judge her makeup coz she gave me totally different look .... She is awesome guys She did my Nikkah, Mahendi, Shadi and Walima makeover. Now she is going to do my cousin makeup too in 2011. She got her trail done . she loved it coz she had her wedding dress at the time of trial ..She is totally different to others i must say that.......
You should go on Facebook check it out her work.....Facebook account is NAILA TAUSIF.....I'm on her friend list too :)))) She always upload her work pictures lol
Best of luck Funkiemunkie i was at the same boat so i know that:):)))
I dont like shirly's makeup at all....She did my 2 cousins makeover she did really bad job .....My all family are here in toronto thats why we have so many wedding in our family :)I have seen many bridies from different makeup artists None of them are WOW things....
But my one cousin she went for trial with Naila Tausif She liked it ...Let me tell you one thing none of the makeup artist gona do full makeup on trial because
bakool makeup artist ka hum poora makeup $75 mein nahi kartain hain kuch chezain hum bridal walay din hi kartay hin .......mein apny cousin ka sath buhout c makeup artist ka pass trial ka liya gayin hon sab na ya hi kaha h.....they just showed us a look......Mager jab mere cousin ki engegement hoe they aus per wo bilkul different lag rey the jab Naila na aus ka makeover kia tha....She looks soooooooo pretty mashAllah:)
Ab aus na shadi walima ka bhe book kar liya hay Naila Tausif ka sath aus ki shadi July mein hay.....She is very happy now....:) For sure She is doing my makeup too when i'm gona get married:) she did my party makeup on my cousin engagement and i lovedddd that she did smoky eye makeup omg that was awesome :)..... Naila is not charging like shirly OMG she over charge man......
Funkiemunkie ager tum ko pasand agya tha Naila ka makeup phir kyun nahi ja rey hon.......Y you are waisting your money man for doing trial again n again...yeah if you dont like her makeup then its a different story but anyways its up to you and i understand that is your bid day and aus din kohi bhe risk nahi layta hay:)......Let us know who is going to do your makeup :) hum logon ko shadi ki pictures zaror dekhana :)
I got married in 2009. At that time she charged $250 but she gave me discount package because she did my neekha, mahendi, shadi and walima makeup .......You better check with her ...I ll check with my cousin how much she is paying now then I'll let you knw . she is doing her makeup too in July 2011
Hey guys,
have you checked out Sheela Malik?
She’s fairly new but does an awesome job! She listens to what you want, and explains as she goes along. She’ll show you what products she’s using and recommend what will look good on you.
I had my trial done by her and nikkah makeup and everyone loved it!
I will definately go with her for my wedding and walima too!
Trial for HAIR AND MAKEUP is $60! and she will show you 2 different looks and your choice of hair. She will sit with you first and discuss what you are looking for, and consult with you about your skin type.
her bridal price is $250, if you book more than one day she gives you nice package prices.
She can travel to your home, and even has group discounts.
I am getting married this summer inshallah I had a trial done by Naila Tausif recently...I liked her work but she gave me a very rough idea...I dont know how it will on the wedding day..this was the first trial make-up session for me....has anyone went to her for bridal make up? How was she?
I really think i should get a couple of trials from diffrent make up artists before i make a decision...who would u suggest...i have seen the pictures on Shirley Wu's website...but honestly i don't think its all that special...why do ppl like her soo much??
I would really prefer someone in the mississauga/brampton...who would u recommend
Thanks soo much
I'm getting married in 2014 summer iA and trying to book a right makeup artist now to avoid date issues later on. I have narrowed down to Naila Tausif & Fero Saleh. Since, as of now, I have no idea how my bridal dress will look like (what colour etc.), I don't want to waste money for a random makeup trials. Please let me know funkiemunkie if you ended up with Naila or not. Or how do u like if you did get her to do your makeup? Also, anyone who has any personal experience (or heard from someone) abt Fero. I know both ov them r brilliant artists but I have to pick one, of course! ;) Both ov them carry amazing profiles but I want to hear from ppl who have seen their work LIVE since photo-shoot can make anything look pretty, u know...
I high recommend NAILA TAUSIF ...she did my makeover few yrs ago ....I really luv that after mine my all friends my cousin got bridal makeup from her .she is simply amazing ...You should check it out her facebook page whoever got makeover down by her they also comment her on her wall too.You will get a better idea tho ...Best of luck :)
Thanks Sonia K for ur help :) Since I received a reply a bit late, I have already booked my MUA... and guess what! I picked Naila Tausif! :D You r totally right man... Her work is sooo great and she is such a lovely person to interact with. I not only booked her for makeup but also got her spa package (just had my first facial from her today and I'm loving my skin!) :) We totally gonna build a good rapport in those 8 months, iA, and I'm sure I'll be more than happy with her makeup on my wedding day iA. :)
I am not fond of Naila tausif's makeup at all. It's borderline ok. I have seen her brides and its really nothing special, I have heard from 2-3 people she has a big attitude problem and is very fishy in
general. Please speak to her first/have a consultation in person before booking her.
I would highly recommend Fero Saleh. Her brides are gorgeous and so glamourous looking. I am so going get my party makeup done from her for an upcoming event I have in mind.
Hi Royal Gala, I know NAILA TAUSIF Since long . I didnt find any attitude problem from her never ever…Even my all family/ friends goes to her nobody has any problem with her because she is such a nice , friendly and down to earth makeup artist.
SSBB you should tell us did u find any attitude problem from Naila?
She is the best Makeup artist in Toronto i would say that, her work her personality all is groomed up…
^ Sonia ji!! These are all my close friends opinions about her, mein aisay hi nahee bol rahee?
Perhaps ‘you’ should tell Naila to be more extra nice from now on because people don’t care for just for the best makeup artist in whichever city, their attitude/tameez goes a long way
Does anyone know how much naila tausif is charging for 2014? Have my wedding MUA booked (Shirley) but still looking for valima. Shirly is closed on valima day! If I somehow manage to get her it’s still 100 on top of the regular price.
She’s charging $475/day unless you sign up for all three days with her - even then it won’t go down to < $400/day.
About her presentation, yes, she definitely comes across snooty and somewhat snobby at first and makes you want to reconsider your decision. But overtime, she comes through and softens up as you continue to work with her.