I decided to attend a majlis last week. All I can say is that I truly hope the speaker was speaking out of sheer ignorance and not voicing beliefs of the shia sect. The guy hardly made any sense, was over-exuberent, didn’t shed a tear himself but made his voice sound like he was crying and made some highly blasphemous remarks. He starts off comparing Hazrat Ali (RA) with Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) practically bringing them to the same pedastal. Says how the Noor was equally divided between Abdullah and Abu Talib so half goes to Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) and the other half Hazrat Ali (ra). Now no matter who we talk about, be it Prophet Muahmmad’s (pbuh) offsprings or blood relatives, nobody but nobody is equal to him. As if that wasn’t enough he goes on to compare Harzat Ali with Allah!!! Starts off like this…who helped Adam in difficult times and the crowd replies Allah, who helped Younis and provided him with sustenance while he was in a fish’s stomach and everyone says..Allah, who saved Moses (as) from the Nile, everyone says Allah, who gave Prophet Isaa (as) the power to speak when he was a child and everyone says Allah. Then he says raised Prohpet Muhammad(pbuh) without his parents alive and the crowd again said Allah and the maulvi goes… No! It was Abu Talib, it was the house of Ali(ra). He decided to go on further still and talks about how Allah is taking credit for what Abu Talib/ Hazrat Ali(ra) actually did. These were his words…Parvarish ki Abu Talib ne Allah kehta hei meine kiya, Parvarish hui Ali ke ghar Allah kehta hei meine kiya (naozobillah).
I won’t even go to the part where they spoke of other as-haaba-ay karaam (ra). Atthe end one of the leading ladies comes up to us to apologise if they said anything against our beliefs and my mum just said it’s for Allah to judge who is right and who is wrong.
So that was the end of the majlis. I brought it up with the person who had invited me to begin with and he got rather nervous and said the maulvi didn’t know what he was on about and was just bs’ing. But I think if they had issues with what he was saying they would atleast correct him and maybe change the speaker since he is one of the ppl incharge of arranging the majlis.
^ And this is all in the US, where supposedly parhay likhay people are invited to come and talk? Quite disappointing. Had it been a village in Pakistan, one may actually be willing to excuse the ignorance.
Yes Faisal, exactly! I was hoping there would be some question/answer session at the end, I would have spoken up! but the majlis was segregated and there was no way I could get a hold of the maulvi.
I have been to Majalis in Pakistan. The friend who took me said there are two kind, one are open and the other are closed doors. The one I attended circled around only Hazrat Imam Husain (ra) and Karbala. Even though the graphic pictorial wasn't blasphemous but didn't move me spiritually either.
It also depends on when you actually go ... from what I remember the Majalis are for nearly the whole first two weeks of Moharam. I went the last night ...
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
I decided to attend a majlis last week. All I can say is that I truly hope the speaker was speaking out of sheer ignorance and not voicing beliefs of the shia sect. The guy hardly made any sense, was over-exuberent, didn't shed a tear himself but made his voice sound like he was crying and made some highly blasphemous remarks. He starts off comparing Hazrat Ali (RA) with Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) practically bringing them to the same pedastal. Says how the Noor was equally divided between Abdullah and Abu Talib so half goes to Prophet Muhammad(pbuh) and the other half Hazrat Ali (ra). Now no matter who we talk about, be it Prophet Muahmmad's (pbuh) offsprings or blood relatives, nobody but nobody is equal to him. As if that wasn't enough he goes on to compare Harzat Ali with Allah!!! Starts off like this...who helped Adam in difficult times and the crowd replies Allah, who helped Younis and provided him with sustenance while he was in a fish's stomach and everyone says..Allah, who saved Moses (as) from the Nile, everyone says Allah, who gave Prophet Isaa (as) the power to speak when he was a child and everyone says Allah. Then he says raised Prohpet Muhammad(pbuh) without his parents alive and the crowd again said Allah and the maulvi goes... No! It was Abu Talib, it was the house of Ali(ra). He decided to go on further still and talks about how Allah is taking credit for what Abu Talib/ Hazrat Ali(ra) actually did. These were his words...Parvarish ki Abu Talib ne Allah kehta hei meine kiya, Parvarish hui Ali ke ghar Allah kehta hei meine kiya (naozobillah).
I won't even go to the part where they spoke of other as-haaba-ay karaam (ra). Atthe end one of the leading ladies comes up to us to apologise if they said anything against our beliefs and my mum just said it's for Allah to judge who is right and who is wrong.
So that was the end of the majlis. I brought it up with the person who had invited me to begin with and he got rather nervous and said the maulvi didn't know what he was on about and was just bs'ing. But I think if they had issues with what he was saying they would atleast correct him and maybe change the speaker since he is one of the ppl incharge of arranging the majlis.
I went to a Majlis a few years ago. And I think the guy who did It was
a Jahil. Not that every orator is a jahil. It depends how much money you spend.
Well , this example of starting from Prophets and all the way down to
Prophet Muhammad(saw) family is very common. And If you click on
few threads here, you will find this here also.
And In the end of Majlis they do some sort of Salam on all Imams and
will never tell you what that is about.
I went on the seventh night when they acted out Hazrat Qasim's (rz) mehndi ceremony. Do the arabs even have a mehndi ceremony?
Khair humain shia waghaira ka itna pata to nahi buss aik baar Allama Tablib Al'johri marhoom ko sunna tha 10 moharam ko Imamat kay mozo par ...... Wallah Alama say behatar iss mozo par hum nay kissi ko nahi paya .... or humain nahi yaad ke Allama nay koi bhi lafz aisa istemaal kia ho jo kabil e iteraaz ho.
^ Those who appear on national television are usually either pre-screened or really knowledgable and qualified people. Those who polish their skills in private majalis at homes are not so rigorously tested or screened and can say a lot of stuff, which will leave people quite confused, and misguided.
what ever i have gatherd from these majalis is…they tend to be more philosophical in nature..like * hazoor shaheed that kion kay hussain shaeed thay and hazoor :saw: nay kaha tha kay main hussain say hoon aur wo mujh say hain*
MMH rightly said ..there are 2 types of majalis..one for coomon gatherings..and one in which open tabbra is done…and that i am saying as i have first of knowledge of these majalis as some of our relatives are shiaz…so have attended plenty of thse things…
Another thing he said...agar Quran insan ki shakal mein hota tau Ali(ra) hota, aur agar Ali(ra) kitaab ki shakal mein hota tau Quran hota. Isn't that said for Prophet Muhammad (pbuh)?!?!?!?
Another thing he brought up was a saying by Hazrat Fatima (ra) that she had asked her family to make 40 graves for her...'ke kaheen loag Rasool (pbuh) ki beti ki behurmati na karain'. Firtsly I have never heard of this before secondly how can God leave his beloved Prophet's (pbuh) daughter so helpless that she needs 40 graves to save her grace? And thirdly I don't think it would be physically possible for the people to dig 40 graves and carry the body around or the people not to find out which grave the body was actually burried in.
Like most other things in Pakistan, its become a business.
If you know how to stir up the crowd then you're more likely to be invited to better places. Even more academic muqarrirs are forced into indulging in idiocy in order to find places willing to have them.
Otherwise theres plenty of people willing to base an ashra on Jang-e-Khyber, the three caliphs etc.
This just sadly happens to be representative of the mindset of on-the-street pakistani shia. Its a very subcontinental thing..
The trendsetter along these lines was Irfan Haider Abdi (i believe).. who became immensely popular because of his masala speeches.
If you wish to sample Majalis, do so in consultation with shia friends who actually know kon parh raha hay. One person who always landed in Muscat was Muntazir Abbas Naqvi. He is very good..or atleast used to be.
You can probably find his majalis online. I have some of them.. would upload them if i knew how to :-.
Another thing he said...agar Quran insan ki shakal mein hota tau Ali(ra) hota, aur agar Ali(ra) kitaab ki shakal mein hota tau Quran hota. Isn't that said for Prophet Muhammad (pbuh)?!?!?!?
Another thing he brought up was a saying by Hazrat Fatima (ra) that she had asked her family to make 40 graves for her...'ke kaheen loag Rasool (pbuh) ki beti ki behurmati na karain'. Firtsly I have never heard of this before secondly how can God leave his beloved Prophet's (pbuh) daughter so helpless that she needs 40 graves to save her grace? And thirdly I don't think it would be physically possible for the people to dig 40 graves and carry the body around or the people not to find out which grave the body was actually burried in.
Well one of my Shia friend said that When Holy Prophet(SAW)
went to Mairaj, Allah(SWT) talked to him in Ali(RA) voice.
And It was the right of Ali(RA) to become Prophet.
And I have seen people kissing the make believe Jhoola(pangorraa)
of children who died that day.
shias r really the most confused ppl on earth, i’d say more about their sect but truth hurts and it’ll hurt some of em’ on this site when they read it and things of such nature aren’t allowed on this forum so… nevertheless, all muslims should be encouraged to obey allah eizo wajal, have belief in the finality of the holy prophet hazrat mohammed-e-mustapha :saw: , the agles, the 4 khalifa’s, khulfayee rashdeen, the paak family of prophet mohammed :saw: and basically folow the quran and hadith upon which prophet :saw: themself stressed in their khutaba hajatul widah, which is all enough for a muslim
And I find those people more confused when they say my religion is between me and Allah, you dont’ butt in. When it is a ABCD of islam that a muslim should enjoin the right and forbid the wrong.
When they rather cry for bolly/lolly/holly/wood movies then crying for what’s really worth crying for.
Those are the confused ones who just ONLY towards one side of the story.
Those are the confused ones who say “hussain??? kon???”
And about you I can’t understand how you can LIKE bollywood movies WHILE you know the islamic stance on it.
Confused people come from all race all religion all corners of the earth.
You and I might just be one of them
Femme Fatale I would agree with ravage…Hasnain Rajabali kay speeches suno if you got the chance…I think we can find them online too.
It has always been Allah first, Mohammad (pbuh) then Ali (as)
Keep the discussion clean. No attacks on a member or a faith. Just focus on the points raised in the first post. If you have nothing better to say, just keep your opinions to yourselves.