Ok I am sick sick sick of reading this thing again and again here... Each time someone mentions that they want a wife who should know how to cook decent food .. guppans attack on him saying he wants a maid not a wife. When a father inquires about the consequences (pro or con) of his daughter not knowing how to cook but doing well in her career/education... sincerly worried if she will make a good wife without knowing how to cook... everyone thinks she'll be a maid if she knows how to cook... WTF!
I don't see anyone saying slave to a husband who goes out in harsh weather to earn money and good living for his wife and kids. A wife who learns how to cook for her husband and family is no maid just like a man who gets educated and works hard for his family is no slave!
I am educated and I take care of my husband. I cook fresh food for him everyday because it is my duty as a wife to do that. I am not his maid. He goes out in winters.. harsh harsh NY weather to rotate in different hospitals to provide me everything I ask for. He is not a slave.
So please stop this non sense that's been going on here.. Stop poisoning girls' minds
I totally agree with you, your not a maid if you cook and clean for your husband and family, but in our culture especially in the rishta process if you do not know how to cook and clean then you are looked down upon, people say "itni bhari ho gaye hai aur abhi khana pakana nahi aata". Obviously if your married and doing everything because u want to but when people rate you based on these skills then it does make you think and these questions do come into your head.
Like for myself, i am not married, i know how to cook but other then that i have many other qualities and achivements, when we get a rishta the first thing they ask is "kahana pakan aaata hai" i mean helloooo what about the rest of the things i am capable of doing.
or like when women say "beta shadi karlo, biwi aay gi aur khana pakay gi, kapray istari kari gi, etc etc etc" after hearing this why shouldnt that question arise???? Anyway i dont think cooking should be a big deal, Take aways zindabaad lol