Maharum

juz a simple quest,i want a simple answer i know maharam is comin up, and i know shai hit them self ( sowy i did’nt know how to put that) i don’t know the story behide it i cud some1 plz tell me

ex - boley bale larki

Salaam Sofina grl…

well yeh that’s true they do that for a reason…i know it but i wouldn’t know how to word it…but it hurts me when they do that…I have actually seen it

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/teary.gif

soree

…maybe someone else can…

Herem aik, Khuda aik, Nabi aik, Quran bhi aik
Kya Kuch berhi baat thi, hotey agher muselmaan bhi aik :rotato:

Let me ask a simple question little girls:

What are you both going to do when your father will die? Are you going to "fast that day" and "celebrate" or are you going to cry?

Just answer yes or no. No babbling please.

Moreover, when your father dies, please let me know and I will come by and tell you "O! It hurts alot to see you crying and beating your chest".

But you better not cry or I will give a fatwa against you calling you a kafir.

Got it?

batil kee saazishon ko kuchaltay rahaingay hum
jab tak rahay ga haath mein parcham Huseein (a.s) ka
qasre yazidiat kee dararon say pooch lo
tareekh-e-inqilab hay matam Hussein (a.s) ka

[This message has been edited by sajid54 (edited March 21, 2001).]

Originally posted by sajid54:
**Let me ask a simple question little girls:

What are you both going to do when your father will die? Are you going to "fast that day" and "celebrate" or are you going to cry?

Just answer yes or no. No babbling please.

Moreover, when your father dies, please let me know and I will come by and tell you "O! It hurts alot to see you crying and beating your chest".

But you better not cry or I will give a fatwa against you calling you a kafir.

Got it?**

Yeh kaisa jawab howa???
Keep emotions out of the way aaur sooch sumajh kay jawab dou....kyoun kartay ho??
There has to be a proper logic.....maqsad?
KYOUN?

everyone loves what is close to them..for example religion, family etc..just remember that the shia people have alot of love for Prophet and his family..and Imam Hussain is a grandson of our last Prophet..you should search online ..and read the history of Karbala..and shia's arent the only one who mourn in mohurram..anyone who has love for the family of Prophet will feel the pain

Thats exactly right sheeraz bhai

Bhai mera samjhaney ka andaz zara different hay. Sorry Surdar Asif bhai but read it again, I was trying to make a point brother.

Long story short:

hum say ghame shabbir bhulaya nahin jata
yeh daagh kalaijay ka mitaya nahin jata

ya hussein (a.s) shaheed!!!

Thank u sheraz

man this is meant to be a simple question, where does parents etc come in to this, y does everthin in religion thread gets out of hand, all i wanted is a simple answer, i think i should take sheraz advice at check it out online,
yahan keh loog buhut okhay hootain hain, sedhey tarah jawab bhie nahie deytay

ex - boley bale larki

Dont be sad SOFINA aka BBL.....
Sajid nay keh to diya sorry........

Originally posted by Surdar Asif:
Dont be sad SOFINA aka BBL.....
Sajid nay keh to diya sorry........

ok guess he did, magar pehle soch keh, kehn na cahyeh, did i ask n e thin stupied in my quest?

Please, could someone also post the main differences between Sunnis and Shias without any additional discussions.

Or else could some one PM them to me. Thank you.

Originally posted by Sofina:
** ok guess he did, magar pehle soch keh, kehn na cahyeh, did i ask n e thin stupied in my quest?**

its not that..but maybe alot of ppl have asked this question before..and he thought u are asking this to annoy the shias

Originally posted by aishaA:
**Please, could someone also post the main differences between Sunnis and Shias without any additional discussions.

Or else could some one PM them to me. Thank you.**

shia basically means the follower..After the death of our Prophet, shia followed Imam Ali because he was chosen by our Prophet at ghadeer Khum

so shia's basically love Prophet and his family and hate their enemies

does this help aisha?

Salam Everyone,

The word Shi'a is derived from the term Shi'aan -e- Ali... which mean followers of Ali.
You see after the demise of the prophet, the Muslim Ummah got divided on the matter of Khilafat. Sunnis believed that the Caliph should be elected, while the Shi'as believed the Holy Prophet had appointed Hazrat Ali (A.S) as the Caliph.
There are enough references from Ahadith and Qur'an which support the Shi'ii view. I suggest checkin out Sajid's post.

I also suggest looking up material on websites on the history of karbala.
After you have done that... I would try to shed some light on the main topic. Sajid's reasoning is correct, but the consensus among ulema and 'alim-e-deen at the moment is that Zanjeer (hitting our selves with knives) is not allowed because it puts your life in danger. Islam strictly forbids putting yourself in danger so much so that if you are praying and your house catches fire you are supposed to stop your prayers and save your life.

Another thing I would like to point out, is that Zanjeer has become more of a cultural thing. If it had the same religious significance, we would have stopped doing it when the fatwa prohibiting it was issued.

Shah-e-Mardan Sher-e-Yazdan,
Quwwat-e-Parwardigar,
Lafatah illa ALI,
La Saif ila Zulfiqar
====================

[This message has been edited by Lashkar-e-Abbas (edited March 22, 2001).]

Thanks abbas, well i needed prophet's name to search it online,

hey u mentioned somethin bout how if a house ur was on fire u sud stop readin namaz and save ur life, but i thought it was the other way round.. khair thats a diff issue

Just to extend upon what brother Abbas stated:

Shias do not recognize caliphate, which is a worldly title. Shias believe that Ali (as) was chosen as the Imam of the prophet's (pbuh) ummat. This designation can only be bestowed by Allah (swt) and his holy apostle (pbuh).

As such, for Shias, believing in the Imam of the time is an article of faith in Islam. It is upon the announcement that Imam Ali (as) had become the Imam of the ummat that Allah (swt) announced the completion of this deen which He called Islam. This is stated in the holy Qur'an.

As such, before this holy declaration, Islam was still incomplete. It is vital to remember this point.

To think of shias as a group having a difference of opinion on who should have occupied a political office is mis-leading and trivialises the matter.

Q. Why do Shias hit their chests in Muharram?
A. The hitting of the chest in Muharram symbolizes a Muslim’s grief towards the martyrdom of Imam Hussain that resulted in a very bloody and tragic war between good and evil. Imam Hussain didn’t die a normal death but was part of a massacre in the name of Allah that resulted in the death of 110 innocent children and many of the women that were women. With 72 loyal companions he faced Yazeed’s 40,000 army. This isn’t a tragedy that just passes and is forgotten this easily. If a person for example lost a father, he or she would hit her chest or head in grief, this is what Shias do over the death of Imam Hussain.
This act also helps to keep Imam Hussain’s cause alive in the hearts of Muslims all around the world. If we stopped crying over Imam Hussain, he would disappear like many other big figures in history.

Q. Isn’t it haram to beat yourself because of a person?
A. First of all, Imam Hussain isn’t a normal person and is considered higher than others according to the Quran (Innemah yoreed Allah li yoth-hib ankom alrijs ahl albait weh yotehhirekom tatheerah) and therefore he is given higher respect.
If you do something that conflicts damage upon yourself, then it is haram. Therefore, if beating yourself in Muharram results in your death or catching a disease then it is haram. However, both these arguments are irrelevant because they cannot possibly occur when a person simply beats his chest.

Q. Why do Shias cry over a person that died 1400 years ago?
A. It is not haram to cry over a person as great as the grandson of the Prophet. You might, however, ask why we cry over him after 1400 years of his tragic death! Our crying not only helps to keep Imam Hussain’s cause alive in the hearts of Muslims all around the world, but also makes you feel closer to Allah. It is only when your heart is soft and absorbable that you feel the sense of closeness to Allah. You might ask why then don’t you cry over the Prophet’s death who has a higher rank than Imam Hussain. Well, the answer is that it is the way Imam Hussain was killed that makes us sad and full of grief not just the death itself. Our Imam was now only killed, but cut to pieces and the heads of his companions were all placed on long spears…
Q. Why do Shias call ‘Ya Hussain’ in Muharram instead of ‘Ya Allah’?
A. Why do you go to the doctor? Shouldn’t you juts raise your hands to the sky and say ‘Ya Allah cure me’? Of course not. The world we live in is a world of cause and effect. It is best to always ask help from Allah, but that alone isn’t enough because we must take advantage of the help we have on Earth.
When we say Ya Hussain or Ya Ali we want help from them with the permission of Allah and as you already know, anything is possible with the permission of Allah. We do not ask help directly from Imams and Prophets who are slaves of Allah, however we ask them to help us resolve our problem by telling the Almighty of it.

For example, if you want a new job at a company and straight away go to the general manager you don’t have a likely chance to get the job. However, if you are recommended by another manager of the company, who have a much better chance at getting the job.

Q. Is it true that Shias beat themselves in Muharram because they are regretful that they killed Imam Hussain?
A. A very well spread rumor that is absolutely wrong and is targeted at destructing the Shia faith and mocking their acts in Muharram. You might laugh at what goes on in Muharram, but remember, many foreigners also laugh at what we do in Hajj and how we circle around a black square building.
http://al-imam.net/qandamuh.htm

Thank, shah and sajid bhai, mujay aysay he answer caheya tah, to increase my knowledge. kohie ur tu reason nahie teh,

Not to offend anyone but I think I have the right to state my beliefs here.

As I believe the life of Hazrat Muhammad (saw) to be the Perfect Role Model and the best way to spend one's life ... and so will I apply his Sunnah on this issue!

In the life of AnHazoor (saw) he faced many catastrophes including the deaths of his very dear ones. For Example, his wife and companion Hazrat Khadija (ra) and that same year his beloved uncle Hazrat Abu Talib (ra). If we study on how he reacted on these occasions, we find that he mourned their deaths with the strong heart. He steadfast their losses with a heavy heart but with Tawaqul on Allah, he moved forward. Nothing close to how Hazrat Imam Hussain is mourned these days ...

Now, you can disagree and I fully give you the right to do so! If you have any example of AnHazoor (saw) mourning as such, then please point it out to me.

Indeed! Great was Hazrat Hussain (ra) His courage & strength can never be forgotten and is the golden history of Islam!

[This message has been edited by Pathan Bhai (edited March 23, 2001).]

Recently I watched a program on "The Learning Channel", titled "Most Bizzare Acts" in the world. It included clips from all over the world viz. eating snakes and insects, eating live animals, passing large needles through the mouth etc.. One of the prominent clip showed Shias beating themselves by knives, chains and sharp object mainly to the trunk and even to scalp. They were bleeding profusely and many went into shock.

Indeed this act is quite bizzare for most civilized people of the world whatever the explanation may be.

On a side note many shias do not participate in this activity themselves.