Before british colony, i think sikh empire ruled subcontinent ( i think so) and The Sikh Empire (1799–1849) was formed on the foundations of the Punjabi Army by Maharaja Ranjit Singh who was proclaimed “Sarkar-i-Khalsa”, and was referred to as the “Maharaja of Lahore”.
why was he called maharaja of lahore? ![]()
Re: maharaja of lahore
Because Lahore was his capital. ![]()
Lahore was his capital and it was independentely controlled by the king, for the first time it was under a king who wasn't under any dominion, maharaja rose to power when mughal power decreased and Pathans of KP and Afghanistan were not strong either:)
I think Ranjeet Singh belonged to Gujranwala area, the area famous for its Pehlwan. As the Gujranwala is near Lahore, he may have preferred Lahore over Amritsar.
Lahore was/is bigger city than amritsar, amritsar is like Haridwar and Lahore is like Delhi, Lahore was always cultural centre of Punjab and provincial capital of mughals as well. Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand and Kapoor Family were all result of Lahore theatre. The partition was also struck on who would own Lahore:)
^^
btw is it true that lahore was hindu/sikh majority just like delhi was muslim majority before partition
^^
btw is it true that lahore was hindu/sikh majority just like delhi was muslim majority before partition
Nope. There were powerful business men from Hindu community living in Lahore at the time of partition, but overall Lahore was Muslim majority city.
exactly lahore was muslim majority are thts y was included in pakistan…
kher mujhe hum tv drama yaad a gaya dastan, they showed jab dnagay fasad huay thay between muslims n hindus, muslims who were in lahore were saved bc it was muslim majority area :rotato:
You forgot that they also shown that riots in Anbala started/ got a momentum, when Hindus from Rawalpindi reached there, after the Hindu-Muslim clashes in Pindi. They also shown that the Sikh guy (Basanta who abducted the heroine) talking about taking revenge of those who were killed in Pindi.
Hum Lahore ki baat kr rahay thay iss lye sirf Uss ka btaya
Ok. BTW have you ever been to Lahore? Ranjeet Singh ki samadhi dekhi hai?
no no never saw it, yeah shid dehka ho yaad nhi, yes i have gone to lahore, just shopping eating n wapis, i dont have realtives there so no frequent trips:(
wht about you? ![]()
I have been to Lahore for 3 times and got chance to visit Shahi Qila and Badshahi Masjid. Samadhi of Ranjeet Singh is very near to these places. I passed infront of it, but didn’t go inside. To be honest, I didn’t know about the place at that time.
yes i have also sen badshahi mosque and shahi qila :)
Lahore was/is bigger city than amritsar, amritsar is like Haridwar and Lahore is like Delhi, Lahore was always cultural centre of Punjab and provincial capital of mughals as well. Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand and Kapoor Family were all result of Lahore theatre. The partition was also struck on who would own Lahore:)
Its good of Indians to hand over Lahore to Pakistan :) although it has become crowded and polluted over time but still the city has its own charms. I remember when I used to study in taxila (near Rawalpindi) I used to take the train from Pindi to Lahore. Pindi's station used to be so clean and very less polluted and when I used to reach Lahore dust, noise and crazy traffic. In a few days you get used to all that. :)
Ahhh Ali bhai ap Lahore se mei bhi pindi to Lahore train mei travel kya hai, but still Lahore ka apna charm hai, wasay by the way Lahore ko Pakistan ka dil kyun kehtay han?
Maybe because its the cultural centre of Pakistan. Mainay Pindi aur Lahore main bohut safar kiya hay, train aur bus both. Now I travel by bus, about 4 and a half hours by road.
I thought bc of all important buildings like badshahi mosque, minar e Pakistan it is called heart of Pakistan ![]()
I think Shahi qilla is more valuable (historically) in Lahore, minar e pakistan is a new addition. But otherwise mall road has Victorian architecture, and moghul era buildings, old Lahore etc
No, Karachi was hindu majority for sure, I am told that Faisalabad city was sikh majority but not sure. None of the districts that went to Pakistan were Hndu/Sikh majority.
India got muslim majority areas like Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Jullandhur as well, western assam was also muslim majority that went to India, it seems british were partial to India than Pakistan or may be we got more because of Edwina chachi:D
Ali Bhai, we didn’t handover anything to Pakistan, we grabbed as much as we can by ChankyaNeeti, Lahore in Indian administration might have been slightly different not much, loss of Lahore and amritsar being near to border resulted in commissioning of Chandigarh:k: