I am on the same page. When I was in Pakistan, I preferred things made in the US. When I moved here, when I see things made in Pakistan, I prefer to buy those for 2 reasons:
1) To support the country economically
2) They are not bad quality.
Products made for Pakistani people are mostly bad quality but when they are produced to export, they go through more inspections because they don't want to lose their international customers that are paying them more than Pakistani customers. So they make sure that the quality of products is good.
yep, ironic ea...you would give pathetic quality to your own people, but a good one to others. :(
e.g. baspati rice.
....but i doubt exporter show the real revenue they generated through exporting...cuz of taxes!
so cant really say how much you are contributing towards GDP. (but ya money is there in country)
We need to know what zobia thinks a sindhri aam is!?!?!?
I am sure she is calling Mexican mango a sindhri mango, of course she is wrong in her all mango fantasies! Sindhri (AKA Qalmi) mango is considered the King of Mango, specially from Mir-Pur-Khaas ...
but looking at the direction of the thread I would say: Sawaal Chana, jawaab Gandum :-D
I must like to enlighten everyone here that most of the so called big brand names such as "abercrombie n fitch", "ck", "holister", "zara", "american eagle", "gap", "guess", "nike", "quicksilver", "adidas", "victoria secrets", etc get their garments made from here, Pakistan :). I remember i use to shop at Reitmans in toronto for casual wear and often i use to see that there stuff was made in Pakistan/India. But often we have this complex that oh stuff made in our own countries is not good but thats just that-inferiority complex and nothing more :). I admit i use to think the same but not anymore. I do have a thing for brand names mostly because of the good quality or the fact that most of the branded stuff is unique but that doesnt mean that if one of our own brand names is offering the same i wouldnt go for it.
nahee yar, my nana’s house in north nazimabad had a sindhri tree for 15-20 years I thikn. But sindhri is just for cutting down and eating in pieces, but anwaratool chosney ka apna mazah hai. langra is also good, so is chonsa.
Btw, Sindhri’s the only one which tastes good with milk shake though.
I must like to enlighten everyone here that most of the so called big brand names such as "abercrombie n fitch", "ck", "holister", "zara", "american eagle", "gap", "guess", "nike", "quicksilver", "adidas", "victoria secrets", etc get their garments made from here, Pakistan :). I remember i use to shop at Reitmans in toronto for casual wear and often i use to see that there stuff was made in Pakistan/India. But often we have this complex that oh stuff made in our own countries is not good but thats just that-inferiority complex and nothing more :). I admit i use to think the same but not anymore. I do have a thing for brand names mostly because of the good quality or the fact that most of the branded stuff is unique but that doesnt mean that if one of our own brand names is offering the same i wouldnt go for it.
I know what you mean but theres a totally different set of quality standards they follow when exporting stuff, or making it for a good reputed name brand. I was in Pakistan a few weeks ago and my luggage got delayed. I shopped from some good names in Pakistan, crossroads in particular, which was expensive and their stuff looked great, but the first time they went into the laundry, something weird happened to them.
ya ur rite...unfortunately we have better standards for our exports though i think its unfair and we should have good quality for export as well as stuff for within country. But as far as crossroads goes...its strange that they should have such poor quality you should definately talk to them about it if you are still there.
writing the child labour essay was no fun.
now you may call those games but to me those products were the product of a child's tears, sweat, blood, and emotions.
so when I see something that says "made in Pakistan" I cry like a girl.
haha
all these child labor sentiments are good when your stomach is full... if someone has a choice between dying of hunger or making their kid work, they'll certainly choose the latter
I buy t-shirts from hangten and nothing happens to them even after years. They are a bit expensive but great quality. same is the case with shirts and trousers (cotton ) and shoes (service). They are always in good quality and last long.
For clothing , garments there is no match for stuff made in pakistan. Specially stuff made of cotton. My brothers who remain out the country mostly never buy garments from anywhere else.
I love pakistani fruits and the variety which is available in different seasons :k:
Re- Vegetables … I have some reservations . Not against them but the way the are cooked i.e desi style which creates monotony, sometimes
I love pakistan and love its ppl too but when i see them being stupid, then i go really mad on them cuz they dont use thier brain but infact i lov my country and i want to do atleast somthing for them once in my life time(InshaAllah) this is my promize to me.:) and plz who ever read my post plz plz plz........ pray for me to fullfil my intentions and responsibillities.
nahee yar, my nana's house in north nazimabad had a sindhri tree for 15-20 years I thikn. But sindhri is just for cutting down and eating in pieces, but anwaratool chosney ka apna mazah hai. langra is also good, so is chonsa.
Btw, Sindhri's the only one which tastes good with milk shake though.
I agree with your mango insight. One correction though: Ambian no choosday naeen chupday nain :)