Machines bought but of no use ...

So , with so much variety in the market we see all different kind of machines and gadgets that can help us in the kitchen …

Do you have any machines/gadgets that you bought but dont use ..perhaps they are just lying about in the cupboards untouched !

Name them please and tell us why you dont like using them ..

Re: Machines bought but of no use …

For me , its most certainly the electric can opener …

I bought it one fine day when i got really excited and thought what better then letting the machine open the cans in seconds !

But ohhh the hassle of taking it out , plugging it , opening and the can and then unplugging and keeping it back :hayaa:

So I just use the manual one .. takes a second and the cans are done :@:

Re: Machines bought but of no use ...

my Bhabhi once saw a commercial about **'veggie slicer set'**** and she ordered one. we never ever used it...NOT even for once!**

Dough Maker!

Khalil , why not? is it too difficult to clean or any other reason?

Theway, I have the dough making equipment too in the food processor but I just never use it … takes me a minute to do the dough manually .. the hassle in the machine is not in the cleaning but clearing the ata off the little flip :naraz: … but why do you not use it ?

**Bhabhi thinks she will slice her fingers because the blades are extremely sharp…Bhai never steps into the Kitchen…i’ve never ever seen him in the kitchen doing anything :slight_smile: … ghar ke ‘muGHl-e-aazam’ haiN … vo samajhte haiN k beGham aur unkaa devar kitchen meN hoN to teesre ke liye itnii jagah nahiiN hotii…kahiiN sun liyaa hogaa k 'THREE’s is a crowd!!!" :rotfl:

i do NOT use it because men don’t like gadgets…ham ‘MARD’ haiN…apne ‘haath jagannaath salaamat’ to phir kia fikr? :D**

rice cooker dont know y but never used it

kon nikalay kon phir wapis rakhay.we both are lazy. :wink:

oh yeah, one more thing...i once bought **'juice nmaker'**** for bhabhi...we used a few times when it was 'new'...then our enthusiasm to use it and have fresh juice died down so we packed it up and put it in the kitchen cupboard for good.

why bother when you can buy pure, on-site freshly squeezed juices in the stores...right infront of ur eyes!!!**** :)**

Juicer :bummer:

There is so much cleaning time afterwords that whatever energy we get from juice goes down the drain. Bought it for around $150 and used it for 5-6 times in 4 years. Its still stored somewhere in cabinets.

rice cooker cant' even remember why i have it i actually forgot i had it found it the other day when i was cleaning the cupboards :)

My parents gave me a juicer as a present but i have barely used it like twice. Feel too bad for not using it.

Ohhh dear .. Juicer does indeed seem like a hassle …

I have a coffee machine , we bought it but soon realized it was nothing but an emotional decision ! coz we hardly ever use it … infact we opened it and then i kept it away coz it took too much space on the kitchen counter … and now kettle it is for everything ! while the coffee machine lays there peacefully in the kitchen cabinets :hinna:

rice cooker mainly.. but almost everything seems a waste now because jub kuch use karna hota hai,tub bijli nai hoti :bummer: koondi danda / sil batta zindabaad:D

I am also planning to buy espresso/cappuccino maker. I know it will be useless after initial honeymoon period (honeymoon with cappuccino maker and not… :hoonh:) but main majboor hoon. I have to buy it. Demagh main ghus gaee hai yee baat k i have to buy it :bummer:

i want a cappuccino maker too. BUt then i like coffee and coffee products so i am sure i will use it.

I don't think I have ant at my home(mainly because limited space just keeps me from buying any) ,but I remember before marriage we made ammi buy a juicer and an ice cream maker.The juicer was a good thing but the clean up was an 'azaab' and ice cream machine,well I think it was used once or twice...:D
These days I am wanting a sandwich maker thingy and a coffee maker.Nothing fancy,just the basics.I also know they will end up in some cabinet after a few weeks...!

^ That

and Shark Steam Cleaner. Apparently steam does not have as much cleaning power as the infomercials claim.

Really…??
I was thinking of getting a steam cleaner as well…:bummer:

^ Its too much of work and no, results are not even half as good as they show on TV